We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at a great rate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Toronto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Toronto
Ranked #34 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel at a great rate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for my birthday weekend in early November. Here are some thoughts on the place:

RATE: We got a great rate for our room through Hotwire.ca. We knew the area we wanted and didn't care which hotel we stayed in. We took a chance and got booked into the Hilton. If you want the same Hilton Toronto falls in the category of "Downtown Toronto West area hotel" on Hotwire's listings.

ROOM: We were given a room with two double beds. With Hotwire we were not given the choice of bed type or size. You might be able to upgrade at the hotel - I didn't ask and Hilton didn't offer. Room was OK but the furniture was worn. Bathroom was new and clean. No bar fridge in this cheaper room though which was disappointing.

AREA: Close to everything which was great. Osgoode subway station is just outside the main doors and it was easy to get up to the ROM. It was also a 10 minute walk to the theatres on King Street.

PARKING: The Hilton website contains confusing information regarding parking rates. It says it is $40 per day to self-park. When we arrived we were told that this is a Monday to Thursday rate. On weekends it was $24 a day. However, when we checked out it was $36 total (a nice surprise) for our stay from Friday at 4:30 pm until Sunday at 11:30 am. Perhaps if you check out after 12 pm on Sunday you get charged the full rate - not sure.

Also note that there is overnight parking available at the Green P lot at Nathan Phillips Square/Toronto City Hall which may be cheaper.

Overall a great stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Check Hotwire for possible deals on this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank codemonkeyken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor member ...

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and in Toronto!

The valet parking price you mentioned is in line with the downtown area, however, self parking rates vary based on when you are staying, holidays, evening, etc. and are also very competitive for downtown. Unfortunately, the Hilton Toronto does not own nor manage the parking garage .... we will, however, share your comments with the management company that operates the garage for their information and reference.

Thank you for staying with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,

Andy Loges
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    1,012
    408
    148
    75
See reviews for
420
755
166
882
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

After staying at the Parky Hyatt for years, it was time for a change. I visit Toronto 3-4 times a year for pleasure. Since I always stay at Hiltons for business, I thought i would give this property a try. The location is fantastic and city views from the higher floors are great. The rooms and staff were all excellent as most Hiltons. The only noticible problem is the executive lounge. While the view of the city is wonderful, this is by far is the wrost Hilton executive lounge I have ever been in. Not worth the cost to book an executive room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I'm pleased to learn that the location, facilities, accommodations and service from staff members was able to meet your expectations!

On another note, I was surprised by your comments that you did not enjoy the Executive Lounge. We do appreciate how vital our Executive Lounge experience is to our customers and regret that the it did not meet your expectations.

We do appreciate your business and hope that should your travel plans include Toronto, that we will have the opportunity to be of service to you in the future.

Warm regards,

Andy Loges
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

very central location; walking distance to all downtown activities and the entertainment district; good service; clean and spacey rooms....what else would one need ? maybe the only downside could be that breakfast buffet was not very creative, but then you have the option of ordering a la carte anyway.

I would definitely prefer the same hotel for my future trips to toronto.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pingucookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor member ...

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I'm pleased to learn that the facilities, location and services within the hotel were able to meet your expectations!

We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back whenever your travel plans include Toronto! Have a wonderful week and thanks again for your positive comments!

Warm wishes,

Andy Loges
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you're in Toronto, this is a very nice hotel to stay at. The Hilton Toronto is an older property, that has been refreshed. They even have a Ruth's Chris Steakhouse in the hotel. The hotel is on a busy intersection and in the heart of downtown. There is a lot to do and most of it is within walking distance.

Hotel itself: From the exterior you can definitely tell this is an older hotel. You can tell it was refurbished within the past few years. The public areas were clean and spotless. The hotel is really busy, so a lot of guests just roaming around. The decor is modern and very inviting. The scent delivery system, which pumps out their custom fragrance is overkill. There is no parking, only valet - which wasn't pricy like Chicago. Being just a large hotel, the elevators weren't a problem either.

Pool & Exercise Facility: They have both an interior and exterior pool. The pool area was very clean (no trash etc) and free of the smell of chlorine. The outside pool deck was nice, but being end of August it was pretty chilly outside. The exercise facility was also nice - different variety of equipment. It was always busy and I can see it being a problem trying to get a machine if the hotel is sold out.

Executive Lounge: Was very spacious and had great view of the Toronto area. The had beverages and honor bar until late. They had breakfast and afternoon snacks complimentary for those who have access to the executive floor. They could have more employee's help clean up the area. When we went there around noon, there was food and garbage laying around from the breakfast hours. Breakfast was only continental, not what I usually find at large city Hilton properties.

Rooms: We got upgraded onto the executive floor and got a suite. We had a really nice view of the CN Tower and Harbor. The room was spotless and clean. The bathroom area was very clean. The sheets on the bed were crisp, clean and wrinkle free. The bed was free of any stains, hairs or signs of previous guest. Only complaint was that the TV seemed very small for that particular room. It was either a 32" or 37", large, but when the bed is about 15 feet away it seemed very small. A fridge would have also been nice. I can't complain about the fridge because the Executive lounge was 5 floors down the hall.

Free Internet: Being a Hilton H Honors member I got free WiFi and hard wire internet service. Both were pretty good, being the size of the hotel and the number of guests checked in. I constantly got decent WiFi speeds to Skype and use Google Voice. This worked out great because using your cell phone in Toronto would result in huge roaming bills.

Staff: We requested early check-in around noon local hotel time, but when we got there the front desk clerk said nothing was available. She was very professional, but they did guarantee us an early checkin - no worries. We had our luggage held at the Bell desk and went for a stroll around downtown. After a few hours we came back. We checked in with Dwayne, the front desk manager; not the shift manager. His service was top notch and extremely professional. My reservation stated it was a special occasion for us and he went out of his way to make sure we got a really nice room. He is the sole reason why this hotel ranked so high. He upgraded us from a lower floor to the executive floor no questions asked. He was very knowledgeable about the area, and even called a few restaurants for us - saving me a trip to the concierge desk. Even at checkout he walked out to our car and wished us a safe travel. Hilton, this employee is the best and he lives by your motto "Be Hospitable".

The bottom line, a good hotel that has been recently refurbished. Great staff and rates that aren't ridiculous. If I'm ever back in the Toronto downtown area, I would stay here again. Try to book in advance to get lower rates and specials.

Room Tip: Try to get your room to face the CN Tower and Harbor. Higher floor rooms have better views. Take t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samswildworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us!

I'm pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time in Toronto and the overall services and accommodations at the hotel. We will also be sure to share your team member experience with our Front Desk Manager with the rest of our hotel team as a great example of how the "little things" make a big difference to our guests!

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travel plans bring you back to Toronto! Have a great day and thanks again for your positive feedback!

Warm wishes,

Andy Loges
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Overall the hotel was good. I spent two nights here. Didn't have time to get out and explore much of the area. What I did notice is that there didn't seem to be many places right out the door for dinner options. Good proximity to everything downtown 10-15 min walk to most everything you'd probably need, includinf shopping and convention centre.
Ordered a chicken salad for room service, which was good and one of the few things not overpriced on the menu.
Gym seemed decent, good number of up to date treadmills ans other machines.
Room size was great, nice to have a room with a desk and a confortable oversized chair to relax in. Comfy bed, but small pillows.

Bat tub had a few hairs in it, which made me question how well the rest of the room had been cleaned.

Noise was terrible! 6th floor, traffic and horns at all hours! I could hear the person above me blowing their nose and going to the bathroom. It wasn't a "oh,did I just hear that?" But a, "I can't believe I can hear that!" Same goes for room across the hall. Doors don't keep out much noise, so hallway conversations as people walked by late at night were easy to clearly make out. Waling past a room, I could hear the toilet flush. I've never noticed as much noise transfer between rooms in other hotels.(Even when they have been sold out, and you know each room is booked)

Not sure this hotel would jump out at me to return to. I have a few others in Toronto I'd try first as a personal preference. That being said, it still meets the 4 star criteria overall I'd say.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LANDASTEWART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us! I was pleased to learn that the location, on site fitness centre, room size and comfort and Room Service was able to meet your expectations.

On another note, however, please do accept our apologies for the lack of cleanliness in your bathtub. We will certainly share your feedback with our Housekeeping team as part of their ongoing and continued training and development.

Also, our sincere apologies for your disruption with noise during your time with us. As each guest has a different tolerance for our "urban" environment, our team works with each visitor to find accommodation that is most suitable for your stay. It seems that our team was not able to "Make it Right" while you were in the hotel and we hope that this incident will not prevent from you choosing to visit us again in the future.

It would be our pleasure to be of service when your travel plans include Toronto, to more clearly demonstrate the services and facilities for which the hotel is well known.

Warm regards,

Andy Loges
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Room was clean and beds comfortable. Hotel is located pretty centrally so easy to get around downtown. There is access to the underground PATH so if the weather is bad you really don't have to venture outside...which a plus in the winter. Since I stayed here in May it was nice and could walk easily to places or hop on a street car/take a cab.

Hotel has a pool which is partially indoors and outdoors so bring suits for the kiddos.

The only major disappointment is that you get charged to use the internet which in this day and age I don't know why in a large city they would charge for it. Other then that I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member;

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I'm pleased to learn that the facilities and services within the hotel and our convenient location, connected to the underground PATH system, were able to meet your expectations!

Although the Hilton brand does not include WiFi access in all rates as a standard amenity, many packages are available which will include this service along with many other "value ads" which I would recommend for anyone wishing to utilize WiFi access and for whom the complimentary lobby computer stations are not convenient.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back whenever your travel plans include Toronto!

Warm wishes,

Andy Loges
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I was there on a business trip 2 weeks ago for a convention at the Hilton Toronto. I stayed there for a few days. I had a base room which was nothing to rave about. The room was average at best. While it was clean, it needs to be updated/renovated. The biggest complaint that I would have was the sound that the pluming kept doing all the time. It's hard to describe the sound on here but if someone from the surrounding rooms would flush water in the bath & toilet, I would hear the water make heavy rumbling noise from the bath and shower drain. I also found that the washroom was quite narrow.
The internet was too slow when I tried to use it... so I gave up after an hour.
When I visit Toronto, I have adopted the Westin Harbour Castle as my favorite hotel. The rooms are renovated and the view of Ontario lake is outstanding. I also like that it's not right downtown as it is more quiet. However some might prefer the location of the Hilton since it is more centrally located.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us! We do appreciate your patronage and I'm sorry that the noise from the plumbing was disturbing to you. I will certainly share your comments with our Maintenance Team for their information and follow up. Perhaps there is something that can be done to minimize this noise disturbance.

Our WiFi access is delivered with multiple speed options that are selected at the time of log-in on the portal. We will certainly have our IT team review the functionality to ensure there is not an ongoing issue with the various service options being provided. As this has not been identified by other guests, I believe it may have been an isolated incident and we do apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

If your travel plans bring you back to Toronto and you prefer to stay in the downtown core, rather than on the lake, we do hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back.

Warm wishes,

Andy Loges
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#31 of 137 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 stars 1,729 reviews
Downtown West
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
The Fairmont Royal York
The Fairmont Royal York
#17 of 137 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Toronto

Property: Hilton Toronto
Address: 145 Richmond Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#30 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#31 Family Hotel in Toronto
#34 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Toronto Hotel Toronto
Hilton Hotel Toronto
Toronto Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing