We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hilton Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Toronto
Ranked #35 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Orchard Park, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed August 15, 2007

My wife and I were only staying for one night so this hotel was perfect for us. It was easy to get to off of the QEW. Self parking was right under the bldg.

Checking in was very smooth and they had four front desk people on duty. We did not eat at any of the hotel's restaurants but they had a Ruth Chris steakhouse, a place to grab drinks and another place to have breakfast. The room was nice, had a mini bar, desk and internet access. The pool was nice and had a outside bar.

We were going to a Blue Jays game and the hotel was within walking distance to the Rogers Center and walking distance to shopping and places to go out after the game. Did not need to take a cab the day we were there.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank bschuster23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,099
    1,153
    488
    165
    88
See reviews for
509
899
186
1,035
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
134 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

No mistaking, this is a quality hotel. Great views. Nice location. Front door staff, Bell service, and check-in was efficient.

My Hotwire room was upgraded to one on the executive floors. Very stylish room. As you can see in photos by others, modern furniture includes a comfy chaise lounge. My king bed was fabulously comfy. Bathroom towels were thick; rubber ducky is a really nice touch.

The indoor/outdoor pool was okay, but that's were I prefer the Sheraton Ctr (just a block away). The Hilton pool is not nearly as large. Both the pool and Fitness Ctr (2nd floor) close by 11pm. The Fitness Ctr was underwhelming: only 2 treadmills, 1 elliptical, an out-of-order weight machine. There are 3 stationery lifecycles; various free weights. One tv; no fans, no music.

Parking is pricey - as you'd expect in downtown Toronto. Green P at City Hall would be a cheaper alternative.

My one tick-off: they upgraded me to executive, but didn't initially tell me to ignore the in-room letter stating local, toll-free calls, internet, and breakfast are all complimentary. However, when I called about a $9.95 internet charge, an agent reversed it (after some discussion;t the check in agent didn't explain I was even being upgraded).

I did sneak into the executive lounge just to have a look. Can't beat the 32nd floor view.

  • Liked — Modern room
  • Disliked — Fitness ctr: lose some of mirrors, get more treadmills, open it 24 hours
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmel, ca.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2007

I stayed at the Hilton Toronto as it was the site for a conference I was attending. We booked rooms on the Club Floor in order to be able to use the conference room for meetings. The second night of our stay a large group checked in for another conference being held at the hotel. A group of 30-40 individuals, men and their wives, met in the Club Floor Lounge for cocktails which are served free of charge by the Hilton for their Club Lounge guests. This group proceeded to get so drunk and disorderly that all other guests ended up leaving the room or moving their chairs over to the far side of the lounge to be away from the yelling and profanities. The Club Floor concierage just sat there although many guests requested that she either get the drunken group to quiet down or, if unable to do so herself, notify the manager. As a woman who travels frequently on business I choose to stay at facilities which create a comfortable atmosphere for all guests. This experience left with me with a sense of such disrespect for the Hilton Organization that I have discontinued involvment in the Hilton Honors Program and plan to avoid their hotels in the future

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Drunken and disorderly guests in the Club Lounge Area.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank crmlbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2007

We, a family of four, stayed in this hotel for one night before heading to the Niagara Falls. Since we have a diamond card, we could stay on the executive level. I have to say that the room was huge, the bathroom was a little small in comparison, but had everything you'd expect (including a little bathduck!). Breakfast in the executive lounge was good, the decoration beautiful. Its one of the most peaceful lounges we've been in, plus you had an amazing view over the city on one side and over the Cn tower and the lake on the other side. the hotel is in a perfect location which allowed us to see a little bit of the city even though we had only an afternoon. I can further say that the hotel restaurant (the name slipped my mind) was very good. For 35 CAD we had a three course menu which was very tasty! I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Liked — the decoration of the hotel and the views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2007

This is a fairly typical Hilton city hotel but in a very good Downtown location. Taxi from the International Airport was Can$46 and took about 30 minutes. Check in was smooth and we were soon in our standard room on the 14th floor. We were tired after the flight from Scotland and headed straight to bed. Next morning we had a closer look at the room and decided it was not as nice as we had hoped for. The carpet was dirty and the decor was as tired as we had been the previous night. A visit to reception was called for and after some apologies we were given a recently refurbished room on the 26th floor. Layout was exactly the same but cleanliness was much improved as was the bathroom. Actually there was no bath and instead we had the most incredible power shower. As we were room only we cannot comment on the restaurant or bar. We did use the pool most afternoons though and found it adequate. Nothing fancy but very busy especially at the weekend. There is a small bar at the pool area where drinks can be purchased in plastic glasses and at expensive prices.
Restaurants are plentifull near the hotel and we liked the Entertainment area of Toronto which was only a few hundred yards away from the hotel. Many choices and styles to be found there. Breakfast was also close at hand and we recommend the Sunset Grill 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Turn right outside the main entrance and head towards Yonge Street. It's on the right hand side and the portions are the same as all the restaurants we tried, enormous and tasty with freeflow coffee.
All in all we had a great time in Toronto but found the hotel to be of a lower standard than we expected and certainly lower than Hilton's UK city centre hotels.

  • Liked — Location was great for the Downtown area
  • Disliked — Accommodation standards were not as good as we expected from Hilton.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tam Carr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2007

We stayed at the Hilton for two weekend nights recently. Our room was on the 22nd floor so we didn't hear much street noise - however, there was almost constant construction noise coming from nearby rooms. We were not informed that this would be going on, so we were surprised the first morning at 9:00 am to hear loud hammering and sawing coming through the walls.
Other than that problem, and our bathroom needing some repair work on tiles and the ceiling, our room was fine and the hotel is in a great location.

Our major problem was when we arrived in the "secure" parking garage under the hotel to pick up our car and go home. During our stay, someone had broken into our car (professional job, no visible damage) and our ashtray and glove compartment were hanging open, with things strewn all over the floor. We also had an iPod stolen. There was another man from Ohio parked about 10 cars away from us and his car was also burglarized with several things stolen. We won't stay here again unless they tighten up the security with the garage.

  • Liked — good location
  • Disliked — parking situation
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2007

I stayed at this hotel last summer for my birthday and the experience was delightful. We were in an executive suite which was nicely decorated and spacious. There was an open bar and appetizers available for the people staying in these rooms and we took full advantage of it. It was located on the top floor of the hotel and had a great view of the surronding city. Guests were able to make their own drinks and there was a lare variety of alcohol choices. My mother mentioned to the woman at the entrance of the open bar that it was my birthday and the following morning dessert was sent to the room with a happy birthday message. I would return to this hotel any time!!

  • Liked — the executive suite bar and food
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooke16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#31 of 136 in Toronto
2,297 reviews
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Toronto

Property: Hilton Toronto
Address: 145 Richmond Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#30 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#31 Family Hotel in Toronto
#34 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Toronto Hotel Toronto
Hilton Hotel Toronto
Toronto Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing