We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night at a charming, old world landmark”
Review of Windsor Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windsor Arms Hotel
Ranked #39 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One night at a charming, old world landmark”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife, son & I wanted a change from a typical stay-at-home-on-the-long-weekend break and so we booked the Windsor Arms for one night last week. We figured that walking around downtown, doing some shopping and having a nice meal at our favourite downtown restaurant would be a nice change of pace.

The hotel is small and charming and the room was large and nicely appointed. Our only disappointment was being charged for a morning cappuccino that was not included with the morning breakfast. When paying well in excess of $400 per night for hotel accommodations for three of us, one would expect that the cost of a cup of coffee would be included......

Other than that, I have no hesitation in recommending the Windsor Arms for anyone looking for classic, charming and old world accommodations right in the heart of downtown Toronto.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulfromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    50
    17
    10
    9
See reviews for
56
129
17
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
rexdale
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Please be cautious when you book on line. The hotel will take the full amount of the booking off your credit card and it is NON-REFUNDABLE. We didn't know that when we booked, and although it wasn't a problem for us we still wanted to warn people when booking on line. We also had gift cards bought for us on line-which again proved to be very stressful and very difficult to process. They were actually not going to to accept them but through a very stressful and confrontational process we got them to honor them. Afternoon tea was very average. Spa treatment (Couples massage) was very average. Room was stunning though so that helped the other less than impressive aspects of the hotel services. The breakfast in the morning was less than average. Not a lot to choose from and only served orange juice. They really want to you order off the menu. Rates are too high for the level of services provided at this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 407-it's was beautiful. Large soaker tub, huge shower, separate living room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deco1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I had planned to stay at the hotel for 3 nights after we had heard such wonderful things about the hotel. The arrival was welcoming, lunch was good the room was great. However on our return to the hotel on the first night they had a very large party going on in the lobby which was loud and continued until after 2am. We were on the 4th floor and could hear the DJ as if he was next door. The management was non-responsive and actually when we complained about the noise at 1am we were told by the night manager "I can make it louder if you want to." Not the atmosphere one would expect from a SLH.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lamskeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Factory, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I've been to several 5 star hotels in Toronto over the years and now I've found my favourite. Every room is a suite with a musical instrument. Has a great mini bar in the room and a bath with a separate shower. A classic decor thru out and the restaurant down stairs has a great bar. The area is full of shopping and awesome restaurants, just ask the front staff. I had a great time at the spa for a few hours. I stayed 3 nights and there will be many more to come. Thank you for a great time away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamesjegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I snuck out to the Windsor Arms for a one night stay before the arrival of baby #2 and I cannot tell you how relaxed we felt! From the moment you step in till you leave you are looked after like royalty. A butler at your call, courteous staff who go beyond the call of duty to anticipate your needs so that everything is taken care of before you even ask!

We stayed in a corner suite and it was just grand! Old world charm with modern touches is exactly what it's about. The suites are perfect for entertaining as there's a separate living area.

Amenities galore - A spa, a salt water pool (open 24 hours for guests), a gym, a business centre and wi-fi throughout.

We also had their famous Twilight tea and were stuffed! It's a relaxed and unrushed setting - do wear a hat if you can. $5 donation goes to a charity! Very nice give back program. Had complementary breakfast in the Living room - best omelet ever!

We absolutely loved our stay and will be back - waking up and having a relaxing bath in the large soaker tub was just what the doctor ordered!

While we were a couple, I'd feel very comfortable coming here with my extended family, friends and even kids. You truly are in the midst of British royalty when you're at the Windsor Arms... don't be surprised if you bump into celebrities here. It's no big deal (hah).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YasHKinZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a few nights after our wedding in Toronto at the beginning of October. If you are looking for a hotel in the heart of Toronto (Yorkville) close to great shopping and places to dine, then look no further. This is a smaller, boutique hotel that offers supreme service. It would be a gross understatement to say that the food provided by The Living Room (in-house restaurant) was delicious. Not only was the food and drink menu extensive, but many items also contained organic and locally produced ingredients. The menu offers fresh juices and smoothies, as well as plenty of options for vegans, vegetarians, or those seeking gluten-free options. Kristina was a representative who made our experience extra special. She was kind and attentive, and made sure our stay was comfortable and, most of importantly, memorable. She and her team were amazing and contributed to our phenomenal experience at the Windsor Arms Hotel. The rooms were extensively outfitted and included digital cable, a blu-ray player, as well as other features. Housekeeping ensured that we were comfortable and clean. At this particular hotel, you get what you pay for. This might be a shortcoming for some, and, if it is, I would recommend staying elsewhere if you are looking to save some money while in Toronto.

Room Tip: Suite 411 was far removed from the elevator and other noise that could disrupt one's stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel is extremely nice - perfect location in the nicest part of Toronto (to my mind), lovely spacious rooms, very nice room service, a bit unusual breakfast (half way between buffet and a la carte), friendly and helpful staff. In other words, everything you would expect from a hotel while travelling.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomewhereTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 137 in Toronto
664 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#19 of 137 in Toronto
1,763 reviews
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
#10 of 137 in Toronto
1,181 reviews
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Arms Hotel

Property: Windsor Arms Hotel
Address: 18 Saint Thomas St, Toronto, Ontario M5S 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Toronto
#13 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#17 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#20 Family Hotel in Toronto
#28 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Arms Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consecutively voted the #1 hotel in Toronto by Conde Nast Traveler Magazine, the Windsor Arms Hotel is nestled on a quiet street ideally located just steps away from Yorkville, the heart of Toronto's most fashionable shopping and entertainment district. An aura of warmth, discreet luxury, and the latest technology combined with our exceptional level of service makes Windsor Arms Toronto's most luxurious boutique hotel. Behind our century-old portals are 28 new luxury suites with 24-hour butler service. The Windsor Arms is host to the Courtyard Cafe - open for Sunday brunch and special events; Prime Steakhouse -open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a full Vegan menu; the Tea Room for Afternoon Tea and Lounge twenty-two for tapas and cocktails. The Spa offers fully serviced individual treatment rooms, swimming pool and exercise facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windsor Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Arms Toronto
Windsor Arms Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing