We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My regular hotel in Toronto”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Ranked #77 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Whenever we visit our family in Toronto (4 to 5 times a year) we stay at the Holiday Inn Bloor Yorkville. Great location, comfy beds, clean bathrooms, pleasant staff. I enjoy the Fox and Fiddle Restaurant attached to the hotel. There are several coffee houses and restaurants within walking distance also. A plus is the laundry room on the second floor!

Room Tip: So far all the rooms we have used were quiet... maybe a room away from the elevator or the ice dispe...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear KLlover,

We are so pleased to hear that we are your hotel of choice when visiting family. It is our pleasure to accommodate you anytime you are in the city.

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 612 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and two children for three nights in February, and I have to say it was pretty depressing. The hotel is old and tired, and there isn't even a breakfast buffet. The wireless worked well, and the fitness center was serviceable (although not a place you would want to linger). The bathroom was not necessarily dirty, but it felt dirty simply because it was old, and the linoleum was faded and chipped. The location is fairly good if you have business at the University of Toronto, or are interested in spending a lot of time at the Royal Ontario Museum, but I am sure you can do better for the price.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the hotel will have a view of the CN tower on the higher floors.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSU_travel_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear PSU_travel_mom,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate hearing back from our guests to see how we could manage better.

Our hotel is in need of an update, which is slated for the near future. We do however try to work our best with what we have. Our cleaning staff is very dedicated to ensuring that each room is clean, and our front desk staff work hard to keep our guests happy. The hotel does not offer a breakfast buffet, which is not a standard of Holiday Inn, but of Holiday Inn Express. The restaurant on site offers a full breakfast and there are lots of other options in the area. The fitness center on the second floor is small and just has basic equipment for the guests, but we have access to a full service gym down the street which is free for all of our guests.

The Hotel is located on Bloor West between Yorkville and the Annex. Our location is close to over 150 restaurants, 3 distinct shopping districts, and 3 museums. St. George Subway station is also right around the corner which makes travel around the city very easy.

Thank you again for taking the time to post a review and we look forward to your next visit so we can show you everything our hotel has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in March 2013.

Room was well cleaned
The tub looked like it was dirty, but upon closer inspection it was just old and worn out.
Front desk staff friendly and helpful
The room cards took several attempts to open the door and eventually de-magnetized during the trip.
Fitness center could use more updated equipment and a fan.

overall, would return, good value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaitingonaDeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Waitingonadeal,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do need some work done around the hotel, which will be happening in the near future. We apologize that your cards were not working during your stay, we should have had maintenance check the lock to make sure that it was working properly. Our fitness center is very small, with the basic essentials. We do have access to the full service gym down the street, free for all our guests to use.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we look forward to serving you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Overall, our hotel stay was fine, but there were a few issues.

Our first room had no heat and the bathroom fan did not work. The front desk manager quickly found us a room with everything in good order.

The room itself is clean, but older and could use some updating.

Although we paid to park in the garage, and gave the front desk our plate number, we received a parking ticket the first night. The front desk again resolved this problem in short order.

The restaurant's bar is shabby. There are lots of nicer places nearby.

The hotel did not have a printer capable of printing our boarding passes, a minor inconvenience.

Overall, it is a functional hotel in a great location. But don't expect a luxurious stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nekron99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Nekron99,

We appreciate that you took the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. It is very important for us to know how our guests have viewed the hotel.

We are very sorry for any inconvenience that you had during your stay with us. We try to work with our guests to help ensure that they are as comfortable as possible. It is unfortunate that the first room you were in had problems with the heating, sometimes we have mechanical issues that can not be fixed immediately, I am glad that your second room had everything working. We are definitely in need of some updates that we are looking forward to in the near future.

Our parking facility is operated by a third party and we try very hard to work with them in order to ensure that our guests do not have any problems. Unfortunately sometimes we do make mistakes which would result in a ticket. Our guests would never have to pay for a parking ticket as you have paid us directly for parking.

I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you had while staying with us. Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and we would like to make a better impression on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is an average hotel in need of continued updating. There are flat panel TVs and the queen bed was comfortable. I have always liked the Holiday Inn's practice of offering soft and firm pillows - labelled so you can more easily tell the difference. As noted in other reviews, the bathroom was dated but was very clean. The elevators were not all working and so coming up and down included longer waits than you'd have normally. My main problem was that I could not get the bedroom cool enough for sleeping. It was bitterly cold outside, I opened the window and turned the hvac fan off ( since it did not put out any cool or cold air) and still roasted all night long. We also used one of the business rooms on the second floor which was nicely equipped but very cold...unlike the sleeping rooms we had on higher floors. The front desk answered all our questions and was helpful in arranging transportation back to the airport. The private car was only $2 more than a taxi (fixed price) and well worth the price as a large 4 wheel drive vehicle was used. Great for the winter to make sure you get to the airport. Getting to the hotel from the airport was more expensive as the taxis use the meter rate, not a fixed rate. The "pub" attached to the hotel is not a very pleasant setting for breakfast but there are several good breakfast restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is away from the elevator area and on a higher floor to minimize noise.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2trvlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear 2trvlers,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate any and all feedback that we receive from our guests.

It is unfortunate that you were unable to get a comfortable temperature in your room. During the winter we have to shut down our cooling tower due to the temperatures outside. Normally opening the window would help cool down the room. On your next visit please inquire with the front desk for a fan. There are some areas of our hotel that need some updates, and we will hopefully be getting them all fixed in the near future.

As you have mentioned there are lots of breakfast choices in our neighborhood. Our front desk staff is always more than willing to help point you in the right direction.

Thank you again for your post and we look forward to seeing you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We live nearby but needed to stay in a hotel while some work was being done to our house. Since this is the closest (reasonably priced) hotel around us, we chose to stay here. We called late in the evening to book a room and were pleased with the rate. It was about half the rate of the Park Hyatt and Intercontinental, both just down the street. Since were were going to be there just to sleep, there really was no point in paying more for those nicer hotels. For the sake of this review, I would compare this hotel to other mid-range hotels, not to those other more expensive brands. With that said, the hotel offers everything you would need in a great location.

When we arrived the hotel was quite busy in the lobby with large groups. Because of the proximity to the UofT (essentially the only hotel on campus), the hotel obviously attracts a lot of convention groups and UofT visitors. This might lead to some noise in the hallways and busy elevators, but we were on the top floor and did not notice any hallway noise from our room. Perhaps ask for a quiet room if you are not part of a larger group.

One major downside was the loud vibration noise which seemed to be coming from the roof above. Perhaps this is where the exhaust equipment is located. We were tempted to go switch rooms, but once we fell asleep it didn't bother us again. Had we been there longer we may have complained and asked for a different room. FYI our room was on the 14th floor on the north facing side of the building.

Check-in was fast and easy, as was check-out. The room was moderately clean. What we mean by that is that there was garbage (dirty plastic cups, and debris) tucked in the back beside the tv stand. Because of this I would probably only rate this hotel 3.5 if the option in TripAdvisor was available.

As others have said, this hotel is tired and in need of updating. From the responses by the manager, it sounds like that is happening. If they improve their housekeeping a bit, this will make for a better hotel. If you want to be close to Yorkville without having to pay double for the higher end hotels, this is a good choice.

Since we live in the area, we will attest to the fact that there are TONS of restaurants - check out Harbord (about a 10 minute walk), Yorkville (another 10 minutes), or Bloor St for more casual places.

Room Tip: High floors are quieter - ask for a floor without convention guests
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WtoCtoTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear WtoCtoTO,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. I really appreciate the detail you put in for our guests. There were definitely some issues that we would have loved to be able to fix while you were here, like switching rooms due to noise, or sending housekeeping in to see what went wrong.

I am happy that you are a local from the area with suggestions of where to go for restaurants. Our hotel is in a great area, and we definitely have a lot of U of T business here.

I would like to thank you again for posting, and if you ever need a place to sleep again we are just around the corner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had a "girls weekend" in Toronto and stayed for three nights. We had two rooms next to each other - my mom had one room and my sister and I shared the other room. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The first night we were there, it was a little noisy because some college kids were staying on our floor; but it settled down quickly, thanks to the front desk staff. Although we didn't spend a lot of time in our rooms, they were clean, comfortable and well priced and the location was great! I would stay here again with my husband and kids.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AH-OTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear AH-OTT,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your 'girls weekend' at our hotel. It is always great to hear from our guests, especially when they have had a great time. We look forward to hosting you and your family on your next visit! Remember there is a lot to do just in our area for you and your kids.

Thank you for posting a review and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
#76 of 137 in Toronto
483 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#64 of 137 in Toronto
747 reviews
Midtown
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#18 of 137 in Toronto
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville

Address: 280 Bloor St W, Toronto, Ontario M5S 1V8, Canada (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $154 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashionably located in Toronto's upscale Yorkville area, at the historic University of Toronto, our comfortable rooms, professional staff and superb surroundings make our downtown Toronto hotel an ideal choice for business or leisure. Enjoy walking the tree lined streets to the surrounding museums or use the adjacent subway stop (St. George) to whisk you to your business appointment. Our 209 well appointed rooms ensure that you are well rested to start your Toronto adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bloor Yorkville Hotel Toronto
Midtown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Toronto
Toronto Holiday Inn
Journeys End Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing