We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good, well located, well appointed Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Ranked #29 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 3, 2010

By Marriott standards, this is one good Marriott. Nothing outstanding. Just a good modern hotel that provide a pleasant environment, good service, a great sleep and is well located. If nothing out of the ordinary, all the basics are well covered. For a weekend with extended family (multi-generations), it satisfied everyone and served its purpose for a weekend with family.

The lobby is inviting and colorful with lots of daylight, plenty of seating space and an inviting bar at the other end. The check-in was friendly and quick.

The rooms are spacious, well appointed, clean and confortable with a flat screen TV and a working desk. They are in the typical Marriott tones and with the standard bed and linen. Some Marriott are not even up to these basics standards.

We had a good deal that included the breakfast buffet. Although not outstanding, food quality was good, selection large enough with fresh produces. The ambiance of the restaurant was ok for breakfast.

The concierge on Friday was not that great and the hotel does not offer any concierge services during the weekend. The front desk though provided excellents suggestions for diner.

In summary, a good Marriott that satisfied everyone and superbly did the job at hand.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvainautourdumonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,469)
There are newer reviews for Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,196 - 1,202 of 1,469 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2010

First 3 nights went smooth. Clean hotel, well located.
On the last night I got some loud young neighbors. They got louder as the night progressed and started to smoke. Called the front desk and they sent security. Of course they party youngsters gave them the run around. Their party finished at 4am, and ruined my last night!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank otzda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

I stayed in this Marriott for 3 nights when in Toronto on business. I appreciated the restaurant/bar which served up a good meal after a long day of travel. The room was also excellent, as I was on the end and had a view of the CN Tower. This Marriott was also within walking distance of the Toronto subway, and the walk was well-lit and safe.

The reason that I couldn't give a perfect score - in typical Marriott fashion everything is nickel-and-dime. The internet costs $16 per day and it's wired only, although this also includes long distance calls to the USA. This adds up for someone who needs to be connected.

Tip - the Toronto Airport Express shuttle bus is a cost-effective mode of transport from the airport to the city. The hotel staff told me to get off at the Sheraton station. However the bus driver pointed out that the U. of Toronto Residence stop (the last stop) was much closer, just a very short walk between some buildings to arrive at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TacoMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

This hotel was amazing for the rate. Very clean, comfortable all over. The bed was just to die for - perfect sleep.
Great pool (warm and clean) and hot tub (the cleaning guy let us stay late that evening - thank you!)
Amazing service between the front desk, bell hops, and valet workers.
I can't comment on the food or drinks offered at the hotel as we did not order anything at the restaurant or room service - it was pretty expensive. Room service breakfast was $20 for nothing too special.
The hotel is connected to the Eaton center = dangerous!!! I could spend all day in a mall and just shop until I drop! There is a beautiful courtyard with cobblestones and a church between the outside of the Marriott and the Eaton center.

Overall, I would definetly go back in a heartbeat and I will recommend this hotel to friends and family planning on staying downtown.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanceChikita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Priceline winning bid: $77/night (for two nights). Although there was nothing that really stood out about this hotel, it served its purpose for a weekend get-away with the family. We drove in from Ottawa and had a difficult time finding the hotel since it’s on a difficult street to turn onto when you’re downtown. There were lots of no turning signs as you’re trying to get to the hotel, which can be frustrating.

Once at the hotel, you’re better off parking at the Eaton’s Centre indoor parking lot next door ($6/day on weekends/holidays), which will save you a lot more money then parking at the hotel. The hotel building, grounds, and lobby didn’t really impress me much, but we also didn’t spend much time at the hotel either.

The location is attached to the mall; interior access is a 5 minute walk and takes you into the 2nd floor of the Sears women’s department. It really wasn’t planned well as the hallway can appear dark and isolated between the hotel and mall. But at least you have that option if you don’t want to go outside.

We ate at the restaurant, which was standard for this quality. It had high prices, decent food, and average service; nothing out of the ordinary. Lots of televisions at the bar for when you want to watch a game. Free Wi-Fi internet access in the lobby, but not in the hotel rooms (cost extra). The elevators are only busy during morning and afternoon. This hotel is a business hotel, so don’t expect a lot of leisure luxury (such as quality shops, restaurants, spa, or pool).

The workout gym is quite nice, with individual television monitors, water cooler, and free earphones. It’s 24 hours, which I love for business travellers. I really enjoyed the apple platter they had there, which was a unique touch to a workout gym. The pool is very disappointing, which appeared to be a small cube shape so I didn’t even bother.

The room is standard for this quality, but lacking in view if you get the wrong side. We had two rooms, a court yard room (quite nice) and a standard room facing another building; ask for the rooms with a nice view! It was clean and I never had any noise problems. The bathroom was lacking any wow factor, but at least everything worked (perhaps time for a renovation).

Overall, the hotel is great for a trip to the big city. The location allows you to walk everywhere, but the hotel itself is not the selling feature. I’ve been to many hotels in Toronto, and would rate this one as good because of location but not great due to not having anything impressive about it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khoazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

Just average very ordinary hotel, not really Marriott standard, little bit disappointed with the small things such as: forgot to put newspaper in the morning and forgot to put tea (i'm heavy tea drinker).

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller-Masterest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

This hotel is located just steps from the Toronto Eaton Center as well as other great shopping and venues. If you enjoy shopping, walking and people watching this is a great location.
The hotel is bright, clean and well maintained. The lobby is very airy and bright and the staff is friendly and welcoming.
The pool on the 18th floor is simple but nice with greenery around the pool. The hot-tub area is separated by a glass partition which provides some privacy to swimmers and hot-tubbers, alike. There is a nice outdoor terrace which offers some great skyline views of Toronto.
We had brunch in the hotel restaurant, as a treat. The restaurant is pricey but, like the lobby, it is bright and nicely decorated and the food is top-notch.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExPat_from_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#34 of 137 in Toronto
1,820 reviews
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#26 of 137 in Toronto
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel

Address: 525 Bay St, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Toronto
#20 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#24 Family Hotel in Toronto
#31 Business Hotel in Toronto
#32 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $220 - $586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel! Our upscale downtown Toronto hotel offers spacious guest suites and hi-tech meeting rooms for the business traveller. With free Wi-Fi in our public areas and an array of family vacation packages available, plus more services and amenities to make your stay an enjoyable one, we are a top choice among all Toronto hotels. Travellers looking for Toronoto Downtown hotels will find that Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel is ideal. We sit near famous attractions in the downtown area, such as CN Tower, Eaton Centre, and the Hockey Hall of Fame. We offer stylish and feature-rich accommodations, including thoughtfully designed guest rooms with modern amenities. Whether you are staying in Toronto to work or play, you will find that our Toronto hotel provides everything you need for a pleasant and productive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Toronto
Toronto Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing