We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect birthday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Harbour Castle
Ranked #32 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect birthday!”
Reviewed May 24, 2010

I stayed at the Harbour Castle to celebrate my birthday and to attend the Fashion week closing shows.

I was greeted by a friendly and charming gentleman at check in, believe his name was Mike. I was upgraded to a room to a junior suite with a king bed. It was spacious with a breath taking view to the Toronto Harbour. It was neat as you could watch the boats and the planes taking off from the airport. I was later surprised that he sent up a birthday card to wish me a happy birthday. It made me feel like a million bucks, I have never experienced such service and was above and beyond my expectations

Perfect location! close cab ride to the all stream centre where the fashion week events were held. I took the go train in and it was less than a 10 min walk from union station. It was 5 minutes from the Air Canada centre which would make it a great place for staying when seeing a concert or sports game.

The buffet breakfast in the morning was steller! Great food selection fresh and tasty. I'm a health freak they even had smoothies. The service was awesome, you never had to look for someone for a refill on coffee they were always attentive within close proximity.

Everything from the room to the service was exceptional!

I will definitely be returning to the Westin Habour Castle for my next trip to Toronto. I can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w0rshipthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,545
    1,599
    658
    233
    121
See reviews for
758
1,183
204
1,370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new brunswick
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2010

very simply stated i have never had a bad experience at the WHC,everything about it is
great,Super clean rooms,great meeting facilities,wonderful staffff

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rvgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
1,271 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 506 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2010

We stayed for 5 nights at the Westin Harbour Castle. We had a good package deal through Expedia for the hotel and the airline. There are positives and negatives about this place particularly depending on your reason for being in Toronto. We would like to say something at the outset about people in Toronto. They are the best we have ever experienced in helping you. If you have a puzzled look on your face, it is almost guaranteed that someone will stop and ask you if you want help. This happened 15-20 times during our visit. Very nice, friendly people!!!

The POSITIVES:
Comfortable room, great bed, very close to Lake Ontario, and pretty clean. If you are a tourist and are focused only on the CN Tower, Toronto Islands (Wards, etc), or Sports arenas, or a business traveler, this is a good choice. The hotel is the first drop off from the airport for the Airport Express bus and the last pick up going to the airport.

NEGATIVES: The hotel is quite far away from the major tourist attractions in the city: Examples include Casa Loma, The Royal Ontario Museum, the Bata Museum, Cabbagetown, The Art Gallery of Ontario, the Gardiner Museum, Eaton Centre, Chinatown, Yorkville, etc. There are good hotels that are closer to these major attractions and we would recommend you look for a nice place in Yorkville Village! Also, the Westin is not that close to great restaurants. There are two in the hotel that are fairly expensive and probably okay. Harbourfront is fairly close by but its restaurants seem just okay from what we tried. Otherwise you have a good hike to good restaurants. In fairness, from the Westin you can catch a subway about 3-4 blocks away and get to these major destinations. The subway in Toronto is a good one and Toronto people are wonderful about helping you find your way. The in-room safe was a dud. It failed twice and security had to come and open it. They were prompt in doing this, however. We had a strange room noise (25th floor) that we could not get an explanation for. We had to leave the fan on in the room at night to negate the noise. The concierge service is quite available but they are pushing tourist transit and options that get them a commission. If you persist, they will help you but it could be a lot better service! Finally, while the swimming pool is large it is heated to about 70 degrees which is pretty chilly for most people.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VAChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHarbourCastle, Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, May 24, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recently renovated guestroom! We take great pride in our downtown location. During any season we are extremely lucky to have such beautiful views and to be such a short walk away from major attractions. Also there has been a change this Spring in regard to our complimentary shuttle service. The shuttle bus that used to run to and from Union Station has now been changed to bring our guests to and from the Eaton Centre. This new route of transportation will make it easier for guests to get around the city and help enable them to see the many attractions that downtown Toronto has to offer. I truly apologize that the experience you had regarding the safe and the pool did not live up to Westin standards. If you would like to discuss your experience with me futher, please send an email to harca@westin.com.

Be well,

Margaret Readings
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2010

Asked for a "quiet room" and the staff went out of their way to find me a great location high above the traffic below and a beautiful view of Lake Ontario, Toronto Island and the light airport off to the side.
Check out The Mizzen restaurant for the breakfast buffet, but I was disappointed that they no longer kept a chef behind the counter to custom-make an omlette or a crepe from scratch. Food was still delicious.
Went to see Mamma Mia and was able to walk to the theatre and back - very senic and safe. Will definitely return to the Westin for a repeat mini-vacation.
!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

The Westin Harbour Castle sits in a very nice spot on Toronto's lakeshore and close enough to get anywhere downtown in a minute or two.

This hotel has been around for a long time. The rooms are decent although you can hear everyone talking in rooms around you (very thin walls).

Don't book into this Westin with high expectations.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fhpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHarbourCastle, Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, May 24, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for finding the time to post your comments. I truly apologize that experience you had did not live up to Westin standards. If you would like to discuss your experience with me further, please send an email to harca@westin.com.

Be inspired... be Westin!

Margaret Readings
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
198 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

very convenient to it all in Toronto. Very comfy beds, exercise room, pool.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Larryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Stayed her for BMO Conference and enjoyed it immensely. I stay at a hotel about 80 times a year and this is one of the best I have been. Great room, great bed, friendly staff, parking was easy and valet accommodated me many times for my briefcase, Mizzen had the best risotto- will stay here again.
Cheers!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverPorsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 136 in Toronto
2,970 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Harbour Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Harbour Castle

Property: The Westin Harbour Castle
Address: 1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West , Harbourfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#23 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#27 Family Hotel in Toronto
#28 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#40 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Harbour Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 977
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is located on the vibrant waterfront of Lake Ontario, where you can enjoy Toronto's seasonal events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HotelsforEveryone, Prestigia, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Harbour Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Harbour Castle Hotel Toronto
Westin Hotel Toronto
Westin Toronto
Westin Harbor Castle Hotel Toronto
Toronto Westin
Westin Harbour Castle Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing