We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Ranked #74 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
london, ontario, canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stay here frequently on business.

Subway access to both lines is about 100 meters away. A 3 block walk to the trendy shops and restaurants of Yorkville.

There's a nice pub in the hotel called The Red Fox. Local beer on tap is a pilsener called "Steamwhistle". You call tour the brewery located near the CN tower.

Ample and reasonably priced parking in the underground garage--but leave your car and buy day or weekend passes for the subway.

http://www.ttc.ca/Fares_and_passes/Passes/Day_Pass/index.jsp

Courteous staff, well-maintained, and quiet rooms (free from hallway and outside traffic).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bearvest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our hotel on your visits to Toronto. We are very lucky to be in such a great area for all of our guests to enjoy!

You have provided our guests with some very useful tips! If you are not already a member, you should look into becoming a Priority Club Member and earn points while you sleep!

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and we will see you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    228
    180
    55
    22
See reviews for
115
117
68
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, Sd
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We found the location easy to access albeit with the help of Garmin. Seemed a very good compromise between downtown bluster and too far out into the outlying city. Very good access to subway barely half a block accross a non-major street. Easy walking distance to ROM and a fine breakfast place (see separatey). The room was very nice and the staff extremely accommodating and helpful. Secure underground parking if you have a vehicle was very handy although at a pricel still felt it was worthwhile. We (my wife and I ) puzzled over the map and info from this and other sites, and have to say we could not have made much of a better choice for improvement. Only clear downside was that the street level bar and eatery was almost unbearable, which was the only serious black eye keeping us from giving this property a 5 rating.

Room Tip: Go for a higher room, say above 6th floor (we were on 10); virtually no street noise but still facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review here on Trip Advisor. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy our local area!

Our hotel is ideally located in the Bloor/Yorkville area of Toronto, and we are happy to boast that there are over 150 restaurants and cafes within a short walk from our hotel. With the subway almost right next door to us you can explore the rest of the City without every having to go very far! It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed our city, and we look forward to making sure every visit to Toronto is an enjoyable one.

Thank you again for your post!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went to a conference This past weekend and cannot say enough nice things about this property,especially the staff.Location is perfect close to Subway and shopping and most important to me a Starbucks. Stay here if you are in Toronto

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ticon2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
It is so great to hear that you enjoyed staying with us during your conference.

We are glad to hear that our staff made an impression on you, it is very important for us that we deliver great customer service. As you have mentioned there is a Starbucks just down the street from us, there are also many other great cafes and restaurants for our guests to enjoy!

We look forward to your next visit with us, and thank you again for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, TN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a very well maintained property within a block or so of a subway station serving two lines. The parking garage is easy to access and reasonably priced for downtown in a big city. Two front desk managers went out of their way to help us when there was a problem with our reservation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. It is always great to hear when a guest has enjoyed their stay with us.

It is especially nice to hear that our management team was there to help you with your reservation. We do take time to make sure that everyone's stay goes on with out a hitch but we would like to thank you for acknowledging them.

In the future please feel free to call the hotel directly so that we can confirm any reservation details with you. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at the Holiday Inn in Bloor Yorkville for a couple days while the edge of hurricane Sandy was lashing Toronto with high winds. Check in was good, friendly and efficient.

The room was a good size. Typical setup with a desk, bed and dresser for the flat screen TV. Closet was pretty small like a broom closet but enough for what I needed. Wouldn't have worked well if I had a hanging garment bag.

Washroom was also quite large. Lots of counter space. Shower/bath was good and had the curved shower rod that I like to have so the shower curtain doesn't stick to you as you shower. Water pressure and temperature were all good.

The rooms were relatively quiet. I was on the fifth floor and even during the windstorm (and it was severe outside) it was quiet enough.

As for the location. It is definitely in a good area. It's near the U of T annex so there's a lot of stuff near it. Across the driveway is a news/convenience store and down the street in either direction are any number of different restaurants. Tried a Thai place called Real Thai west of the hotel that was okay. There's even a grilled cheese place across from the hotel.

The reason I gave it an average score is not since it's a bad hotel it's just needs a lot of updating. From the reception to the rooms it's just a bit tired. I had just stayed the night before near the airport at a newer (4 years old) Hilton Garden Inn so it just amplified the differences. The lighting is just too low and the opposite of vibrant. It's not a bad property but I would only stay there for the location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank warmhappyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your great review on Trip Advisor. It is very helpful to know what our guests experience throughout their entire stay. We definitely had some rough weather while you were here, and I am glad that it didn't affect you to bad.

As you have mentioned we are in a great location with so much to do around us. With restaurants, shopping, and museums all in our neighborhood there is almost no reason to go anywhere else. If you do decided to travel the rest of the city, it is just a short walk to St. George Subway station.

Our hotel is on the way to getting some updates. As you noticed during your stay we have just received all brand new flat screen TV's. We are also in the process of getting all new mattresses. It is a long process but change is happening.

Thank you again for your review here on Trip Advisor. We will see you again on your next visit to the City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I decided to stay at this hotel because of its location. Moments away from restaurants at Bloor Street West. Near by to Subway Station, Royal Ontario Museum. If you prefer to walk, you may also walk to Casa Loma which is not very far from this hotel. The hotel on the other hand requires an upgrade as in it has the same old bulky TV's. Though during my stay they had started to upgrade to LCD's. The sight seeing bus passes right in front of the hotel, very closely located to University of Toronto, another reason this area is quite lively. Excellent location, a slight upgrade (which I believe they've started) is needed.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room on 12th & 14th floor. These rooms are bigger and are available at the same p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aajolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience at our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate any and all feed back from our guests.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed to local area around our hotel. As you have mentioned there is so much going on around us. We are located walking distance from many Toronto gems.

We have started to do some upgrading, especially with the old TV's in our hotel. They are now replaced with a brand new flat screen model. A few other upgrades are scheduled for the near future. We look forward to serving you in the future, and would like to thank you once again for you post on Trip Advisor.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Large comfortable room, very close to subway and only a short walk from ROM. I thought it was a little basic for the price, no safe (despite one being in room description) or fridge in room, and air conditioning that didn't work - possibly switched off as it was late in the year, but not a problem as we were high up and the windows opened. Room was a little dated - quite a while since I have seen a CRT TV in a hotel room, but well furnished for business or leisure use.

No restaurant or bar, but a very tacky "pub" sports bar off the lobby - serves food, but very much in the style of a downmarket UK pub chain. Plenty of places nearby to eat so not a problem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OhWhyCantIHaveMyName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We love to hear when a guest has enjoyed their stay at our hotel. These posts really help us know what guests would like to see changed.

We are pleased to announce that our televisions have been replaced with brand new flat screen models, which are bigger than our old televisions. You were spot on when you mentioned that the air conditioner was shut off. In fall we have to shut down the unit as the weather drops very low at night, we regain full use in spring. Our hotel is equipped with windows that open that helps keep the room at a reasonable temperature.

We are in a great location with lots to offer. The ROM and Bata shoe museums are easily accessible just a short walk from the hotel. There are also over 150 restaurant choices located within walking distance from our front doors.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor, and we look forward to having you back in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Midtown
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#14 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#67 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Midtown
Windsor Arms Hotel
Windsor Arms Hotel
#38 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville

Property: Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Address: 280 Bloor Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5S 1V8, Canada (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashionably located in Toronto's upscale Yorkville area, at the historic University of Toronto, our comfortable rooms, professional staff and superb surroundings make our downtown Toronto hotel an ideal choice for business or leisure. Enjoy walking the tree lined streets to the surrounding museums or use the adjacent subway stop (St. George) to whisk you to your business appointment. Our 209 well appointed rooms ensure that you are well rested to start your Toronto adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bloor Yorkville Hotel Toronto
Midtown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Toronto
Toronto Holiday Inn
Journeys End Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing