We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for University of Toronto visitors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Ranked #74 of 134 Hotels in Toronto
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great location for University of Toronto visitors”
Reviewed March 15, 2008

My colleagues and I stayed at the hotel on a business trip to the University of Toronto which is a short walk away. Although the rooms are a getting a little shabby they are quite spacious. The internet connection in the room was good (and free!). There are two computer terminals in the lobby with printers but these are always in use so don't planning on printing at the last minute. The pub where breakfast is served is okay - the menu offers mostly eggs and fried potato so gets a bit boring after a few days. The hotel staff take a while to warm up - they could barely say hello when we arrived but were very hospitable when we left! Great location - close to subway, shops, museums, and cafes serving good Asian food. Would recommend to travelling academics and students.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Malingshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    235
    184
    56
    25
See reviews for
119
118
71
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2007

Having been to Toronto a number of times in the past, I knew which areas I wanted to stay in - but the challenge was finding a hotel at a good price.

The Holiday Inn on Bloor Street did the job perfectly. The reception was OK, the room was OK, but the location was perfect - just 5 or 10 minutes away from Yong St, Bay St and the University.

I would definitely stay here again - and probably will do on my next trip to Toronto.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — There was nothing bad about it
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DevaEboracum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2007

We stayed here for three night in sept 07 and found the room to be clean, comfortable and a reasonble size. Being part of a chain it's similar to rooms in any other Holiday Inn.

Daily parking fee was $22 - seemed slightly high but the wifi was free in the rooms (and there's a couple of computers for customer use in the lobby too).

Room service was reasonably priced and the food was good. Breakfast however wasn't great.

Excellent location for the nearby fancy stores.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank silvertone953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaD8
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

After reading reviews I was a little hesitant to book this hotel for our business/pleasure trip to Toronto. I was pleasantly surprised to find the rooms were a descent size and in good condition for a hotel of its age. It was in a great location surrounded by Starbucks, shops, restaurants, convenience stores. I was also very nervous after friends led us to believe Toronto was such an unsafe area, but I truly felt comfortable in the location where the Holiday Inn was. In addition, there was a great little bar in the lobby that was pretty popular with the young locals.
A few touristy sites we enjoyed – going up to to the top of the CN Tower and a boat tour of the harbour and Toronto islands.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SamanthaD8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton le Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

Stayed here with my husband in Sept 2007 for two nights as part of a driving holiday around New England and Eastern Canada.

Where do I start? The staff member who checked us in was not very welcoming. We were given room 309, which was above the gym and next to the ice dispenser, both of which were noisy during the night, so much so that I got up and yanked the plug for the ice maker out of the plug socket just to reduce the noise. The room smelt musty and so did the pillows and sheets on the beds. The bathroom hadn’t been cleaned fully and the towels were stained. For breakfast there is a ‘pub’ on the ground flour which serves the usual potatoes with everything. Its OK if you are used to greasy cafes.

The only good thing about the hotel is its location, near to the metro station and the Ontario Museum. (Warning about this museum its not fully completed, so a lot of the exhibitions are closed, in particular the well publicised dinosaurs, and we were not told about this when we bought the tickets).

Overall I would not recommend this hotel.

(P.S. Do not go to the 360 Restaurant in the CN tower as the food is awful – how can salmon not taste of salmon? Just go to the tower for the views instead)

(Saving grace in Toronto was a restaurant called Morton’s on The Avenue, great service and the best steaks we’ve ever tasted!)

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank teakytick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Toronto hotels

Skipton, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2007

Just got back from a short break in Canada. The Holiday Inn midtown was our base in Toronto.

We had a suite on the 12th floor - essentially, this is just a standard room with the addition of a small lounge area with it's own TV. The cost is not much more than a standard room however so it is actually worth it to have a little bit more space.

The reception staff were extremely friendly, even calling up to the room after we had settled in to make sure everything was to our satisfaction.

We ate breakfast and one evening meal at the Fox and Fiddle pub which is part of the hotel. This represented reasonable food and good value for money. It's a chain pub - if I had to give it a UK comparison, I'd say akin to a Brewer's Fayer. It's good for the convenience and value, but suffice to say, in a multi-cultural city like Toronto, there are better places to eat.

The location of the hotel is excellent. I was a little concerned at first that we were a little bit out of the way, however this turned out to be a blessing. The area around the hotel was a bustling neighbourhood but quieter than downtime. Didn't see any beggars or homeless folks in this neighbourhood. The hotel is very convenient for the Subway which is just round the corner on St Georges street giving access to both north/south and east/west trains. We also walked all the way down to the waterfront one day via Yonge Street. It is a long walk and took us around half an hour but walking is the best way to see the attractions of this wonderful city.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sonofagunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2007

Excellent room and extremely helpful service from front desk staff.
Overall, great value.
Bad experience at the 'Express Cafe' immediately downstairs though. Although the cafe is not officially part of the hotel, the menu is in the package in your room and the cafe does use the hotel's washrooms. I would advise avoiding this place. When we visited for breakfast, the plastic menus were covered in grease and really old food residue, the tables hadn't been cleaned although it wasn't that busy and there were staff doing nothing behind the counter, and the breakfast itself was the worst I've experienced in Toronto ( half cooked, half cold, inedible). Needless to say, wishing to avoid the possibility of salmonella, we left sharpish.

  • Liked — Room and service
  • Disliked — Downstairs cafe
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank EdinburghGreyhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Midtown
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#15 of 134 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#65 of 134 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Downtown
Windsor Arms Hotel
Windsor Arms Hotel
#39 of 134 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville

Property: Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Address: 280 Bloor St W, Toronto, Ontario M5S 1V8, Canada (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashionably located in Toronto's upscale Yorkville area, at the historic University of Toronto, our comfortable rooms, professional staff and superb surroundings make our downtown Toronto hotel an ideal choice for business or leisure. Enjoy walking the tree lined streets to the surrounding museums or use the adjacent subway stop (St. George) to whisk you to your business appointment. Our 209 well appointed rooms ensure that you are well rested to start your Toronto adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bloor Yorkville Hotel Toronto
Midtown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Toronto
Toronto Holiday Inn
Journeys End Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing