We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up to Standard, after Check In”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Ranked #29 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My wife and I arrived on a Saturday night after a long flight from the UK.
The local time was 9pm, but our biological time was a very tired 2am. No hotel staff around to help unload the luggage, so I loaded the luggage trolly myself. Then, long queue at check-in with only one receptionist at her desk. Then manoeuvring the luggage trolley into the lift to our room.
After that it got much better for the week we were there: Nice spacious room; comfortable climate throughout; the hotel staff very helpful including providing a fridge for our room when asked. A good place to stay if you want to be close to major sights, shops, restaurants, and underground railway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

844 - 850 of 1,491 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Marriot was a dream. All the rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. I had some friends back to my hotel and they were all welcomed and we got a free choice off the menu. The food was delicious and the location was perfect. Far enough away from the Entertainment District, but close enough that we could walk. All around good time!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with two beds, this way you can switch if you are bothered by the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjorie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Good room, friendly staff. Great location.
I don't agree with the previous reviewer that the buffet was mediocre. We enjoyed it.
Had dinner which was very good and reasonably priced for a hotel.
Wi-fi was free in the lobby, but any hotel still charging for internet access in your room gets a down vote from me.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the Marriott was very disappointing. With no fridge, microwave, no free wifi and a mediocre buffet that costs $27 a person, we were very disappointed. We requested a fridge and got a very small one brought to the room on the second night. It was too small to hold anything. When traveling with small children the little things mean a lot. I needed to get food quickly and so we went downstairs. I have never paid anywhere near this much at a Hilton. Parking was 30 a night and I checked my bags for an hour and they charged 67 for 4 small bags for 2 hours. I will never be back, to the entire chain if I can help it!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLemyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our first visit to Toronto and we were looking for a hotel that would give us easy access to the city. The Eaton Centre Marriott was the perfect choice. My son and I could walk to the Bluejays game while my wife and daugher could walk to all of the great shopping near the hotel. In addition the waterfront, restaurants and CN tower were walking distance also. The room was good size and the fitness area was perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel during the Labour Day long weekend.

Location [5/5]: We chose this hotel because of its location, which was simply incredible! A short walk and you're in the centre of Toronto. It's also attached to Eaton Shopping Centre.

Room [2.5/5]: I have to say that the room was sub-par. It didn't have a mini bar, nor a hot water kettle (even though there were tea bags in the room). I think these 2 items are essential in any hotel room. The room was oddly noisy, random sounds kept popping up, it was like sleeping on the rooftop of a factory. The doors didn't really help, you could easily hear people's footsteps. Add to that the quality of the bed, expect to wake up with a backache.

Food [4/5]: We chose to have in-room dining, the food was warm, big portions, and well served. The only bad thing was that it was really expensive compared to other hotels.

As a summary, this hotel is all about location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bilalhouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I used the Mobile Check-in feature and was warmly welcomed by the staff with a smile. The process was smooth and efficient. I received a nice room on the 16th floor with a huge walk out balcony which was a cool way to spend my morning. Spent a little time in the bar, I liked it because it was daylit and airy and you could enjoy the bustle of the hotel around you, but still had some privacy, not your typical old stuffy atmosphere. I liked how the Manager stood as if on guard to ensure that all guests were taken care of. Someone was there morning and night. My room was typical Mariott, nothing special, but everything expected.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#35 of 137 in Toronto
1,833 reviews
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown
Grand Hotel & Suites
Grand Hotel & Suites
#26 of 137 in Toronto
2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel

Address: 525 Bay St, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Toronto
#20 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#24 Family Hotel in Toronto
#31 Business Hotel in Toronto
#32 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $186 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel! Our upscale downtown Toronto hotel offers spacious guest suites and hi-tech meeting rooms for the business traveller. With free Wi-Fi in our public areas and an array of family vacation packages available, plus more services and amenities to make your stay an enjoyable one, we are a top choice among all Toronto hotels. Travellers looking for Toronoto Downtown hotels will find that Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel is ideal. We sit near famous attractions in the downtown area, such as CN Tower, Eaton Centre, and the Hockey Hall of Fame. We offer stylish and feature-rich accommodations, including thoughtfully designed guest rooms with modern amenities. Whether you are staying in Toronto to work or play, you will find that our Toronto hotel provides everything you need for a pleasant and productive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Toronto
Toronto Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing