We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Delightful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windsor Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Windsor Arms Hotel
Ranked #38 of 131 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delightful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and I spent a night at the Windsor Arms Hotel. What a delightful boutique hotel. We were upgraded to a cozy and very comfortable one bedroom suite. The complimentary buffet breakfast was perfect.
All the staff were simply terrific. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SocratesCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    47
    15
    10
    9
See reviews for
52
114
16
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Asheville
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Location of Windsor Arms is perfect...on a quiet street but within easy walking distance of some of Toronto's finest shops and restaurants. Understated decor and furnishings but has a definite charm. Service is excellent! Would definitely recommend this small luxury hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawna70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I returned to the Windsor Arms ("Romance Package") for our 40th anniversary on Thanksgiving Weekend, October 2012. The hotel, while obviously fully renovated since then, is much as we remembered it on our wedding day: low key, old world charm, with understated, luxury touches throughout. Location is on a quiet side street, just minutes to Bloor Street shopping, Yorkville and the ROM. Service is personal and friendly, with no ostentation or obsequiousness. The deluxe suite is nicely laid out, with the most comfortable bed of any hotel we have stayed in.
We highly recommend it for luxurious pampering, despite two minor annoyances: a) on both evenings it took 45 minutes to get a bucket of ice (meal room service apparently takes precedence), b) the surround sound system and analogue thermostat are impossible to control (alarm at 5:00 am anyone? Had to unplug to disconnect).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDS343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We are a family of 4, 2 adults and 2 kids. We wanted a night on the town, close to the ROM, and decided on the Windsor Arms. We enjoyed the Thanksgiving Sunday brunch, turkey was ok, but king crab was phenomenal! Service was good, and the dining room is a very elegant space.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, on a quiet street right off Bloor. We stayed in a junior suite on the 4th floor. The pictures on the site don't do it justice. The pool and the room are much better in person. Great sauna in the pool area. All aspects of the otel are very clean and well maintained. The bathroom was all marble and spacious. Had a jacuzzi tub, which we did not use. Separate shower was very nice. Bed was very comfortable. Kids slept on the pullout sofa (queen). There was some creaking/dripping noise late at night, which was annoying. Butler was very accommodating. Hubby got his shoes polished, complimentary choc dipped strawberries and newspaper. We had requested a DVD player to the room.

Complimentary breakfast next day was not that great. "Something" was missing. Chocolate croissants were delicious, though. Service was excellent. We valet parked our car for $30, service was top notch there and at the front desk. We checked out early, around 10 am, and walked to the ROM. We picked up our car at the hotel around 1:30, and they had already loaded the luggage, so no delays.

Overall impression was great. We loved it and would stay again!

Room Tip: Fourth floor affords easy access to the pool. Showers right next to the pool are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julyOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed where for 3 nights in Sept 2012. The place was full of effortless charm - ANYTHING was possible, I've only ever found this before in a hotel at The Goring in London (England).

All staff were superbly trained and conscientious - they all totally " owned " the hotel.

Every time I visit Toronto in future I'll stay here, and I'm telling everybody I know to stay here now.

Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Windsor Arms is our favorite place to stay in Toronto: our home away from home. The rooms are very quiet and comfortable and elegantly decorated. The service provides a personal touch: people know your name; your butler is at your beck and call. The ammenities are first class. the location is convenient to down town activities.
It's not perfect: the lobby has limited seating and no real place to lounge; the toilet sound like a rocket taking off.
This is a botique hotel; small, personal and a nice setting for couples, friends and family or a business person looking for peace quiet and privacy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

It's a great location, but despite it's very British name and interior decor (which is exquisite) and being British I was surprised not to see tea facilities in the room - just coffee.

They did compliment me a tea, which was kind after our 1 hour journey to get there - otherwise it's $5!

The fire alarm went off at 3.30am and the air con was 'clicking' all night, which I recorded and played to the reception in the morning - so you can imagine I didn't get much sleep ;-) So not the best experience...

The next morning we were asked the right questions 'did you enjoy your stay/have a nice sleep' but our response being the air con and fire alarm didn't justify and apology or much response to their question?! Certainly not a discount to a bad sleep which is what you want from a hotel no?

The breakfast was good (sausage horrid) & the waiter was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveller_10050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 131 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#15 of 131 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Midtown
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Arms Hotel

Property: Windsor Arms Hotel
Address: 18 Saint Thomas St, Toronto, Ontario M5S 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Toronto
#13 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#16 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#20 Family Hotel in Toronto
#27 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Arms Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consecutively voted the #1 hotel in Toronto by Conde Nast Traveler Magazine, the Windsor Arms Hotel is nestled on a quiet street ideally located just steps away from Yorkville, the heart of Toronto's most fashionable shopping and entertainment district. An aura of warmth, discreet luxury, and the latest technology combined with our exceptional level of service makes Windsor Arms Toronto's most luxurious boutique hotel. Behind our century-old portals are 28 new luxury suites with 24-hour butler service. The Windsor Arms is host to the Courtyard Cafe - open for Sunday brunch and special events; Prime Steakhouse -open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a full Vegan menu; the Tea Room for Afternoon Tea and Lounge twenty-two for tapas and cocktails. The Spa offers fully serviced individual treatment rooms, swimming pool and exercise facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Windsor Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Arms Toronto
Windsor Arms Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing