We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hilton with character” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Toronto
Ranked #33 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
202 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
“A Hilton with character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2006

This is one of the better Hiltons (and we've seen a few!). It is much more than a business hotel, with above average-sized rooms, comfy beds and good facilities and service. The Tundra restaurant is first-rate and the breakfast/brunch is good value. Even the mini-bar prices lack the usual greedy mark-ups. Staff are invariably helpful and well-informed. The location is good for downtown Toronto, across the road from the new Four Seasons Centre (opera fans, please note!). Don't bother asking for a South-facing room. The lake is obscured by other buildings. In fact the North-facing rooms have the best views - up University Avenue - especially from the top few floors.

  • Liked — Great King-size beds!
  • Disliked — Massage facilities were offered but not provided
  • Tips/Secrets — Book a north-facing room at least 16 floors up.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank chrishandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,047
    1,118
    473
    162
    82
See reviews for
492
869
181
986
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2006

Great location, friendly staff, very inviting executive lounge., but.....I found the room to be terribly noisy. I could hear all the hallway chatter even though they had given me my requested end of the hall room. Even the 4am newspaper delivery jolted me awake as the paperboy threw down copies to each door. I am a huge fan of the Hilton brand and even though this hotel had many positives, I can't recommend it . It all comes down to a good night's rest, which I didn't get. Poor soundproofing.
Side note: Why are some guests so disrespectful when walking down a hallway at 3am, laughing out loud as they pass by others' rooms? I have always taught my children to limit hallway chatter to a whisper, no matteer what time of the day or night.

  • Liked — executive lounge
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank MontrealVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2006

Stayed at this hotel last weekend. Paid for it through Hilton gold member reward points. well worth it! Stayed here for our anniversary.

We could of stayed in the executive suite but only smoking rooms were avail so we decided to stay on the 24th floor instead but they still gave us access to the executive lounge which was well worth going to.

The room was a nice size with a king bed and clean bathroom...the view from our window looked the same as pictures posted already on TripAdvisor...You can see alot of the city which was spectacular.

The exec lounge was quiet and well done with nice tables, couches, big screen TV, and fireplace...the open bar was the best part! as the Hilton in Montreal did not have this...So we took advantage of that...Breakfast at the lounge was OK, very basic that was light and nutruitious.

The pool was excellent with an indoor/outdoor feature with a hottub...lots of lawnchairs for lounging around the pool area if the weather was warmer.

The location is what makes this hotel so great. Your close to pretty much any of the major shopping/tourist districts of Toronto...Great Restaurants as well...I reccommend the Baton Rouge its very tasty for a reasonable price.

  • Liked — Executive Lounge
  • Disliked — No Exec rooms were avail.(booked)
  • Tips/Secrets — book ahead, fills up fast...east early at lounge tables fill up quickly
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Monopoly83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2006

The size of the room was impressive and the king size bed was really comfortable.

Generally what you would expect from a Hilton, overall very clean and tidy everywhere.

The glass scenic lifts on one side was a nice touch and you should go up to the top follr for some good views.

I really liked the pool and thought having half inside/outside was really cool. The jacuzzi was nice too.

Only downsize was the changing rooms were really cold for some reason.

I probably paid top end for the stay and would probably try and get a better deal if i was to stay here again.

  • Liked — The Bed
  • Disliked — cold changing rooms
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank fonzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, ON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2006

I recently decided to take my girl for her 30th birthday. I reserved a junior suite. Check in was easy and quick. The scenic elevator was great considering we were on the 20th floor (worth the wait). We entered the room and were impressed. A very nice, elegant looking room, and very spacious. My only problem (very insignificant really) was the desk was worn and the table in the room was wobbly. Also, the fridge wasn't working, but the quickly fixed that (very impressive how quickly). Something else that was impressive was the bed. It was amazing! The pillows the sheets. Really comfortable. I used the gym, and was impressed. It had everything you would need for a good workout. The pool was also very nice, clean, and a great indoor/outdoor concept. In a great location. So, yes, I would definitely recommend it, and I would go back.

  • Liked — The bed
  • Disliked — cost of everything in the fridge. Way over-priced.
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring your own booze! removed whats in the fridge and put your own stuff.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BOLTS_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2006

My husband and I had a great time. The room was very comfortable, modern, spacious and clean. The location is ideal, just around the corner from Queen street shopping and 1 block from the train. And walking distance to the Cn tower.
The breakfast is buffet is pricey $14 but really good. We also enjoyed Yuk Yuk a comedy club right around the corner.

If your looking for a central, easy downtown location that is modern, cool and fun. This is it.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — a little pricey
  • Tips/Secrets — book in advance for better prices
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank holatamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2006

If you have children they will love the lifts! The glass sided elevator gives you almost as good a view as the CN tower.
Generally we were quite impressed with the Hilton. The room was very spacious for the four of us and the beds very comfortable although the bathroom was in need of an update and was rather tatty. We had room service twice whilst we were there and the food was excellent. The outdoor pool was a bonus during Toronto's heatwave when you could get a seat - it was very popular in the heat. The gym although small was adequate. Location is good although in hindsight we would rather have been nearer the waterfront,as it was quite a walk, but then everything seemed further in those temperatures! It depends what you are going to Toronto for. The location is great for the shopping centres and business district. We loved the islands and the waterfront area but until we got there and had a feel for the place we couldn't have known. Generally a good hotel, in a good location of an adequate standard.

  • Liked — Spaciousnes of room
  • Disliked — Tatty bathroom
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank brittraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#30 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,166 reviews
Downtown West
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Toronto

Property: Hilton Toronto
Address: 145 Richmond Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#30 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#31 Family Hotel in Toronto
#34 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Toronto Hotel Toronto
Hilton Hotel Toronto
Toronto Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing