We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING Toronto hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Harbour Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Harbour Castle
Ranked #37 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax
1 review
“AMAZING Toronto hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

friendly staff & efficient service. I really recommend it.....

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick_2010Halifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHarbourCastle, Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 6, 2009
Thank You for taking the time to post your comment.

I am pleased to hear that you had such a great say here at the Westin Harbour Castle, located on Toronto's beautiful downtown harbour front .

Our associates work very hard to make sure every guest's request is done quickly and efficiently.

We hope to see you here very soon.

Be Well,
Margaret Readings
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,375
    1,519
    640
    224
    115
See reviews for
721
1,112
193
1,226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,044)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sault ste marie
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

My stay at the Westin Harbour Castle was excellent...they are very accomidating!! The rooms are clean and spacious, very well decorated...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHarbourCastle, Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 6, 2009
Thank You for taking the time to post such a wonderful comment. We are truly delighted to hear that you had such a renewing stay. Our room attendants and hotel associates work extremely hard to make sure our guest's receive the 5 star treatment they deserve.

Our beautifully renovated rooms are both modern, spacious and comfortable. I am so inspired to hear that you were able to fully enjoy our rooms at The Westin Harbour Castle.

I hope to see you back very soon.

Be Well,
Margaret Readings
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste Marie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2009

Stayed the night to treat ourselves. It was wonderful!! Excellent view of the harbor and the CN Tower. Room service was exceptional and prompt. My favourite part of the room was the heavenly bed, so very comfortable. Also enjoyed the flat screen TV. Excellent place to stay for sight seeing downtown. Thank you so much Anne Marie for the Chocolate covered apples, very nice treat!!! All the staff was accommodating and friendly! Would love to stay again!!!

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marvin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHarbourCastle, Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 4, 2009
Thank You for taking the time to post your comments. We are truly inspired to hear that you had such a wonderful stay here at The Westin Harbour Castle. Our associates work very hard to make sure our guest's have a memorable stay.
We hope to see you very soon.

Be Well
Margaret Readings
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

Westin Harbour Castle is a very nice, comfortable hotel in a great location on the water. It's near the ferry over to the Islands and also near a nice little shopping and dining area with loads of different types of restaurants. The restaurant in the hotel is a bit expensive for breakfast ($50 for pancakes for two!) but the food was good. When I was booking I was concerned about the distance to the rest of town but it really was no problem and my husband who is not a "walker" had no problem with walking to the CN Tower and on into the Entertainment district. This hotel is really close to lots of forms of transportation as well. Rooms are very clean and we loved watching all the boats on the lake.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nationalmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHarbourCastle, Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 2, 2009
Thank You very much for taking the time to post your comments. We are truly inspired to hear that you had such a great stay here at The Westin Harbour Castle. Our Chef's work very hard to make our brilliant buffet such a success.
We hope to see you back with us very soon.

Be Well,

Margaret Readings
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.catharines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2009

My most recent stay was with my sisters. We won tickets to the Jami Foxx concert, which was hosted at the Sound Academy, $10 cab ride away. I took the Go Train in, to avoid traffic and parking fees. There is a privately owned parking lot to the east of hotel, which was $10 on my previous stay, but I'm sure will vary if there is a holiday or sports event that night.

The location is 5 min walk from the Union Station, (Via Rail, Go Train), Air Canada Centre. About 10 mins from the Eatons Centre (the main shopping mall in Toronto).
5 min walk to my favourite lounge for drinks and apps "ki" on bay . It is expensive, but worth the experince (amazing outdoor patio with heated lanterns). Great for girls night out or romantic glass of wine.

Breakfast Buffet is the best, decadent options including monte cristo sandwiches, fresh orange juice, fresh croissants, and many unique options you don't find at your everday buffet. It's $19, including your juice and coffee. I have not tried the dinner buffet, but have done the a la carte for dinner, wouldn't recommend it for the price.

Cool indoor pool with adjoining outdoor sundeck.

Ask for a newly renovated room, they are beautiful. I love that they have starbucks coffee and tea in the room and the to-go cups, so you can take your coffee with you.

Some aspects of the hotel are slighty dated, but majority is first class.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoyLamour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHarbourCastle, Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, October 28, 2009
We are truly inspired to hear that you had such a wonderful stay here at the Westin Harbour Castle. Our associates work very hard to make sure our gues'ts feel special.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,
Margaret Readings
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2009

We booked the Westin Harbour Castle for our one night trip to Toronto solely on the half-off deal Starwood was having earlier this summer. Considered another hotel closer to the city center. But normally the Westin hotels are very nice. So we felt we couldn't go wrong.

Generally, the Westin Harbour Castle is a nice hotel and we were greeted by friendly staff. Check in was easy and fulfilled our request for a high-floor room. We expected a city-view room but instead got a partial view of the city (mostly the rail and shipping yards) and the lake. It wasn't a problem for us because it was still very scenic. The room was clean but you could tell that the hotel had seen better days.

Overall, our stay was comfortable with the exception of the HAVC unit. That was my only complaint during our one night stay. Since it was a cold October night, we turned on the heat and got this annoying and VERY LOUD banging noise. It happened every 10 minutes or so. When it stopped and was nice and quiet and peaceful, it started again with the loud bang! :( We didn't mention it to the front desk because a) we were exhausted and b) only staying there one night...and probably will not be going back. I agree with the other reviewers about the location...I was iffy about having to go past a roadway underpass to get to the city. The walk was fine to Union Station...but at night I probably wouldn't have done it alone. Would take a cab instead if traveling around the city back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhsrb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHarbourCastle, Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, October 28, 2009
Thank You for your feedback and for taking the time to post your comments. I do apologize that the room you were placed in had a loud HVAC system. You will be pleased to know that our engineering staff are working very hard to recitfy the issue. I do hope that this experience did not impact the possibilty of having you return to The Westin Harbour Castle.

Be Well,
Margaret Readings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

Stayed for 2 night weekend. Parking was $42, I laughed out loud. Self-parking only $20 but you need to walk 5 blocks. Left my car in wrong lot as it was dark and got $40 parking ticket first night. Front desk was chilly at best - again no sense of humour. Room was very nice with view of harbour. No mini-bar, and fridge was luke warm at best. Toilet was turbo powered, don't flush while sitting or your butt will end up in Toronto sewer pipes. Ordered movie on TV - didn't work and took over an hour for someone to come to the room and agree with me that it didn't work. Didn't fix it, just agreed. Charged for movie the next day but removed when called.

Internet service was $12 a day. Outrageous in this day. Business services, wine glasses to room - seems I was reaching in my pocket for extra charges often.

Pool nice, hot tub was actually hot although the jets didn't work. Change room was a mess with dirty towels everywhere both days.

GREAT location! Close to everything although not walking distance. Cab driver tried to charge me an extra $10 because I "booked" a van. Quality liquor store across the road.
Nice walk along harbourfront. Saw Circle Du Soleil's "OVO" which was outstanding! HIghlight of trip.

Paid $122 US through Priceline which made overall experience palatable but could have been much better.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Harbour Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Harbour Castle

Property: The Westin Harbour Castle
Address: 1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West , Harbourfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#26 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#27 Family Hotel in Toronto
#28 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#40 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Harbour Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 977
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is located on the vibrant waterfront of Lake Ontario, where you can enjoy Toronto's seasonal events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Harbour Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Harbour Castle Hotel Toronto
Westin Hotel Toronto
Westin Toronto
Westin Harbor Castle Hotel Toronto
Toronto Westin
Westin Harbour Castle Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing