We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Ranked #31 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel was perfectly situated, clean, newly renovated, and very friendly, great gym (even with complimentary water and fresh fruit). The hotel employees were very helpful to us calling restaurants and making suggestions. We were able to purchase tickets for the hockey hall of fame at the desk. We have kids ages 7 and 10 and they were able to walk all around the downtown area (and back) all day. By far the best part was the awesome breakfast! Pay the extra for the inclusion-yummy! Only reason we didn't give it 5 stars was because of the pool. We really wanted to go in the hot tub, but it was small and so many other people had the same idea. If you enlarge the hot tub-for sure a 5 star rating!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veghead18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

960 - 966 of 1,519 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a family for Easter weekend. There was nothing really wrong with the place... Check in was quick and the staff are super friendly. The room was clean, we were up on a high floor. The gym was clean and had good machines. The pool was big and the whirlpool fine. There was just something about it that felt off. I'm used to staying in Hilton hotels because of their at home feel. We always get a great night sleep at the Hilton. Here, hmm well the beds are comfortable enough but none of us got a good night sleep. We didn't really want to spend all that much time in the hotel.
It did the trick for our stay, we wanted to be near Dundas Square, so a perfect place for what we wanted.
Nothing really wrong with the place at all. Just can't put a finger on why we didn't like it all that much. I don't think we'll stay here again.
O one weird thing was we couldn't find the shower for the pool area. There's a sign that says have you showered but then there is no shower... Didn't really phase us it was just weird. Lol.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzycam85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed at this gem of hotel. Location, location, location.

Perfect spot for shopping at Eaton Centre. Can go on thru indoor link to Eaton Centre on second floor of hotel, so no need for winter coats while shopping. Perfect, when shopping with little people, no coats to hold. The corridor is neat, tidy, decorated.

Self-park, permits in out privileges. Also, it is good until 6pm parking, regardless when you entered parking the day before. Perfect for checking out, leave bags in car, and still continue dining and shopping. Then leave before 6pm, and no additional charges.

Close to so many amenities. Swim pool on 18th floor perfect for kids too.

Good hotel for families as good home base. McDonalds close by. Room service is reasonable, not terrible or too expensive.

Cheers!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HiHellowithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was a typical Marriot from my experience, with a very nice lobby and bar area, and just average rooms. The bathroom could use updating; it was clean, just not very nice. The bath towels were actually quite laughable, very small, thin, and warn out, something you would expect in a $29 Days Inn hotel. The walls were paper thin, so light sleepers beware. The breakfast buffet was quite nice in the lobby, although a bit expensive. In summary, I stayed here as it was close to where I was working, and it was great that it was so close to the Eaton center and downtown, but would hope to find something better next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExperienceTheWorld68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I didn't know what to expect when I booked the Toronto Marriott but what I got was a whole lot more. Incredibly comfortable beds, large shower, great service and a lovely lobby and bar. I really enjoyed my stay here...

Room Tip: Away from the elevator...but you knew that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MusicFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

"Connected to the Eaton Centre" is a slightly long shot - it is connected, via a long, slightly tatty, corridor to an almost hidden door in the second floor of Sears (with the result that the access closes when Sears does). It is a good location, though, in the centre of the city without being overly noisy.

My room was large (albeit oddly-shaped: a feature of Marriott hotel rooms I've been in); the bed was particularly comfortable. A decent flat-screen tellly had a good selection of channels on it, including BBC World News.

The wifi has a hidden cost of $15.95 a night (hidden because this is not made obvious on the hotel website). However, there's free wifi in the lobby area, and the paid-for wifi was relatively fast and reliable.

Everything feels a little scruffy in the hotel: but I'm not sure how much of this is standard North American "beige" hotel planning. The bathroom had seen better days, but was clean. The in-room coffee maker made an acceptable cup. A music event was on during my stay, but not too much noise made it up to the room.

If you want boring and beige, then this Marriott is a typical Marriott, and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank unclejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel has a funky aroma. Everywhere.
Couldn't quite put my finger on what exactly it was, but it wasn't pleasant, and it didn't go away.

The room was ok, with a very comfortable bed, but the bathroom was terrible. I wished that I'd brought my flip flops to take a shower. Grimy, super chipped bathtub and sink.

Have generally had good experiences with Marriott, so I was kind of surprised.
Wouldn't return.
On the plus side, fantastic location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cubabound2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown
Grand Hotel & Suites
Grand Hotel & Suites
#26 of 137 in Toronto
2,040 reviews
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel

Address: 525 Bay St, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Toronto
#22 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#24 Family Hotel in Toronto
#31 Business Hotel in Toronto
#32 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $150 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel! Our upscale downtown Toronto hotel offers spacious guest suites and hi-tech meeting rooms for the business traveller. With free Wi-Fi in our public areas and an array of family vacation packages available, plus more services and amenities to make your stay an enjoyable one, we are a top choice among all Toronto hotels. Travellers looking for Toronoto Downtown hotels will find that Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel is ideal. We sit near famous attractions in the downtown area, such as CN Tower, Eaton Centre, and the Hockey Hall of Fame. We offer stylish and feature-rich accommodations, including thoughtfully designed guest rooms with modern amenities. Whether you are staying in Toronto to work or play, you will find that our Toronto hotel provides everything you need for a pleasant and productive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Toronto
Toronto Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing