We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Firendly front desk staff made a difference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Ranked #75 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Firendly front desk staff made a difference”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is an average hotel in need of continued updating. There are flat panel TVs and the queen bed was comfortable. I have always liked the Holiday Inn's practice of offering soft and firm pillows - labelled so you can more easily tell the difference. As noted in other reviews, the bathroom was dated but was very clean. The elevators were not all working and so coming up and down included longer waits than you'd have normally. My main problem was that I could not get the bedroom cool enough for sleeping. It was bitterly cold outside, I opened the window and turned the hvac fan off ( since it did not put out any cool or cold air) and still roasted all night long. We also used one of the business rooms on the second floor which was nicely equipped but very cold...unlike the sleeping rooms we had on higher floors. The front desk answered all our questions and was helpful in arranging transportation back to the airport. The private car was only $2 more than a taxi (fixed price) and well worth the price as a large 4 wheel drive vehicle was used. Great for the winter to make sure you get to the airport. Getting to the hotel from the airport was more expensive as the taxis use the meter rate, not a fixed rate. The "pub" attached to the hotel is not a very pleasant setting for breakfast but there are several good breakfast restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is away from the elevator area and on a higher floor to minimize noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2trvlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear 2trvlers,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate any and all feedback that we receive from our guests.

It is unfortunate that you were unable to get a comfortable temperature in your room. During the winter we have to shut down our cooling tower due to the temperatures outside. Normally opening the window would help cool down the room. On your next visit please inquire with the front desk for a fan. There are some areas of our hotel that need some updates, and we will hopefully be getting them all fixed in the near future.

As you have mentioned there are lots of breakfast choices in our neighborhood. Our front desk staff is always more than willing to help point you in the right direction.

Thank you again for your post and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    236
    184
    58
    25
See reviews for
119
119
72
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We live nearby but needed to stay in a hotel while some work was being done to our house. Since this is the closest (reasonably priced) hotel around us, we chose to stay here. We called late in the evening to book a room and were pleased with the rate. It was about half the rate of the Park Hyatt and Intercontinental, both just down the street. Since were were going to be there just to sleep, there really was no point in paying more for those nicer hotels. For the sake of this review, I would compare this hotel to other mid-range hotels, not to those other more expensive brands. With that said, the hotel offers everything you would need in a great location.

When we arrived the hotel was quite busy in the lobby with large groups. Because of the proximity to the UofT (essentially the only hotel on campus), the hotel obviously attracts a lot of convention groups and UofT visitors. This might lead to some noise in the hallways and busy elevators, but we were on the top floor and did not notice any hallway noise from our room. Perhaps ask for a quiet room if you are not part of a larger group.

One major downside was the loud vibration noise which seemed to be coming from the roof above. Perhaps this is where the exhaust equipment is located. We were tempted to go switch rooms, but once we fell asleep it didn't bother us again. Had we been there longer we may have complained and asked for a different room. FYI our room was on the 14th floor on the north facing side of the building.

Check-in was fast and easy, as was check-out. The room was moderately clean. What we mean by that is that there was garbage (dirty plastic cups, and debris) tucked in the back beside the tv stand. Because of this I would probably only rate this hotel 3.5 if the option in TripAdvisor was available.

As others have said, this hotel is tired and in need of updating. From the responses by the manager, it sounds like that is happening. If they improve their housekeeping a bit, this will make for a better hotel. If you want to be close to Yorkville without having to pay double for the higher end hotels, this is a good choice.

Since we live in the area, we will attest to the fact that there are TONS of restaurants - check out Harbord (about a 10 minute walk), Yorkville (another 10 minutes), or Bloor St for more casual places.

Room Tip: High floors are quieter - ask for a floor without convention guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WtoCtoTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear WtoCtoTO,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. I really appreciate the detail you put in for our guests. There were definitely some issues that we would have loved to be able to fix while you were here, like switching rooms due to noise, or sending housekeeping in to see what went wrong.

I am happy that you are a local from the area with suggestions of where to go for restaurants. Our hotel is in a great area, and we definitely have a lot of U of T business here.

I would like to thank you again for posting, and if you ever need a place to sleep again we are just around the corner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had a "girls weekend" in Toronto and stayed for three nights. We had two rooms next to each other - my mom had one room and my sister and I shared the other room. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The first night we were there, it was a little noisy because some college kids were staying on our floor; but it settled down quickly, thanks to the front desk staff. Although we didn't spend a lot of time in our rooms, they were clean, comfortable and well priced and the location was great! I would stay here again with my husband and kids.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AH-OTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear AH-OTT,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your 'girls weekend' at our hotel. It is always great to hear from our guests, especially when they have had a great time. We look forward to hosting you and your family on your next visit! Remember there is a lot to do just in our area for you and your kids.

Thank you for posting a review and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Holiday Inn Bloor Yorkville isn't going to offer any surprises for those familiar with the HI chain - it's your standard Holiday Inn hotel in the center (or centre in Canada) of a big city. And that's just fine.
The hotel is located in the north end of downtown Toronto, between the upscale shopping of Bloor Street/Yorkville and the lively eclecticism of the Annex neighborhood that adjoins the University of Toronto campus. It's a half-block (cut through the driveway) from the St. George subway station, giving you access to the TTC's Yonge-University-Spadina and Bloor-Danforth subway lines.
Its lobby is small and calming, with an attractive seating area. Check-in was quick and pleasant.
My queen single was a decent size, and featured the standard earth-tone color scheme. It was chain-hotel comfortable and generic, but I don't think anyone checks into a Holiday Inn expecting boutique hotel chic. The work desk was fine, the bed was comfortable and everything was clean. The large flat-screen TV had a good selection of channels.
Wi-Fi access (at a basic speed level) was included for free, with the option to pay for speedier access. The basic level was fine for my purposes.
The bathroom was also a decent size, though the Porcelain Princess was a bit on the smallish side. Holiday Inn bath products all smell like Pina Coladas, but they're decent.
Toronto is one of the world's most multicultural cities, with a dizzying variety of multiculti dining experiences available, so I didn't bother with room service or the bar/restaurant in the hotel lobby. Just a few blocks to the west in the Annex, there's plenty of relatively cheap eats from around the globe -- sushi, Tibetan, Indian, Middle Eastern, Jamaican, Korean etc etc, along with more generic burger joints, sports bar/grills and coffee houses. A few blocks to the east are the expensive restaurants of Yorkville.
The Holiday Inn is across the street from the Bata Shoe Museum, and the fantastic Royal Ontario Museum is a few blocks (or one subway stop) away.

Room Tip: Higher floor, with a view over Bloor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michiganmarlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Michiganmarlon,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review here on Trip Advisor. It seems that you really got the chance to explore our neighborhood. We are very lucky to be located around so many great things and I thank you for sharing that with our readers.

Thank you again for posting and we look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Walking distance to high end Bloor St shopping , the Royal Ontario Museum ( ROM) which is well worth a visit,and subway. Friendly and helpful staff. A surprisingly great value for a prime location. A free Saturday Globe and Mail and not bad coffee in the pub next door were a bonus!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Micjanmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear MicJanMontreal,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. It is great when guests are able to enjoy the simple things we have to offer, in such a great location.

Thank you for posting here on Trip Advisor and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great location..easy walk to Yonge st, Sport bar connected the Fox and Hound was a good place to watch the hockey game...the staff was very helpful, my room was not bad but not great.

I would go back if I was back in Toronto again, lots a places to eat near by.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeltaRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear DeltaRoadWarrior,

We are please to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the restaurant. As you mentioned we have lots of places around us to enjoy any type of food. We are located within walking distance to many things and the subway is right around the corner.

We look forward to you visiting Toronto again and thank you for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gman305
Level Contributor
121 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel was okay, not great. It is in need of some updates. The carpets in the hallways (on at least 2 floors) are all buckled and either need to be stretched or replaced. The rooms while ok, are dated. I found mine was not very clean - hair in the bathroom, dust in the vents, and hairdryer had a lot of lint. My drain in the bathroom sink was very slow to drain - kind of gross. The room had a fridge, but they had it unplugged... I didnt realize this until too late. I found it hard to find plugs to charging devices and connecting my notebook pc at the desk.

Bed was good. Okay stay, but would not be my top choice in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael330055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear gman305,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review here on Trip Advisor. I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Our team here works hard to ensure that each guest has a great stay, unfortunately we dropped the ball.

Our hotel is in need of some updates, which we are hoping to receive in the near future. We have begun with minor things like our televisions and mattresses. Our ideal location and friendly staff help make this hotel great.

We would love to discuss your experience further and invite you to contact us directly at 416 968-0010 or email us at cn312@whg.com.

Thank you again for your post, and we look forward to creating a better second impression in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#65 of 136 in Toronto
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
#78 of 136 in Toronto
466 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#16 of 136 in Toronto
1,695 reviews
Midtown
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville

Property: Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Address: 280 Bloor St W, Toronto, Ontario M5S 1V8, Canada (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashionably located in Toronto's upscale Yorkville area, at the historic University of Toronto, our comfortable rooms, professional staff and superb surroundings make our downtown Toronto hotel an ideal choice for business or leisure. Enjoy walking the tree lined streets to the surrounding museums or use the adjacent subway stop (St. George) to whisk you to your business appointment. Our 209 well appointed rooms ensure that you are well rested to start your Toronto adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bloor Yorkville Hotel Toronto
Midtown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Toronto
Toronto Holiday Inn
Journeys End Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing