We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Ranked #76 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, fantastic location”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is a solid, middle of the road hotel. The room was clean and not too small, the lobby was dated and a touch run down but the location cannot be beat! I was in Toronto for a series of events at the University of Toronto, this hotel is literally across the street. Prices are pretty comparable for Toronto, but if you're looking for proximity, it is also quite close to the subway line and since traffic in downtown Toronto is obnoxious, location is king.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear A K,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We are definitely located in an ideal location with many things at our doorstep. I would like to mention that we are in line to be renovated within the next year. Hopefully on one of your next stays we will be able to wow you.

Thank you again and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    241
    189
    60
    25
See reviews for
124
122
73
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The hotel is not cheap but has nice location - close to the center of the city, near St George subway station. The Royal Ontario Museum is two blocks East. The same with the Filosopher's Walk. The University of Toronto complex is just across the Bloor street.

Large quiet rooms, king size bed. Filter coffee machine with regular or decaf coffee for free.

No EU-Canada socket adapter in the room, take your own one.

Room Tip: Don't mind if the windows of your room will be on the Bloor street side. Soundproofing is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andriy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Andriy D,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our rates vary on the time of year and of course how busy the city is. For our location we have considerably lower rates than some of our competition.

Thank you again for taking the time to post a review and we hope to be able to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

My husband and I were in Toronto recently to attend a wedding. We made reservations at the Bloor Street Holiday Inn because it was located near the wedding venue. Both of us were very disappointed in this hotel. For the price, we expected a slightly more upscale vibe; instead, it felt a bit old and tired. Our room on the 4th floor was clean, but small and generic. The bathroom had nowhere to place health and beauty products, especially if the space was being used by two people.

The front desk staff were a mixed bag. One young man who worked there was wonderfully friendly and helpful, and a pleasure to talk to. Another, older, man was almost rude when my husband asked him if there was a coffee shop nearby. When he responded, he acted like it was a stupid question, and gave cursory directions, sounding as if he had much more important things to do with his time than answer questions from (shudder) tourists.

The free computers in the lobby were a nice touch, but they were positioned so that, when using the computer, you were sitting with your back to the lobby and your computer screen fully visible to anyone standing behind you. As the seating area of the lobby was fairly small and often crowded, this presented a real security risk and gave you the creepy feeling of having people looking over your shoulder.

One bright note: The beds were extremely comfortable!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank froggielorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Froggielorraine,

We appreciate that you have taken the time to post a review of our hotel. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. At Holiday Inn it is our goal to provide excellent customer service and it is upsetting to hear that not everyone is living up to that standard.
Our hotel is expecting to have renovations in the near future and we hope to fix some of the issues you experienced while staying with.
In order to help correct some of problems you had we would love to hear from you directly to obtain more informaiton. We invite you to contact us by calling 416-968-0010 or email at cn312@whg.com.
Thank you for your review and we look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed here overnight in order to get a jump on traffic to a Toronto hospital. The room was quiet, clean and smelled fresh. The bed was comfortable and everything worked out well. The staff were very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gandalf974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Gandalf974,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Nice location in the Yorkville area, near subway stations, and a great variety of restaurants. The hotel itself needs a full renovation. The reception area is the only place that updated recently. The rooms were in good shape back in 80's. As long as you don't mind the "old fashioned" room, it's a hotel to stay mainly due to the location.

Room Tip: All rooms are non-smoking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asia-Americas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Asia-Americas,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We are very lucky to be in a great location. Our building is a bit old, but we are scheduled for a renovation in the near future. Hopefully on your next visit we will be able to surprise you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Great value for the money. Clean, spacious rooms. Centrally located. Helpful staff. On site parking. Access to a local health club with all the amenities a block away. A great location for those visiting downtown Toronto or UofT.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBW2270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear SBW2270,

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review of our hotel! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

My daughter and I stayed one night while she did a course at the university.The room was clean but cool, pretty sure it needs new windows. The bed was very comfortable as were the pillows. Easy parking below the hotel and with the rewards card we were able to leave the car there until she finished her course at 4pm.The front staff were friendly and Stuart was the best at allowing me to sit in their lobby and wait for my daughter to finish, even after check out. I called the desk in the first evening to see if they knew of a French restaurant nearby. He said no, but called right back(after discussing with someone else I am sure), that there was in Yorkville, a short walk away.I spent my time at the Stillwater Spa on the Wednesday and the ROM on the THursday. Overall happy with the hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachlover64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Beachlover64,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is perfect for anyone who needs to visit the University, hopefully on your next trip your daughter will get to enjoy the area as well!

Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
#75 of 137 in Toronto
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#65 of 137 in Toronto
732 reviews
Midtown
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#19 of 137 in Toronto
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville

Property: Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Address: 280 Bloor St W, Toronto, Ontario M5S 1V8, Canada (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashionably located in Toronto's upscale Yorkville area, at the historic University of Toronto, our comfortable rooms, professional staff and superb surroundings make our downtown Toronto hotel an ideal choice for business or leisure. Enjoy walking the tree lined streets to the surrounding museums or use the adjacent subway stop (St. George) to whisk you to your business appointment. Our 209 well appointed rooms ensure that you are well rested to start your Toronto adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, IHG, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bloor Yorkville Hotel Toronto
Midtown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Toronto
Toronto Holiday Inn
Journeys End Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing