We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful weekend stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Toronto
Ranked #33 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

After 50+ nights on the road alone for business so far in 2013, my girlfriend and I decided that a weekend getaway was in order.

Since we're both art fans and have wanted to visit Toronto for a while Nuit Blanche provided the perfect excuse to visit. While the weekend was far to short -- we really can't wait to get back -- it was wonderful. And the Hilton Toronto was in the perfect location both for attending--and then observing--Nuit Blanche but also exploring a small corner of Toronto and easy street car access for further exploits.

Though I had not seen any signs for self-parking when we pulled in, a valet helpfully suggested that we might want to self park for both convenience and for a much lower nightly rate. Upon checkin a wonderfully cheerful associate arranged a room with a king bed instead of the two doubles we had reserved (no kings available at that time).

The room on the 23rd was spacious and had a wonderful view; the only real negative was the table and nightstands have definitely seen better days -- but after completing the Hilton HHonors survey, I was told upgrades are in store for later in 2013.

Given the circumstances -- thousands of people in the streets enjoying contemporary -- the room was a bit noisy late at night, however I have to assume that this is not a regular occurrence. I heard no noise from the hallways or adjacent rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lincolnjkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear LinkolnJKC,

Thank you for your nice comments! I am glad you enjoyed Toronto and Nuit Blanche, it is a great show! We hope to see you back next year!

Warm Regards,

Beth Osborne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,067
    1,136
    476
    163
    83
See reviews for
501
877
181
1,005
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

After our late check in we did our teeth before retiring and found the cold water a bit on the warm side. In the morning we tried to have a shower and the water was extremely hot, if not boiling, so we could not shower. We tried the bathroom sink taps and the cold also was extremely hot, if not boiling. We called for service, explaining the problem, and maintenance came. They said they would have to go upstairs to look at it. We had to leave for breakfast and when we returned it had been fixed but we had to check out right away. At the front desk we told the clerk about the problem who seemed unaware of it and that was the end of the conversation. No personality and just another person to get out of the hotel. Not a good representation for the hotel. TERRIBLE. It seemed odd that no other 07 room had reported it as the problem had to come from the top floor and affected all 07 rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Keith,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us! Please do accept our most sincere apologies for the service challenges you mentioned as this is not our usual high level of service for which our team strives to deliver.
Regards,
Beth Osborne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Well located for business and taking advantage of Toronto's arts scene. The gym is great and the indoor/outdoor pool looks fantastic (though I never actually used the pool). The rooms are a good size and nicely appointed. I would definitely stay here again. Only reason it didn't get a 5? The bathroom was just odd and looked like it was cutting edge design...in 1999. Time for a refresh guys. :) Still, the towels were soft, the bedding nice, and the service was good, so overall a sting choice for your next visit to Toronto.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEPCda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear JEPCda,
Thank you for choosing Hilton Toronto! I am pleased to inform you that we will be starting a room renovation next spring. We are very excited about a new and updated product! Hope to see you back!
Beth Osborne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

I only stayed here one night for business. The staff was very friendly. Everyone I interacted with from the front desk to the restaurant staff to the bellhops were genuinely warm.

This hotel is convenient for the convention center, as it took about 10 minutes walking. There are many restaurants and bars in close proximity. I imagine it is also easy to get to the famous CN tower from here, as well.

As for the room, it was spacious and the bed was comfortable. There was a large flat screen TV with plenty of viewing options. My room was clean enough, but there was someone else's hair, just one, in the sink, and the phone was kind of grimy. My biggest complaint has to do with poor lighting. The room was dim with every light turned on. Also, when you enter and flip the switch by the door, only a small entry light comes on. You have to walk further into the dark bedroom to turn on lights by the desk and bed. It was kind of a weird set-up. If management reads this, please take note that your lighting needs improvement.

Aside from the lighting and minor cleaning issues, I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking to stay in downtown Toronto for business or pleasure. The positives outweighed the negatives and the hotel is priced correctly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Vacationdude,
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Toronto. I have shared your concerns about the minor cleanliness issues with the housekeeeping team. We hope to see you again!
Beth Osborne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had a executive king room. Very good size and as we were on 21st floor, we had a great view over city hall etc. . (rooms at back do not have such a nice view). Room was clean and the bed comfortable. We used the executive lounge and the evening snacks were good but they charge C$9.50 for a glass of very mediocre wine.

Room Tip: Get room on the city hall side for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expediti0nleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer:
Thank you for your comments on our hotel! We are replacing our current wine selection with better quality California brands in the Executive Lounge. The order has been placed and the wine should be there by next week.
Have a great day!
Beth Osborne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel is centrally located in downtown Ontario. Everything is a walk or subway ride from here. I am a Hilton Gold member and the only thing I have to say negative about this hotel is that the Executive Lounge charges for beer and wine. It is the only Executive lounge that I have ever seen do this. The Beer and Wine is left out on the counter and when we arrived just before the lounge closed we had a couple of beers each. I was then asked to fill out a "chit" voucher to charge them to my room. I would not have taken them if I had known. I would have went downstairs to the happy hour. I wouldn't care too much if the drinks were priced reasonably but they charge $8.00 to $9.00 for a beer or wine. You can purchase them for less downstairs. I could have seen $5.00 a beer but not double that. That is my only issue with this hotel. Other than that I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: This is a very tall 35 story building so there are great views from all sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly3259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Molly,
Thank you for sharing your feedback. In Ontario we are not permitted by law to give out complimentary alcoholic beverages. However, I will review our pricing with my team based on your comments!
Regards,
Beth Osborne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Hilton Toronto was a very nice hotel. We stayed in a King Room that was roomy and clean. The faucet in the bathroom dripped and the desk was a little damaged, but overall nice. The view from our room looked out towards City Hall. They have a scenic elevator too. The meals provided for the conference were only okay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Rick W:
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We greatly appreciate your business and hope that we will see you again soon!
Regards,
Beth Osborne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#30 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Downtown West
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Toronto

Property: Hilton Toronto
Address: 145 Richmond Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#30 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#31 Family Hotel in Toronto
#34 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Toronto Hotel Toronto
Hilton Hotel Toronto
Toronto Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing