We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful beds!!!”
Review of Hilton Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Toronto
Ranked #35 of 134 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
montreal, quebec , canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Wonderful beds!!!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were in Toronto on a seminar August 16-18. My sister and I shared the room. The room is small but well designed. We had two double beds. The nice part of our stay is the beds, feather matress, feather duvet and pillows. Clean white linens. They didn't change the bed during our stay but we don't change our beds every day at home so no fuss. There are two negative factors. There is no mini bar in the room so you can't get water. We went to the concierge as it was after 11 pm and he gave us two bottles of water. The other negative factor is the shower head. It's a hand held shower with no pressure. You have to hold the shower part over your hair to get out the shampoo.
This hotel is very conveniently located close to nice restaurants and 10 minute walk to the train and the lake shore. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindadg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input concerning the absence of a Mini Bar and the hand held shower with no pressure.

Rest assured, we will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town and let us know how we are doing. Have a wonderful weekend! Andy Loges, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,079
    1,145
    483
    164
    84
See reviews for
505
887
183
1,019
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

overall the hotel is a great place to stay if its not busy. rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable. on this particular stay, we got trapped in the elevator and the staff didn't seem too interested in helping us get out. we ended up pulling the doors open and crawling out of the shaft. i would think this would be a big deal for the hotel. maybe it happens a lot and they are tired of helping stuck people...it was an interesting experience. if you do not get stuck in the elevator, you will like this place. it is very centrally located to many Toronto attractions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed our location and comfortable beds, and appreciate your feedback on the look and feel of our property.

I apologize that your experience was negatively affected by the elevators which were malfunctioning, causing you to become trapped inside. Please believe this is certainly not considered "normal practice". We certainly do not want our guests to feel that their safety is not our first concern, however, we must wait for the 3rd party elevator technicians who maintain our elevators to handle entrapments, malfunctions, etc. as they are most familiar with the workings of these devices and related safety issues

At Hilton, we always aim to ensure ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected and your feedback will help us to better deliver this brand promise. We appreciate your honest input and will certainly use your comments as part of our ongoing training and development.

We appreciate your patronage and hope that you will consider staying with us again, so we may show you the quality hospitality you expect and deserve. Have a wonderful day! Andy Loges, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

as soon as we drive into the hilton, we felt welcomed. Valet service was right there waving me to park. after speaking with valet he suggested i not get valet because self parking was $14 and valet was $40. Line to check in was reasonably busy but once we got to speak to a employee we checked in very quickly. hotel was clean and comfortable. great location but it is a but pricey in my opinion. I found a good deal on the internet so we went and it was well worth it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Jon ...

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I'm pleased that you enjoyed your time in Toronto and the overall services and accommodations and friendly staff at the hotel!

We do hope that you will visit us again whenever your travel plans include a stay in downtown Toronto! Have a great day! Andy Loges, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Can walk to most places, close to water, nice view of CN tower. I booked directly through Hilton, as they guarantee to match any other price and there is always the opportunity to cancel, unlike when booking through the bargain sites.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank subie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your Toronto experience! We hope that you will come back and visit us again soon! Have a great day! Andy Loges, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

As part of our honeymoon, I booked a deluxe room for 6 nights and expected a top experience for the price. Unfortunately, we didn't get it.

On arrival, we dropped our bags in the room and went to watch the baseball. It was only on return (after 11pm) that we realised we'd been given an uncleaned room. Bed was full of hairs, as was the bathroom. There were no members of the housekeeping team left, so a manager appeared at midnight to remake the bed. Bad start to the trip.

Of the 6 days there, only once was the room properly cleaned with the bed made and chocolates on the pillow. Other days it was haphazard with my wife's pyjamas thrown over the lamp one day! The bed looked like the sheets had been thrown on some days. Clearly the housekeeping staff do not have a clue. I've never experience worse cleaning in the last 10 years of travelling worldwide.

This poor level of staffing continued to the pool where there were no towels on our first day. Twice we called housekeeping for more and twice they said they were sending some. An hour later we walked back to the elevator wet. On our next visit, the gentleman at the pool was rude to my wife suggesting she couldn't take two towels for us. Again, I struggle to remember such rudeness from a member of hotel staff!

Breakfast wasn't much better. The servers struggled to even manage a smile (this is with the exception of a gentleman name Baba who was very friendly the day he served us). A man named Vikram must have told me 4 times that tips were not included in the price. He was quite unpleasant in his manner about this. When you've paid for breakfast to be included, and it's a buffet where the staff merely point you to a table, being pestered for a tip seems truly bizarre.

Why wasn't the hotel terrible overall? Well, we asked for a CN Tower view and we got a sensational one. The room was fairly nice, but the deluxe refurbishment already looks tired.
Pool area is nice and front desk staff were very helpful. Breakfast is good (if you pay for it to be included - very pricey if not).

Basically the terrible (and I'm being kind here) housekeeping staff let this place down. Do yourself a favour and stay at one of the 30 or so hotels rated better than this on TripAdvisor. For a 3 star hotel this place is average; for a Hilton it's poor and does not live up to the standards you expect from such a brand.

I hope the reply to this by the hotel doesn't follow the pattern of other similar reviews by saying 'I'm glad you enjoyed the view' and ignoring how badly their team fail to live up to standards guests expect.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Dan ...

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. I sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations and I am actively working with our Housekeeping team to ensure our standards of cleanliness and comfort are consistently met, both in the guestrooms and in the pool area. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and know our guests deserve better.

We have noted your candid remarks concerning the various team members and I do apologize, as this is certainly not conducive of the usual high levels of service that our team strives to deliver. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected and your feedback will help us to better deliver this brand promise. We appreciate your honest input and will certainly use your comments as part of our ongoing training and development.

We hope you will consider staying with us again so we may show you the quality hospitality you expect and deserve. Have a wonderful day. Andy Loges, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Toronto Hilton during a getaway vacation in August. We found the hotel to be quite nice. Our room was spacious, had a great view of the Toronto skyline (including the CNN Tower, which has an interesting light pattern during the night). The bed was comfortable and the bathroom up-to-date and clean.
We got the bed and breakfast deal when booked, and that turned out to be a great move. The buffet is large, service is great, it's convenient, and there't not a host of breakfast options in the area. The front desk and concierge are friendly and helpful...lots of good tips on places like restaurants and directions. We had a minor discrepancy on our bill, and hotel staff dealt with it quickly, professionally and cheerfully.
Location-wise, the hotel sits right on University and Richmond, so you're about a 15 min walk down to the waterfront, 15 mins up to the college, and maybe 20 mins to the Rogers Center.
All in all, we had a nice stay at the Hilton, and we will plan to stay there again
One warning: Toronto is really torn up with construction right now. A lot of streets, including major ones like Adelaide, are all ripped up. Some are down to one lane, some are simply closed.
We found driving in Toronto this summer to be a mess. If you're driving around the city on your visit, plan for extra time.

Room Tip: Rooms facing towards the lake (basically south) have a nice skyline view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NortheastUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I'm pleased to learn that the facilities and services within the hotel were able to meet your expectations!

I apologize that your experience was negatively affected by the City of Toronto construction around the hotel. It is very frustrating and difficult to maneuver in this neighborhood, but hopefully, it will be finished soon … at least before the snow starts!

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to "welcome you back" whenever your travel plans include Toronto! Have a wonderful day! Andy Loges, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were in a king room with a crib. The room itself was spacious and the bed was quite comfortable.
The location is very central and close to most of downtown by foot. Parking was quite pricey but within expected for downtown Toronto.
The service was overall fast and courteous. We did not use any restaurants/bars at the hotel.

The swimming pool was very nice with indoor-outdoor sections. The water was a nice temperature. It was nice to see it open at 6AM each morning. The pool area was always well stocked with towels. I feel bathrobes should be standard for this level of hotel with a pool (we got them after requesting them).

One issue i had was the construction in front. Once we arrived it was barely noticable, however we arrived after a 5 hour drive around 1AM and had to circle for an additiomal 15-20 minutes trying to figure out how to enter the hotel (it involved going the wrong way on a one way street that was not obviously marked). It would have been nice to have received some warning/instructions/map as part of the reservation confirmation by email on this construction.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dave Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I'm pleased to learn that the facilities and services within the hotel were able to meet your expectations!

I apologize that your experience was negatively affected by the City of Toronto construction around the hotel. It is very frustrating and difficult to maneuver in this neighborhood, but hopefully, it will be finished soon … at least before the snow starts! The next round of renovations in September will include the corner of Adelaide and York and we will be posting driving directions on our Facebook page ... thank you for the suggestion!

We do hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again whenever your travel plans include Toronto! Have a great day! Andy Loges, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#30 of 134 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
Downtown West
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Toronto

Property: Hilton Toronto
Address: 145 Richmond Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#30 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#31 Family Hotel in Toronto
#34 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Toronto Hotel Toronto
Hilton Hotel Toronto
Toronto Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing