We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Ranked #31 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 31, 2013

With -18C temperatures, the best thing about this hotel was the ability to get to the shopping centre and the underground walkways without having to wear a coat.

Rooms were bright and spacious. Service at front desk and concierge were very friendly and efficient with concierge providing me with local bus routes and timetables for a visit to Niagara Falls.

The central location of the hotel makes it ideal for venturing out and exploring this city with CN tower being some 20 minutes by foot and Harbour Front just a bit more. Good location for shopping (Eaton Centre) as well as the financial district.

My only niggle was the noise from water pipes of adjoining rooms. Every time someone took a shower or flushed the toilet it woke me up which was annoying as I was trying to recover from lost sleep at different times of the day.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Trinity Square are away from the noise and hustle of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dparody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

982 - 988 of 1,516 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel multiple times, and each time I'm impressed with it! The staff is very accommodating and truly knows the area. They were able to recommend several activities that appealed to a diverse group of personalities. The rooms are fairly large and quite clean. The fact that this hotel is attached to the mall (also meaning that you don't have to venture outside to catch the subway!) is an added bonus. The breakfast buffet is excellent, there is something for everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The staff was so friendly and willing to help you with whatever you needed. The front desk staff was very knowledgeable about the area and attractions and so excited to serve you. My only complaint is that I was somehow overcharged for my room but I am currently working that out. Absolutely stay here! The location is PERFECT.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacationer909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Like everyone is saying this is a great location. We walked everywhere we needed to go.
The Eaton Shopping center is attached to the hotel. During shopping hours you enter from inside the hotel into the sears department store. After hours you will have a very short (2minutes) outside walk from the Centre to the hotel. However, on our first night we tried to walk inside (freezing cold out) to the restaurant (Canoe). Be warned, this Underground is a maze! We found it almost impossible to get our orientation and at some point we gave up and walked outside. Even when you asked people (everyone very helpful), they usually recommend to walk outside because nobody could explain how to walk there inside.
Back to the hotel. The lobby is very nice and modern. Our room was nice and roomy. We liked that the toilet and shower was separate from the vanity area. They have the usual Marriott amenities and refill daily.
TV not that great, no free Movie channels.
There is no concierge level floor. The lounge is at the lobby level next to the restaurant. With lounge access you are able to get the full breakfast bar from the restaurant and walk back to the lounge to eat in there. Definitely the best breakfast we had at any Marriott Concierge lounge.
On top of it the lounge itself was very nice and we also had the best snacks there in the evening.
People working in there could not have been more friendly and attentive. By far the best we have experienced.
Since there is no lounge access on Saturday we had breakfast at the restaurant. We found it terribly overpriced and the service was slow. Did not go back on Sunday.
On more tip: There is a big "food court" under the sears store. It has a lot of very nice and unusual options for a quick bite. Something for everyone. After stepping out of Sears into the Mall area just keep taking the escalator as far as possible downstairs.
All in all we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night when I needed a room at the last minute. The original rate which was offered was extremely high until I found a discount rate that i qualified for. I found the room to be consistent with the high standards of all Marriots and Courtyard Marriots I have stayed at with above average bedding and other facities. As other reviewers pointed out it is right beside the EATON CENTRE so perfect for shopping, theatre etc. I also used the fitness room which was adequate.

I would definately stay here again but only at a decent discounted rate as the advertised price or the rack rate is steep. Next time I would try to book on Priceline, Hotwire etc

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odessafile75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Third time at this hotel. Excellent rates, plus 'location, location, location'. For shopping and dining, direct access to the Eaton Centre. Two subway stations also within 5min. walk at the most. Excellent service, relaxing lounge area. Room extremely clean, fantastic bedding and mattress! Atmosphere very peaceful throughout the hotel. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAB11-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great location! Central to shopping (Eaton Centre) and convenient to any business you might have in Toronto's core. Rooms are decor dated but comfortable. Housekeeping not stellar. Stayed for week and noticed missed clean-ups and pick-ups. One of few hotels that puts hold on your credit card at check-in. Where I come from you pay for goods or services after receiving them, not in anticipation. Mgr explained to me that this was to insure payment! OUCH!! Must be all those slugs they get as quests. I stay in Marriotts over 40 nites a year and yet had to beg for the smallest upgrade or perk. Definitely not a customer focused approach.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank Serviceprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown
Grand Hotel & Suites
Grand Hotel & Suites
#26 of 137 in Toronto
2,038 reviews
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel

Address: 525 Bay St, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Toronto
#22 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#24 Family Hotel in Toronto
#31 Business Hotel in Toronto
#32 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $156 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel! Our upscale downtown Toronto hotel offers spacious guest suites and hi-tech meeting rooms for the business traveller. With free Wi-Fi in our public areas and an array of family vacation packages available, plus more services and amenities to make your stay an enjoyable one, we are a top choice among all Toronto hotels. Travellers looking for Toronoto Downtown hotels will find that Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel is ideal. We sit near famous attractions in the downtown area, such as CN Tower, Eaton Centre, and the Hockey Hall of Fame. We offer stylish and feature-rich accommodations, including thoughtfully designed guest rooms with modern amenities. Whether you are staying in Toronto to work or play, you will find that our Toronto hotel provides everything you need for a pleasant and productive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Toronto
Toronto Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing