We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location short walk to waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Ranked #31 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights prior to going on a tour. Big rooms, very comfortable bed and pillows. Concierge very helpful in suggesting and arranging day tours. Just a short walk to shopping malls and the water front area. the seafood chowder available from the downstairs bar area was so delicious had it two nights in a row!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lillipink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

722 - 728 of 1,516 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2014

I had a wonderful stay! It was my first time in Toronto This hotel is in a great location, the rooms are very nice.. The service was great. I really enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the bar at night. Would highly recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Albertomiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

It is a nice Marriott hotel next to the Eaton shopping center. The location is convenient and seems very safe to walk at night.

If you are Marriott gold or platinum members, Marriott offers free breakfast in the morning. It is a better deal during the weekdays as you can get the breakfast from the buffet area and bring the food to the concierge lounge. The concierge lounge is closed in the weekend and the hotel gives you a voucher that contains $17 credit for breakfast. However the breakfast buffet is $28 so you will have to pay $11 for the same food in the weekend.

I have no complaint to the hotel. It was the traffic between the airport and the hotel drove me crazy. I arrived at Toronto Friday afternoon and left Monday morning. Both times the taxi took about an hour between the hotel and the airpot due to heavy traffic. If you are taking the "express bus", I believe it will take even longer time as the bus will picks customers in different locations then it will go through the same heavy traffic.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Myself, Alex Noudelman,

One of my friend has told me about this hotel and their excellent customer service. So i have decided to go in this hotel with my family. This hotel is located at very best location. I really like this hotel. It is close to very close to shopping malls, restaurants and other things Toronto has to offer. He has told me that he has visited Eaton Shopping Centre which is huge with great stores. When i have heard about this hotel so i have planned next weekend with my family and friends in this five star hotel.

Thanks,
Alex Noudelman

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexnoudelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Great location. Room quite spacious for a downtown hotel. Super clean room and bathroom. Workout room on the top floor had nice views of downtown. Star of the service staff was the friendly Asian bellboy / valet who parked cars; he remembered our names all four days we were there. Front desk staff had nice smiles, courteous, quick, and professional. The location on that part of Bay Street is excellent; not too busy even in rush hour. Location is really close to U of T and pretty much anywhere else downtown. There is a Canadian Tire a block away, and an upscale market 1.5 blocks away. The hotel is quiet and isn’t affected at all by the masses of humanity at Yonge and Dundas.

Complaints would be a TV remote that didn’t work too well, and an exterior door that wouldn’t let us in later at night despite our valid room cardkeys. Oh, the laptop safe was only anchored to a movable dresser cabinet; not exactly secured. Wifi pricey, when most hotels offer this free; heck, even a Red Roof has free wifi. Bell staff slightly overwhelmed on a Saturday night.

Note that the Front Street area is a mess due to all the construction, apparently PanAmerican games preparation next year. This hotel is just north enough of the construction that it isn’t affected. Unless, you happen to drive south on Bay Street towards Lakeshore; in which case I suggest you take alternatives such as first west towards Spadina or east towards Jarvis.

Solid 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IT-Expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Have stayed here many times before. Checkin was seamless, the room was spotless and extra towels and a low floor was ready for us. The gym was clean but very busy. Breakfast was included and was very enjoyable. The staff were very helpful and the location of the hotel was excellent. It is possible to go from the second floor directly into the Eaton centre -which is very useful in the winter as you don't need any coat etc.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Zappafan5797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

This hotel was a very good surprise. It provides an excellent location at a fair price. I have no complaints and will stay here again whenever I am in the Toronto area. The housekeeping at this place is excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpinSpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, Manager at Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for your great feedback. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown
Grand Hotel & Suites
Grand Hotel & Suites
#26 of 137 in Toronto
2,037 reviews
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel

Address: 525 Bay St, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Toronto
#22 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#24 Family Hotel in Toronto
#31 Business Hotel in Toronto
#32 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $156 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel! Our upscale downtown Toronto hotel offers spacious guest suites and hi-tech meeting rooms for the business traveller. With free Wi-Fi in our public areas and an array of family vacation packages available, plus more services and amenities to make your stay an enjoyable one, we are a top choice among all Toronto hotels. Travellers looking for Toronoto Downtown hotels will find that Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel is ideal. We sit near famous attractions in the downtown area, such as CN Tower, Eaton Centre, and the Hockey Hall of Fame. We offer stylish and feature-rich accommodations, including thoughtfully designed guest rooms with modern amenities. Whether you are staying in Toronto to work or play, you will find that our Toronto hotel provides everything you need for a pleasant and productive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Toronto
Toronto Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing