We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Imperfect for business travelers”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Toronto
Ranked #33 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Imperfect for business travelers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

There are a lot of things going for this hotel.
The location is excellent, surrounded by great restaurants, public transportation, shopping - you name it. Decor is modern, rooms are spacious and fixtures are mostly new. The beds are comfy, the view out the window is pleasant and urban, and the work area desk and chair are very useful.

But for a person on business, there are several hassles that will probably help me decide to look for other options:

1. Elevators - I am currently staying at the hotel. Waiting for elevators in the morning (there are 6 elevators for 32 floors) is a matter of *3-5* minute wait. That is plain, outright unacceptable. I know the hotel is packed and busy but that is wasted downtime to get in and out of your room. This especially affects you if you are on an executive floor and have access to the lounge on the 32nd floor. Getting an elevator up to the lounge can take that long. In short - a difficult to fix situation and a troubling fact you need to plan around (i.e. leave earlier, less time for breakfast).

2. Networking - WiFi speed is ok. Other hotels in the area (namely the Westin Harbour Castle) have terrific speeds and offer both wired and wireless connections. The Hilton only offers wireless connections.

3. Too few power outlets - There are two at the work area... and then you need to start hunting and searching... like tapping into the one behind the side table near the bed.

I will add that the executive lounge breakfast was ho-hum (soupy scrambled eggs are not my thing, no vegetables) but those are minor nits.

So with these business-travel biases I must say again - very decent hotel, but one that does not have my needs in mind.

Room Tip: High floor away from VERY NOISY elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pace_ripley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad to have been a convenient location for your activities in Toronto and appreciate your feedback on the look and feel of our property and amenities, specifically from a business point of view.

We’re very sorry you were unhappy with the speed of our elevators, speed of our WiFi, need for more power outlets and breakfast offerings in the Executive Lounge. We are taking your comments into consideration as we work to improve our on-property experience.

Just FYI, our WiFi access is delivered with multiple speed options that are selected at the time of log in on the portal. We will certainly have our IT team review the functionality to ensure there is not an ongoing issue with the various service options being provided. As this has not been identified by other guests, it may have been an isolated incident and we do apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

We appreciate your business and hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area in the future. Have a wonderful weekend.

Andy Loges, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,067
    1,136
    476
    163
    83
See reviews for
501
877
181
1,005
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kansas city
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this property while attending a conference at the nearby Sheraton. Check in was efficient. Club level room was large and cleaned thoroughly each day. Breakfast and afternoon snack in Executive lounge was great, and generally attended by wonderful personnel. Only complaint was that my 31st floor room was under the lounge and thus a bit noisy in the early a.m. and late p.m. (? cleaning) Would recommend this property, particularly club level rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank father3KansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, following your recent stay while attending a conference at a nearby hotel.

I'm pleased to learn that the facilities and services within the hotel, in particular the Executive Lounge were able to meet your expectations!

We hope that we will have the chance to be of service once again, whenever your travel plans include Toronto! Have a great day!

Andy Loges, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio, Brazil
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hilton Toronto has a good location, comfortable room, nice staff, nice lobby; The concierge service is very helpful, but is available just until 8PM Expensive breakfast and expensive internet connexion I would come back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ivo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the location, room, staff and service from the concierge.

In reference to your comments concerning pricing, we have analyzed the various hotels in the downtown core and find that the Hilton Toronto is very competitive in our pricing structure, including room rates, restaurant prices and in room amenities. However, we will continue to conduct regular reviews to ensure that we are still relevant to our competition. We do, however, appreciate your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you again, whenever your future travel plans include Toronto!
Have a great day!

Andy Loges, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
218 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

While I typically like Hiltons, won't stay here again. The location is great, the service good, the rooms were high quality, However, you can hear a PIN drop outside, above, below and surrounding your room. Even my industrial earplugs didn't help much. Otherwise a fine choice to stay if you are a very sound sleeper!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exeter95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us ...I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed the location, service and quality of the rooms.

Please do accept our apologies however, for your disruption with noise during your time with us. As each guest has a different tolerance for our "urban" environment, our team works with each visitor to find accommodation that is most suitable for your stay. From your comments, unfortunately, we were not able to resolve this issue for you and for this I am truly sorry.

We appreciate your business and hope that we will see have the opportunity to be of service to you, should your travel plans include Toronto. Have a great day!

Andy Loges, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Hilton never disappoints -- we've stayed about 8 times. Some quibbles: the breakfast buffet, while still far superior to the Sheraton across the street, seems to have slipped a notch, and we won't have it again --as at 26$, it does not seem good value. Also: 1) Still no free wi-fi. 2) The gym is tiny, which would be ok if it had great equipment, but alas, these machines are tired and need replacing. Hotwire tip: if the 4 star Toronto downtown west results do not say "90% of travellers recommend this hotel" then you will not be getting the Hilton, but the Sheraton, which is ok, but at least half a step below the Hilton in overall quality in pretty well every department except the gym, which is much better there than here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bilzebub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We value your input, especially as you have stayed with us numerous times.

We strive to make every guests' stay a pleasant one through our service and amenities, and we regret this was not your impression with the breakfast buffet and condition of the fitness centre equipment. We will use your comments as "food for thought" about changes we can implement to improve our on-property experience.

We hope you will give us another chance to welcome you again, should your travel plans include downtown Toronto in the future. Have a great day!

Andy Loges, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We were here on New Year's Eve. Location is very convenient, really close to Osgoode subway station. The staffs were friendly, room was clean. I asked for a slipper and it was delivered to our room.

Love the elevator, as well as the Peter Thomas Roth collection.

Overall we had a great time staying there and will definitely recommend this hotel to other people.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nyugat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I'm pleased to learn that the facilities, services and location within the hotel were able to meet your expectations!

We hope you had a great start to the new year (albeit we are already 5 months into the year!) and we would love to welcome you back whenever your travel plans include Toronto!

Have a great weekend!

Andy Loges, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was a great hotel. Clean lobby, nice rooms, good location and decent price. Mumofuko opened across the street and is worth a visit. The bathrooms were nice and i would recommen staying here while in Toronto.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aschwegm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your Toronto experience!

We hope that you will come back and visit us again soon, should your travels bring you back from "Hotlanta"! Have a great weekend!

Andy Loges, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#30 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,217 reviews
Downtown West
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Toronto

Property: Hilton Toronto
Address: 145 Richmond Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#30 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#31 Family Hotel in Toronto
#34 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Toronto Hotel Toronto
Hilton Hotel Toronto
Toronto Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing