We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CPA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Toronto
Ranked #33 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“CPA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

I really appreciate how many of the staff recognize me and call me by name when I arrive. Especially Mary and Jim in the Lounge who also remember my preferences. I have been staying at this hotel for many years and it seems to be getting better year after year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Joseph,
Thank you for your comments! I will share them with Mary and Jim!!
Regards,
Beth Osborne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,047
    1,118
    473
    162
    82
See reviews for
492
869
181
986
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

A strange hotel experience for sure! I've spent over 1000 nights in hotels and this was one of the strangest ones ever. Public areas are as expected. Room was nice and as expected. I was in a concierge floor room so it was all fresh and new and seemed nice upon checkin. Service was also good.

The weird part was that I've never been in a 3 star or better property where the water temperature was so erratic. It was crazy. I stayed there for 7 nights and on 2 mornings my shower started out luke warm and ended up freezing. On several other mornings it went from scalding to tepid and back. Hotels usually have virtually limitless hot water and pressure regulators to avoid this very scenario. I was with a large group and several others had the exact same experience. Others still told me that they could not keep their shower cool enough to be comfortable. Crazy!

The other strange fact was that I stayed in February and it was below freezing the entire time and very cold. My room was always warm or hot. I had the thermostat at 68 for a few nights but it never cooled at all. I lowered it and it was exactly the same the entire time.

Needless to say between sweating through the night and freezing in the shower I would most definitely not return.

Avoid it if you can.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Klug:
Thank you for your feedback. I sincerely apologize that you experienced such an uncomfortable environment. I am looking into this with my Engineering team. If you were here around Feb 26-28, we did experience a problem with one of our boilers that did affect the water tempersture in several rooms of the hotel.
Regards,
Beth Osborne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, CA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

I stayed here for business for 3 days and the hotel is in a perfect downtown location for walking downtown Toronto. The rooms were clean and the staff was very helpful. The Executive Lounge has wonderful views of the city. The bed was very comfortable and I enjoyed the breakfast in the restaurant in the hotel. There are lots of other restaurants nearby.

Parking is very expensive: Self-park can reach $59/day depending on when you arrive and leave.
I was better off doing valet - it was $40/day, but I don't remember if you request and have your car parked at will using valet - I never moved the car until I checked out.

I was surprised to be charged for a beer in the Executive lounge. I don't remember there being a charge before at other Hilton hotels - maybe this is something new or I haven't had a beer in the Executive Lounge in quite some time.

Lastly, I am a very light sleeper. There was a slight humming noise on my floor (and a few others that I walked on) and it hums all day long - you can feel the vibration in the floor. I think that it may be a generator or something that resonates throughout the building. You can only here it when it's very quiet - like at night when you are in your room and the TV is turned off.
The front desk kindly offered me another room on another floor, but I heard the noise on that floor as well. Luckily, I take sleep medicine and slept all night after taking my medicine (I also where ear plugs). But, if you're not a light sleeper, the light noise won't bother you.

I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveToRoam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear ILoveToRoam:
Thank you for your review of Hilton Toronto! We hope to see you again soon!
Regards,
Beth Osborne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

The hotel is a good location, staff are super nice, breakfast is a really nice buffet with lots of choice. My only complaint is that the beds are new mattresses of the VERY soft kind. All the rooms have the same mattresses so if you have a bad back or sleep on your stomach do not stay here. Otherwise, it's a nice place. The staff was really nice, not charging me when I decided I really had to move after 2 nights. So, if you don't mind soft mattresses then this is a nice hotel to stay at. Close to the Eaton Centre, Union station, and walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canadian_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear canadian_2:
Thank you for your feedback! I am pleased to inform you that we are getting new mattresses for the hotel later this year. We generally order extra firm matresses as they have to withstand so many years of use. I do hope you will come back again and give our new mattresses a try!
Regards,
Beth Osborne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
2,121 reviews
260 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 822 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is a very good choice in downtown Toronto. It often offers very good rates for the type of hotel it is. This property is conveniently located on University and Richmond within easy walking distance of multiple dining options. I have stayed at this hotel four or five times and have been quite happy each time. On this occasion, I was checked in early with no problem. My room was clean, quite spacious and well equipped (iron and board, coffee maker, etc.). The WiFi worked well throughout my stay with no hitches. The number of TV stations was more than adequate. My bed was quite comfortable allowing me to sleep well each night I was there. My one complaint about this hotel is that the breakfast offered in the lounge is not particularly good with regard to selection. However, they were willing to give me vouchers for the Tundra restaurant this time since I am a Diamond member. I found the offerings there to be much better. My check out was quite quick and efficient. My hotel rate on this occasion was very good for the location. Overall, this is a very good option if you need a hotel in downtown Toronto.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Debbie K:
Thank you for reviewing Hilton Toronto. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards,
Beth Osborne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Views of the CN Tower. Nice desk in the room for working. Great pool.....just what I expect from the hilton group. Will definitely come back here with the family for a weekend city break. Staff in the lobby... great!
e

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GavinGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear GavinGrace:
Than you for writing this review! We are glad you had an enjoyable stay!
Regards,
Beth Osborne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Ballet parking was convenient. Check in was quick. Family of five which is such a pain to book. Accommodated us with a cot and there is still plenty of space. TV and dresser offer lots of counter space. Nice table you can actually sit round. There is an arm chair and stand up bar too. The only thing I'm missing is a bar fridge but the additional space makes up for it.

The hotel is walking distance to many attractions. Second City and Mirvish theatre are within walking distance.

Room Tip: Scenic side awesome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Connie G:
Thank you for your feedback. Travelling with a family of 5 must not be easy!! I am happy we made your trip enjoyable. Hope to see you again!
Regards,
Beth Osborne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#30 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,166 reviews
Downtown West
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Toronto

Property: Hilton Toronto
Address: 145 Richmond Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#30 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#31 Family Hotel in Toronto
#34 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Toronto Hotel Toronto
Hilton Hotel Toronto
Toronto Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing