We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Impressed by the Westin Prince Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Prince Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Prince Toronto
Ranked #48 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Caledon
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Impressed by the Westin Prince Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed at the Westin Prince Hotel for one night on April 17, 2013. I was very pleasantly surprised. First of all, the room was spacious and very clean. It was nicely decorated, and there were extra electrical outlets near the bed, which I appreciated. The bathroom was a good size and easy to move around in. However, I did find the tub a little narrow when I was standing for my shower. I had to carefully move my feet about, as it was hard to have them side by side, because of the slope on the tub. However, aside from that minor issue, the bathroom was clean and appointed with ample towels and tea tree soap, shampoo, conditioner and body lotion. It had a modern square raised sink. There was also a blow dryer on the counter and a small, movable mirror, which was useful, but needs to be tightened, as it was a little loose.

There was a fridge outside of the washroom and a coffee maker with Starbucks' coffee. Ample closet space was available, as was a safe, that was concealed near the t.v. unit (a unique spot). The TV was a colour LG, which had to have been at least 40 inches or more. It was easy to operate, and could be viewed well from the bed. There was also a desk and chair and an easy chair and ottoman. I noticed there were two bottles of water in the room, but they were marked with a $1.00 tag on each. The tap water was always nice and cold, so really no need for that.

I found the room service menu very quickly, but I could not locate any information about check-out time or how to contact the front desk. That was a bit frustrating. However, I just used the clock radio and it went off, as programmed. After I made several local calls, I found a paper that said they charge $1.00 per local call and .10 cents a minute after 30 minutes. I thought this was a bit lame, and I wasn't impressed that these charges were not more visible on the desk (paper turned over, so you couldn't see them.)

My bill was under my door in the morning and it was accurate. Outside the door was a complimentary Globe and Mail newspaper.

In the lobby, they had green apples in the afternoon (Granny Smith.) I thought that was a nice touch. They also had some flavoured water. On the night I arrived, it was water that had orange rinds/sections floating in it (very refreshing). The day after, it had lemon and lime sections in it (also very, very nice.) Speaking of the lobby, there were lots of available seats, and it was a very open, laid back space.

Each time I exited, someone said "good-bye." When I returned, I was greeted as well. The staff attending the door and the front entrance were always friendly. Parking was ample and not too far a walk from the entrance (front lot.)

I didn't eat in the restaurants, but I was there for a conference and the food the hotel served us was very, very good, fresh, and nicely presented.

Would I return? Yes, I definitely would. It's a nice location, and my room was quiet, and peaceful.
Only thing I would do differently, is to stay TWO nights, instead of one!

Room Tip: My room 506 was in a corner and it was a short walk from the elevator. The view was not grand, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amm63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, Manager at The Westin Prince Toronto, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Amm63,
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a thorough review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience even though it was brief. We are inspired you would return when in the area and with the summer weather coming we would hope you could stay a few days this time. If requiring any assistance with any future bookings, please connect with me so I may personally assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    356
    148
    62
    25
See reviews for
175
175
53
363
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I recently stayed at this property. I've stayed a few times and it is a nice, quiet property. It's been updated in several areas, including a very nice lobby and the guest rooms are very well appointed. Comfy beds, very quiet rooms. This time the heating in my room was a bit stuffy so I didn't get my usual great sleep at this hotel but was still a good experience. The room rates when they don't have large groups in-house tend to be very reasonable. It's not particularly central to anything but isn't far from the 401 Highway. Good choice for anyone needing to stay in the area. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room on a high floor away from elevators. Always get my request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, Manager at The Westin Prince Toronto, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Kathryn W,
A renewing and peaceful escape is what we aim to provide and I'm delighted you experienced this first hand. I do apologize the ventilation was not functioning 100% and will have this looked into right away. We hope we can see you staying with us again and with the summer coming I would like to remind you that the outdoor pool will be opening soon, which will only enhance the relaxing atmosphere our property strives to deliver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed here for only 1 night in April of 2013. Checked in early and my room was ready, desk staff was very nice, but they referred to my King room as a Deluxe suite (this threw me off as a suite usually means bedroom). Anyways no harm no foul, the room was very nice, lots of room. One feature i did enjoy was a door between the hallway/bathroom and the living area. This blocked out noise as my room was right by the elevator and didnt hear a thing. The work desk was very spacious and allowed me to get my work done. The wired internet (lamp attached) did not work, neither did the power outlets in the lamp that forced me to find other outlets. I do believe Wifi should be included for the room rate considering the price of the room (Around $300). The bed was VERY comfortable. Bathroom was very nice with a glass shower and massage shower head. Fitness area was a good size for a hotel with a lot of different workout options, hot tub was not very hot, but still quite nice, although the fitness centre and hot tub was a little out of the way and required walking through the restaurant. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, Manager at The Westin Prince Toronto, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Paul J,
Although a brief stay we are happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to take advantage of some of the services we provide. We are sorry to read about the power issues you experienced and our engineering team is looking into what may have happened. Only one thought comes to mind and it may assist when travelling in the future. Some hotels have dual light switches at the entrance of each guestroom. One will assist in operating the main light while the other will provide power to the desk lamp. It is not the case in every hotel or every guestroom however I have found this to be helpful information as it may not always be indicated. We hope we can see you staying with us later this year and if returning please feel free to connect with me so I may assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I recently enjoyed a 3 nights stay at the Westin Prince Toronto. I enjoyed every "heavenly" minute at this hotel. When I first checked in, I noticed that the heat wasn't working in my room. I called down to the front desk and maintenance was at my room in less than five minutes. After he determined that it was not working, he immediately called down to the front desk and arranged for me to move to another room. He went to the new room ahead of me and checked to make sure the heat was working in that room before I moved into it. While this hotel is outside of the Toronto City Center, there was lots to do and great restaurants nearby and nothing seemed too far away. The one fault? I was not a fan of the dinner I ordered from room service. The soup was way too spicy and the salad way overdressed in a spicy dressing. Is that enough to keep me from returning to this hotel? No way! The next time I need a hotel in this are, I will be staying here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malakialj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, Manager at The Westin Prince Toronto, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
malakialj,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your valued insight. Also thank you for the great title "Heavenly". Along with our trademark Heavenly Beds we also strive to ensure the team provides a positive and refreshing experience and it's inspiring to read you were able to experience this. We are sorry that your dining experience did not meet your expectations and we have informed our Food and Beverage team of this. We hope you provide the hotel and our restaurant another try when in the area. If ever needing assistance, please feel free to call upon me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very beautiful ambiance and environment- very restful surroundings. Once you enter the driveway, it is like entering a rich estate in the country- lots of trees, shrubs, flowers. It has its own hiking trail-- right in the city!!! Luxurious place.

Room Tip: corner rooms are sunny and more windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TERRY E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, Manager at The Westin Prince Toronto, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Terry E,
Being located on 15 acres of parkland does enable us to provide a relaxing experience while still being readily accessible to the rest of the city. We are delighted you found the grounds to enhance your stay and we are pleased to know that you truly enjoyed your time with us. We hope this was not a one time visit and look forward to you staying with us again in the future. Please let me know when returning so I may personally assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

It is always a pleasure to visit the Prince: we have been coming for many years. Always tastefully furnished, comfortable, helpful staff. As we age, we find the lighting level in the room a bit low, and at the main entrance to the hotel, it is really very,very dark. We always seem to manage to miss the entry from York Mills Road. More illumination please!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, Manager at The Westin Prince Toronto, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Samuel L,
Thank you for your continued loyalty and positive review. We are happy to be meeting your needs with respect to the product and service we provide. We will consult our Engineering team on the issues you highlight to see if we can improve upon the lighting. We hope to see you staying again soon and when returning please connect with me so I may personally assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
188 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

One night stay at the Westin Prince Toronto. Very nice property. Looks like the entire hotel has been updated. The room was super. Nice and clean. This hotel is a great choice in the 401 / DVP area. Arthur and Lidija at the front desk were super nice and they are true ambassadors to this Westin property. I will for sure book it again when in Toronto!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J9257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, Manager at The Westin Prince Toronto, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Sens1992,
Great hotel and Great staff is a term we are inspired to hear. It goes without saying that achieving such a reference is our goal but it's great to see you personally witnessed the team at its finest. We have passed along your comments to Arthur and Lidija and we look forward to your next visit to Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#54 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,490 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#21 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North York
Novotel Toronto North York
Novotel Toronto North York
#58 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Downtown West
The Westin Harbour Castle
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Prince Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Prince Toronto

Property: The Westin Prince Toronto
Address: 900 York Mills Road, Toronto, Ontario M3B 3H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > North York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#36 Business Hotel in Toronto
#43 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Prince Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Prince Toronto features 15 acres of inspiring parkland and access to all the city has to offer. Enjoy views of the skyline and parks from our guest rooms. 30,000 square feet of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your The Westin Prince Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Prince Toronto Hotel Toronto
Westin Prince Toronto
Westin North York
North York Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing