We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable hotel with good amenities only a walk away from downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Harbour Castle
Ranked #32 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very comfortable hotel with good amenities only a walk away from downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Westin hotel in toronto is very conveniently located on the harbour front. Only a 10 min walk away from downtown toronto. Rooms are spacious and very quiet. All amenities coffee internet are provided. Good fitness centre.
Breakfast a little bit expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecdfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Ecdfit,

Thank you kindly for sharing some nice comments on your recent visit – I truly appreciate it.
I am pleased to read hat you enjoyed our location and took time to visit our Westin Workout Fitness Studio.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,444
    1,550
    644
    227
    119
See reviews for
735
1,137
199
1,289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,064)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montebello, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I usually stay at the Sheraton Toronto Centre when I am in Toronto. It is not as nice as the Westin, but I do like the proximity to the restaurants and Eaton Centre. But then I'm a tourist. We stayed here due to a seminar we were attending across the street so that was very convenient. The water was nice. But I found that it was a bit quiet at night. And not in a good way. We found ourselves heading back towards Eaton Center for dinner and shopping of course. I was not impressed with the restaurant, though the view was nice. I think it was more for the view than anything else. Service was slow and the food was not very good. But the drinks were nice and again, you can't beat the view.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear E M,

Thank you for being a loyal Starwood guest and for staying with us recently.
I apologize that your experience in Toula Italian Restaurant wasn’t entirely satisfying. I will discuss your review with their owner and will ask him to contact you to discuss with you in further details.

Could you please send me your contact information at experienceteam@westin.com?
I will look forward to your email, and once again, thank you for your recent visit.

Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
181 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed at the Harbour castle for the first time a few weeks ago and like many other Westin properties, it could use a facelift. The lobby itself look like it was recently renovated but the rooms could use some improvement - noisy AC, stained furniture, worn carpet, etc. The bed was however very comfortable and since it wasn't particularly warm, I slept without the AC turned on and managed to get a decent night of sleep.

The bar downstairs is nice but the staff could be a tad friendlier. The food was nothing to write about - just standard pub fare.

Overall not a terrible hotel but doesn't shine either.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n8fire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear n8fire,
Thank you for your recent visit and for being a loyal Westin guest.

At Westin, our mission is to make sure that our guests leave us feeling better than when they arrived. I read your comments about the room condition and understand that your stay was not flawless - I apologize for that.

I would like to discuss your review in further details and would appreciate if you could email me at experienceteam@westin.com

I will look forward to connecting with you,

Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a great hotel in a great location. I recommend a lake view room. The staff is attentive and eager to be helpful if they can be found. Expect lines and waits at the bars, check in desks and concierge during events and peak times. It is ideally located within a few blocks of most of Toronto's Downtown, attractions and transportation. Taxi and bus transportation is continuous and practically door to door. The decor is fresh, clean and inviting. The conference wing is huge, easy to access, with plenty of guidance. Pros: Staff eagerness. decor, location, amenities. quiet rooms. Cons:Price, Costly internet access, Costly business center access. Costly local calls, Staff availability. Lines/Waits.

Room Tip: Up high and lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bombero474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Bombero474,
Thank you kindly for sharing your recommendation.

I am sorry you had to experience some delays at check-in and bars – I appreciate you noticing the recently renovated space and am pleased that you like it and find it inviting.

At Westin, we value feedback and realize how important it is for our guests to stay connected while they are on the road. This is why we are currently working on a new tier-pricing process that will offer all our guests 30 minute complimentary connection to check emails.

I look forward to your next visit, Should you need anything in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me at experienceteam@westin.com

Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel was in a very convenient location for our touring around Toronto. The rooms were very pleasant, the beds particularly comfortable. Our room had a nice lake view. Exceptionally quiet! even though the hotel appeared quite busy judging from lobby activity, we never heard a bit of noise from the hallway or other rooms. The staff was helpful and friendly. Construction on the street might have caused a bit of confusion if we were driving to and from the hotel, but was easy to navigate on foot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Hazel S
What a great review! Thank you kindly for sharing it.

I am delighted to read that you took advantage of our location to explore the city and managed to relax well in your room .

Our team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Should you need anything prior to your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at experienceteam@westin.com

Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a very large hotel but you don't feel lost in it as the staff are very attentive giving first rate service. The location, on the harbour, is ideal and you are not far from public transport. Unless you buy it in a pckage breakfast will cost you but there is a very extensive spread to choose from. All said a very pleasing experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bub_s869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear bub_s869,

I truly appreciate you sharing some nice comments on your recent visit.
I am delighted that you enjoyed our location and facilities and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our reception by the Bell Staff started off our visit to the Toronto Westin with style and grace. They were more than helpful in offering to take our bags and when we declined because we only had a single suitcase, they were equally gracious in helping us and giving us any guidance we needed. Checkin was efficient and nicely handled with the receptionist giving us a room with a view of the Lake.

The rooms are spacious, very stylish and very, very clean. The beds comfortable and the bathrooms stocked with plenty of towels, washcloths and a bathrobe.

The hotel location is well within walking distance of central downtown with the Four Seasons Theater (where we saw La Boheme), no more than a 20 minute walk north of the hotel. This was the northern extent of our visit and we found all other shops and restaurants between the theater and the hotel easily accessable.

I highly recommend the Toronto Westin Harbor to any one who would like a beautiful and comfortable hotel while visiting Toronto.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coticon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Coticon,

This is exactly how it should feel at Westin!

I was delighted to read your kind review and to know that our teams took such great care of you from the moment you arrived at our hotel.

I truly appreciate you sharing your recommendation and I will look forward to welcoming you back soon – maybe for another great show at the Opera!

Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,829 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Harbour Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Harbour Castle

Property: The Westin Harbour Castle
Address: 1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West , Harbourfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#23 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#27 Family Hotel in Toronto
#28 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#40 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Harbour Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 977
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is located on the vibrant waterfront of Lake Ontario, where you can enjoy Toronto's seasonal events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Harbour Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Harbour Castle Hotel Toronto
Westin Hotel Toronto
Westin Toronto
Westin Harbor Castle Hotel Toronto
Toronto Westin
Westin Harbour Castle Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing