We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience luxury on the lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto
Ranked #30 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Experience luxury on the lake”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I live in Toronto, and decided to stay at the Westin Harbour Castle like week to escape a ridiculously hot home (our air conditioner broke.) I wasn't sure what to expect, but knew that at, at the very least, the room would be cool and sleep easier. Wow was I pleasantly surprised. The hotel desk put us in an ultra clean, and modern room with a beautiful view of the lake. The floor to ceiling windows made you feel like you were out on the water. My son and I went for a walk on the harbourfront adjoining the Westin, then went back into the hotel for a swim in their beautiful pool on the 5th floor. The views are truly spectacular. You really feel like you are on vacation, away from the bustle of the city. We ordered room service - and service is smooth and polite. I have also stayed at the Delta Hotel in Toronto, and this experience was far superior to the Delta for a similar price. The only negative, as far as I am concerned, is that there are not as many places to find affordable meals nearby. However, if you are ok with a short walk or subway ride, there are quite a few food courts and inexpensive eateries around. I highly recommend this hotel - especially for families.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canadiantraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Canadiantraveller101,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Your comments are important learning opportunities for us as it is always our goal to exceed the expectations of every guest. We believe that every guest should leave feeling better than when they first arrived. We truly appreciate your business as a return guest. Please email me before your next visit as I would like to ensure that your next stay is a memorable one.

Thank you again,
Rekha Khote
General Manager
Westin Harbour Castle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,674
    1,684
    672
    239
    125
See reviews for
818
1,247
214
1,455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

It's not the most convenient location because it is on the waterfront. However, the view of the lake makes up for the 10 minutes to get to the downtown core. Also, you are right at the Ferry for a ride to Center island, one of Toronto's hidden summer gems. The Westin toiletries are one of the best for it's categories and the beds are perfect too. A busy hotel. This is one of the hotels that can be bid for on Priceline for about $110 in the 4 star and above category and downtown south.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hughsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
430 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The hotel is right next to toronto island ferry and a good 5/10 min walk to CN tower. WIFI was only free in the lobby. Parking was $40/day for valet and $30/day for self parking. The self parking was 2 blocks away. The self parking garage was pretty small if you have a large size truck turns and parking are pretty tight. Breakfast was not free. There was a small refrigerator in the room. Showers were fabulous due to dual head shower. Beds were extremely comfortable. We were on the 28th floor right next to elevators. We had a view of the city and some of the lake. The room was spacious. Lobby area was kept emaculate and employees were abundant in case you needed help. We eat dinner down in the lobby area both nights we were there. Steak Frites was a huge favorite. Prices were on the spendy side. There were lots of business travelers at this hotel. I would definately stay here again. The only thing that was odd was the entrance to the hotel it wasn't easily identifiable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and it was very nice. The rooms were very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The location is pretty good, it is by the water which is nice, but a little far away from the main part of the city. Sill within walking distance from everything.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MC773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at the hotel to celebrate my husband's birthday weekend. When we checked in, the front desk were more than accomodating. Also as we stood there, I noticed they acknowledged others waiting and made sure everyone was attended to. There was even a young lady from the hotel that chatted with the couple who were waiting. When we got to our room, it was so comfortable and inviting. And what a view over the harbour. We could see Toronto Island from our suite. After relaxing for a while we went up to the rooftop restaurant where Roman took very good care of us. He was polite and accommodating. Also quite understanding when we had to be done dinner in time to get to the Rogers Center in time for the baseball game. Great location close to market and shopping.
On another note about our room-LOVE the blackout draperies! We slept so well, I bought some when I got home.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineAM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed here for a conference. Great venue. Brilliant views from the room over the harbour. An easy stroll to the shops, CN tower etc. Great places to eat nearby. We loved the Richtree market dining experience - something different for us, coming from the UK. We loved Toronto! Hotel arranged a bus tour to Niagara for us which was perfect.

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lynphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Purchased on Priceline. Would have been disappointed if I would have spent more on this room. It was a good location, but the room was just average. Parking was also expensive. No free wireless either, which is something you would expect from a higher end hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear G S,

Thank you for providing us with some thoughts and feedback regarding your most recent stay with us.

I’m sorry to read that you weren’t aware that we do provide complimentary and unlimited wi-fi connection in our lobby and restaurants.

Regarding the parking charge you mentioned, I apologize but we are doing a comparative analysis of prices every quarter and we feel that our pricing is in line with all other four star downtown hotels in Toronto. I will keep in mind your comment for our next review meeting though.

Sincerely,
Rekha Khote

General Manager

Westin Harbour Castle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 137 in Toronto
3,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto

Property: The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto
Address: 1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West , Harbourfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#21 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#27 Family Hotel in Toronto
#28 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#40 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 977
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the perfect blend of relaxation, renewal, and modern comfort at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto. You'll find our hotel on the revitalized waterfront, just steps away from the Downtown Core via the PATH, Toronto’s underground covered walkway. The city's lively theatre and entertainment districts are just steps away, as are the Air Canada Centre and other famous attractions. Our CAA/AAA Four Diamond hotel welcomes you with beautifully designed accommodations featuring large workspaces, high-speed Internet access, and our legendary Westin Heavenly® Bed. Some of our hotel rooms also boast incredible views of Lake Ontario. Stop by one of our several outstanding restaurants for a delicious, healthful meal - or refresh with a dip in our indoor pool. Meetings and events are inspired occasions in our adaptable venues, including the spectacular Metropolitan Ballroom - the largest hotel ballroom in Canada. And our prime waterfront location enables you to explore the best of the downtown area with ease - from Rogers Centre to the CN Tower and Ripley's Aquarium. s attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Harbour Castle Hotel Toronto
Westin Hotel Toronto
Westin Toronto
The Westin Harbour Castle
Westin Harbor Castle Hotel Toronto
Toronto Westin
Westin Harbour Castle Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing