We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto
Ranked #28 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed here as a stop over for two night on our trip to Canada. Room was modern and very nice with a great view of the lake. Beds were very comfy. Overall the hotel was great but very busy during our stay so we were unable to park at the hotel. We parked a couple of blocks away (arranged at hotel)reception and bar area were great, but some communal areas were dated and worn, our room could be noisy as we were located close to the lifts. Very close to all of Torontos amenities and we walked to all the local attractions. The pool/gym area was adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear H37,

It was a pleasure to welcome you recently and to read your kind review.Thank you for taking the time to share it.

I am pleased to read that you slept well in the Westin Heavenly Bed and I am proud to let you know that we are currently renovating the public space and I trust you will be pleased with the result on your next visit.

I look forward to welcoming you back and once again, thank you for sharing your great recommendation.
Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,531)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,498 - 2,504 of 4,535 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed here for a conference in November. Though there wasn't much time to sit and enjoy the room, it was a great place to collapse after long days. I'd imagine it would be better in the summer months as you'd be able to do a bit more walking around and explore the waterfront a bit better. All in all it was a great business hotel with some pretty good amenities.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear PatrickC1986,

What a wonderful review: thank you for taking the time to share it!
I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and your recent conference.

We all look forward to welcoming you back this summer - as you pointed it out, nothing beats our location right on the lake during the warm months of the year!

Thank you again and Happy New Year!
Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I stayed on the 33rd floor and had a great view of the lake. But my overall opinion of the hotel is that it is "tired" and in drastic need of renovations. The carpet in the corridor was very dirty and worn. The elevators looked like they were 20-30 years old. The lobby however was very nice as was the hotel staff at check-in. Valet parking @ $45/night was excessive. Overall I was expecting more from the Westin, I have no desire to go back there but would do so if in a bind.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank FranklySpeaking44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear FranklySpeaking44,
I thank you for sharing some comments on your recent stay.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our newly renovated lobby. We are currently undergoing a complete renovation of our carpets in all public space and I trust you will be pleased with the result.

I understand that your visit did not exceed your expectations and this is why I would love to discuss your review in further details. Could you please send me your contact information at experienceteam@westin.com?

I will look forward to connecting with you
Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I took clients for lunch at the hotel restaurant yesterday. Appalling would be too kind a word to describe the food. No wonder the room was almost empty. The service was pretty awful, too. The server brought a teapot without the tea - by the time we received the teabag the hot water was cold. We were never offered coffee at the end of our meal,(the buffet), which consisted of a salad bar (very basic), a chicken thing, pickerel (hard as a hockey puck) and ONE beef short rib. Yes, there was only ONE beef short rib on the buffet. The soup was ok. To add insult to injury, it cost $155 for 4 people (4 buffet, 1 diet pop, 2 teas, no wine or liquor).

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Margaret R,

I truly appreciate you taking the time to share some feedback on your recent experience at the Mizzen Restaurant.

What you describe in your review is very concerning and doesn’t reflect the quality of service and food offerings our outlet is proud of. Myself and our Director of Food and Beverage are very concerned by your comments and would love to discuss your comments in more details. Could you please email us your contact information at experienceteam@westin.com?

This is due to feedback like yours that we can constantly improve our services, so once again, thank you for bringing your disappointing experience to our attention.

We look forward to connecting with you soon,

Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed in this hotel during a business trip in Toronto. Great location, comfy rooms & great views over Harbour. Can´t wait to come again in summer on leisure to enjoy everything what Toronto has to offer.

Room Tip: rent a car and make a trip to Niagara Falls
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scaryjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Scaryjackm

Thank you for staying with us during your recent business trip. I am pleased to read that you truly enjoyed your stay and managed to relax well in your guestroom.

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your kind recommendation.
Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stay at the Westin annually for a conference. Easy to book on-line or by phone. Very well organized, excellent & very pleasant desk staff. Rooms are spacious & very clean with updated bathrooms. Beds & bedding are great! Always have a good sleep here. My only complaint about the rooms is that there is no fridge. It looks like a fridge but it is only a cooler box. We have always had to put a bag of ice in the bottom to keep the milk & yogurt that we bring cold enough. You can ask for a fridge at the desk and it will be supplied. Sometimes that is difficult to arrange when the hotel is really full. If you have a lake view room it is completely unobstructed and you can have some fun watching planes take off from the island. If you have a city side view it is an awesome panorama of Toronto. Parking at the hotel is expensive but there is outside parking nearby and taxis always at the ready. I want to come here at another time of the year to take in some of the sights of the city with my family. There are often offers on for shows, exhibits, etc that incorporate tickets & your hotel stay. We went to the King Tut exhibit & the tickets were preferred which meant we skipped a huge line. They also had a dedicated shuttle to & from the AGO. Way to go Westin! The Toula restaurant on the upper level is very good and during the Winterlicious event the price is very good. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the lake side rooms. Very nice morning sunrise!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeG0264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear DianeG0264,

Thank you for being a loyal guest of our hotel. I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful recommendation.

It is always a pleasure to welcome you, your group or your family to our hotel, and I am delighted to read that you always leave us feeling better than when you arrived.

I will look forward to welcoming you soon .Should you need anything prior to your next visit, please don’t hesitate to reach out to me personally at experienceteam@westin.com

Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

On arrival was fortunate enough to be greeted by Julie Georges. Professional and exceptional in customer handling. A natural people person, who after a dreadful day put a smile on my face with her genuine (so many are false) caring, she picked up on my red eyes. What an asset. A great start, felt cared about.. Great balcony room, beautiful view of the Lake and aircraft landings. Restaurant food A1. Rooms above average. Service A1. Whilst waiting for a tour pick up Samad Ali-Mohammad walked up to us and engaged in conversation. Actually went and got us a cup of Coffee to take away and really wanted to know if there was anything else he could do!!! Amazing. We felt, if anything goes wrong with pick up Samad would have followed Up. Another asset. Just sorry we are not staying longer. Great Starbucks coffee in room and good toiletries, becoming rare now in many Hotels. Just one complaint....no showercap. Thoroughly recommend. Oh and complimentary bottled water, another courtesy.

Room Tip: Even though it was very cold, the balcony rooms on floors 5 and 6 enable great views. Quiet, no nois...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethmar2229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear bethmar2229,
WOW, this is a truly wonderful review – thank you for sharing it!

I understand you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and I am pleased that our teams made you feel well cared for – this is exactly how it should feel at Westin.

I will look forward to your next visit. .Should you need anything in the meantime, please do not hesitate to email me personally at experienceteam@westin.com

Thanks again for sharing your kind recommendation and Happy New year!
Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 137 in Toronto
3,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto

Address: 1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West , Harbourfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#19 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#27 Family Hotel in Toronto
#28 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#40 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $196 - $577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 977
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the perfect blend of relaxation, renewal, and modern comfort at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto. You'll find our hotel on the revitalized waterfront, just steps away from the Downtown Core via the PATH, Toronto’s underground covered walkway. The city's lively theatre and entertainment districts are just steps away, as are the Air Canada Centre and other famous attractions. Our CAA/AAA Four Diamond hotel welcomes you with beautifully designed accommodations featuring large workspaces, high-speed Internet access, and our legendary Westin Heavenly® Bed. Some of our hotel rooms also boast incredible views of Lake Ontario. Stop by one of our several outstanding restaurants for a delicious, healthful meal - or refresh with a dip in our indoor pool. Meetings and events are inspired occasions in our adaptable venues, including the spectacular Metropolitan Ballroom - the largest hotel ballroom in Canada. And our prime waterfront location enables you to explore the best of the downtown area with ease - from Rogers Centre to the CN Tower and Ripley's Aquarium. s attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Prestigia, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Harbour Castle Hotel Toronto
Westin Hotel Toronto
Westin Toronto
The Westin Harbour Castle
Westin Harbor Castle Hotel Toronto
Toronto Westin
Westin Harbour Castle Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing