We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Special”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Toronto
Ranked #33 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

I've literally just checked in. I'm a diamond member and stay in Hilton's across the globe. Check in was very underwhelming. Asked if I'd been given an upgrade for my diamond status. Was told I'm in an executive room. Advised that I'd paid for the executive room. Was told that was as good as it gets. Funny that when you see other reviews on here and people upgraded to a suite....... Get to my room and the clock is an hour fast and can't be changed. Room is average at best. Couple of bottles of complimentary water. That's it. Makes me wonder why I bothered to stay here. If I go anywhere else with Hilton it's upgrades, bottle of wine etc etc. absolutely nothing here. Not even anything in the mini bar. Maybe I'm spoilt being from Europe but I've stayed in New Zealand, Australia, Russia etc etc and this is the worst yet. Obviously loyalty doesn't mean anything over here. Not even a welcome letter. I see other reviewers getting champagne and strawberries....... I turned up in the taxi. Bellhops stayed in the foyer, didn't offer to help, no welcome. Makes me wonder what I'm doing wrong.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ukefc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Ukefc01,
We are so sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience during your recent stay with us. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected and your feedback will help us to better deliver this brand promise moving forward. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests especially our valued HHonors members have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again should you return to our area in the future.
Best Regards,
Beth Osborne, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,062
    1,133
    476
    163
    83
See reviews for
500
875
181
1,003
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located in downtown toronto, a 10 minute walk from the university area and 10 minutes in the other direction to the lakeshore area. Although the decor is dated it is well kept and the staff are consistently very friendly and professional.

The exec lounge is large with stunning views from the 32nd floor (see photos).

All in all it meets the expected Hilton standard and is good value relative to the high quality product. I would not hesitate to return when in Toronto.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank abracadabra007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear abracadabra007,
Thank you for writing about our hotel on Trip Advisor! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Regards,
Beth Osborne, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milverton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I wanted to do something special for our anniversary and decided to go to Toronto for the weekend. We chose to stay at the Hilton Downtown based on previous great experiences. We had just checking in and got to our room when we received a call from home that our daughter had gone into labour! So we packed back up and had to head home. We told the staff on the main desk what was happening, they were awesome and excited for us and cancelled all the billings! We made it home in time to welcome our first grandchild into our family and 3 weeks later called back to the Hilton to try once again for our special trip. We were transferred to the manager that gave us a special discounted rate and an upgrade in our room! He also suggested that they would like to add a special surprise after we arrived. The first evening we arrived back to our room to a bottle of champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries! We were treated royally for the 2 days we were there! My wife and I would highly recommend Hilton's from our past great experiences, but the Toronto Downtown location, the management and staff are simply incredible and for us went above and beyond all expectations! Well done everyone, you made us feel very very special. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Darrell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Darrell,
We are all very glad you had a great experience with us! Congratulations on your new grandchild!
Regards,
Beth Osborne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Has everything you need, right downtown Toronto, walking distance for all theatres, restaurants, opera, ballet and subway. Great staff, rooms are clean and beautiful. Nice relaxing atmosphere in the huge lobby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Catherine,
So glad to hear you had a great stay! Thank you for your kind comments!
Regards,
Beth Osborne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

I had the good fortune to be upgraded to a junior suite, thanks to my HH diamond status. But while the room itself was spacious, the bathroom was seriously basic and outdated. Disappointing. Glad I only had to stay one night. I,d steer clear of this hotel until a renovation, and I do hope it's soon, cos I'm a loyal Hilton fan.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear NN,
I am happy to inform you that we are going to have a renovation starting early next year! We do have different rooms in the hotel with more updated bathrooms. If you come back to visit, ask for an Executive Level Room.
Regards,
Beth Osborne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stay at this hotel fairly often. It is close to everything I need - business and pleasure. The rooms are clean and the bed are comfy, the staff is nice, the executive lounge is great. Lots of room to sit and a good view of the city from up top.

There are a lot of restaurants around and shopping is close by. It is also close to the subway, which is also very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Veronica,
Thank you for the lovely comments! We look forward to your next visit!
Warm Regards,
Beth Osborne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney ON
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have stayed here before and enjoyed it, so this time was no exception. The bed was comfortable, the room was spacious, the view was terrific, and the location was central to downtown Toronto. The valet service was great, as I was driving to various locations while my wife was working in the city. The car was brought around quickly and ready to go. For regular patrons of Hilton, their rewards program includes free breakfast on the 32nd floor, also with an astounding view. If you travel enough, this is a great program to be a part of. There is a well known steakhouse on site, but there is an excellent restaurant in house called Tundra, which I will write about separately. Overall, this is a fantastic hotel with a good central location and close to everything.





;

Room Tip: The higher up, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Bill,
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I will look for your review on Tundra!
Regards,
Beth Osborne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#30 of 132 in Toronto
2,207 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Toronto

Property: Hilton Toronto
Address: 145 Richmond Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#30 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#31 Family Hotel in Toronto
#34 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Toronto Hotel Toronto
Hilton Hotel Toronto
Toronto Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing