We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Ranked #77 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Holiday Inn Bloor is very definitely in need of a few upgrades. Start with old tube TV's with dodgey remotes. Then move on to some worn carpet here and there. But all-in-all it is a clean property with friendly staff. Comfy pillow-top mattresses a nice plus. But as others have said the location cannot be beat. Metro stop just around the corner. Bata Shoe Museum (not to be missed) directly across street. Royal Ontario Museum (another not to be missed) just a couple blocks away. Right in the midst of the university, as one would expect, there is a wide array of restaurants and shops. And for those of you exercise junkies and jocks: the hotel gym is not worth the walk to the 2nd floor. BUT the desk will give you a free pass to a fitness center one block away in the Jewish Community Center. There is a complete selection of free weights, machines and cardio.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back to avoid street noise.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmarq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for your great review here on Trip Advisor. We are always pleased to hear that a guest has enjoyed our location.

As you have mentioned we are close to many things, and also close to the subway. Our fitness room in the hotel is not huge and is good for a quick workout, but the full service gym at the community centre and salt water pool is a great option for a more intense workout, OR a swim. Our televisions are being replaced this upcoming Monday, September 24, with brand new flat screens. We look forward to having the pleasure of hosting you again in the future.

Thanks,
Doug Read, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

395 - 401 of 613 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

We loved the location for this hotel by the university and several museums (most notably the Royal Ontario Museum). Also there was a small grocery store across the street which worked great for our family. But the hotel is very old and outdated. Rooms small and cramped with old fixtures and TV. Our tub was clean but looked dirty due to stains.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kallie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy our local area during your stay with us. We have so much to offer right at our doorstep.

Our rooms are going to be going through a few updates, starting with new televisions on Monday, September 24. We will be receiving all new flat screen televisions. Also, our bathtubs are slated for resurfacing due to the fact that many are experiencing a separation of the non-slip film that was previously put down. We work hard to keep our building clean and inviting for all of our guests. Thank you for your review here on Trip Advisor and we look forward to your next stay at our hotel.

Thanks,
Doug Read, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Large, comfortable room; heavenly sturdy mattress; soft and firm pillows identified to ensure a good nights sleep. Very conveniently located close to the metro, the University of Toronto and a range of shops and restaurants. The front reception staff are very welcoming and ready to help with exploring Toronto. Two free internet access computers in the lobby. Parking is available at a reasonable price. Great value. Can't beat the location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We love to hear when a guest has been able to enjoy their stay with us, and their trip to Toronto. Our staff try very hard to help every guest have an amazing time. We eagerly look forward to your return, and thank you again for posting on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

As a Platinum Ambassador member of the IHG group of hotels, I decided to stay for 3 nights at this hotel during my first trip of 3 days in Toronto. To be fair, the hotel reception staff were very pleasant and friendly on check in and keen to help with any maps and directions. I booked a "Business Executive" room on the 11th floor which, whilst clean, was very small and doors and walls were paper thin, bathroom towels worn and thin. Internet was free which was a bonus. On the first night (Saturday) i was woken up at 2am by a noisy commotion in the room next door where things were being thrown about and loud swear words being shouted for at least 1 hour.This did scare my wife and I did call reception to complain but nothing happened. This was then followed at 3am by about 10 people arriving from a drunken night out and then proceeded to keep all their room doors open whilst they mingled between rooms. Sunday and Monday nights were alot quieter. Due to the cost and the location this hotel is obviously used by the people attending Batchelor Parties, Weddings etc at the weekend. Location wise, this hotel is in easy walking distance to most downtown attractions (20+ mins to CN Tower) and about 10 mins+ to most of the "blingy" nightspots. However, the restaurant called Bar Mercurio which is about 20 yards from the hotel is probably an excellent choice with good food and an extensive wine list (see my review of this also). If you have a choice, make sure your room at hotel does not face towards the main road........can get noisy with traffic (and avoid a saturday).

Room Tip: Book room facing away from main road.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DB_Cooper_inHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all reviews from our guests so we can work to achieve our high goals of excellence. It is unfortunate that your first night at our hotel was tainted by a restless night; we would like to apologize for this inconvenience. I would like to assure you that we do not condone this behavior from our guests and we work very hard to keep the noise levels to an absolute minimum. Being in such a vibrant area does bring in the occasional “party rooms” which we are quick to inform that we are a family hotel. Our night staff does their best to respond quickly and efficiently to any and all guest inquiries. It is great to hear that you did enjoy the rest of your with us and in Toronto. We appreciate your loyalty as a Platinum member and we look forward to serving you in the future. Thank you again for posting a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Toronto is a world-class city: it balances the quick-paced bustle of a business hub with the charm, style, and excitement of the world's most multi-ethnic places--the restaurants, neighbourhoods, green spaces, and architecture reflect a particularly exciting and enjoyable place to visit, and indeed in which to live (and to live well).

That said, urban Canada is becoming more and more expensive--and its city-centres more and more exclusive, with far more pricey than reasonable hotels to be found in Toronto's best spots for visitors.

Fortunately, this particular hotel is reasonably priced (if you pay less than $150 per night), and it enjoys a stellar location on Bloor Street (Toronto's Fifth Avenue of sorts), within the leafy and relaxed St George/University district, close to excellent and cheap cafés but also on the doorsteps of the city's outstanding Royal Ontario Museum, fun Bata Shoe Museum, fine shopping (and bohemian shopping), good bookstores (remember those?), and an enjoyable walk to the Art Gallery of Ontario. It's also close to Chinatown (Spadina Avenue), which all visitors to Toronto must visit--the food, shops, people, are great fun. St George subway is on the doorstep, which is hugely convenient if you plan to attend a hockey game, need a cheap route to the airport (via bus from Union Station), or if you need to get to the financial centre.

A reliable grocery-store is directly across the street; Whole Foods in a 10-min walk. There is a 24-hr Tim Hortons café 150 metres down the street.

The hotel building is around 40 years old: it is functional, not luxurious, but quiet and entirely nonsmoking. The staff are excellent: helpful, knowledgeable, with a good sense of humour. The rooms are clean; with two double beds that are firm with soft sheets, quiet central AC, and nice bathrooms. We are two adults with two kids (5 and 8) and are comfortable. Furniture and carpet are a bit on the tired side, but for this price at this location, that's not an issue. Daily housekeeping is very good and the staff like to smile. Wireless broadband is FREE (well done, Holiday Inn), and there are free-use terminals and printers in the lobby. Parking is priced fairly at $22 per day: it's indoors and within the building--highly desirable given this fantastic city's extreme climate.

The rooms don't have fridges, but there is a ice-machine; there's no swimming-pool but the parks have fountains for kids. Not flat-panel TVs, but hey we're not here to watch telly. The hotel delivers the national newspaper to every room every morning. Remember: this is an ideal location and we're recommending it at $150 per night.

We will definitely stay here again--all around a very smart choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face Bloor Street (it's a gray office building across the road); av...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

It is always fantastic to hear when a guest enjoyed their stay at our hotel and in Toronto. Our hotel is ideally located for any type of traveler, with easy access to transit and so much right the door step you will definitely find something to do. Just so you know for your future stays, we have purchased all new flat screen televisions and are just waiting for the furniture. Hopefully by the next time you visit we will have everything in place! Thank you again for your wonderful review, and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

You really can't beat the location -- right on Bloor, with the high-end shopping of Yorkville and the trendy restaurants, shops and cafes of the Annex right at your doorstep. This is a very decent hotel, with all the amenities you need and none of the frills that you don't. Service was efficient and friendly, the beds are super comfortable, and the rates are reasonable.

Sure, it may not have flat-screen TVs or the most updated decor around, but it's plenty nice and clean. This isn't a fancy hotel, so it doesn't have a lot of extras, but with the whole city at your doorstep, who cares? It's also conveniently around the corner from the subway (St. George Station).

The one thing I wish this hotel had was a mini-fridge in the rooms, since I took half my dinner out with me and had nowhere to store it so I ended up having to throw it out.

Other than that, though, this is a great place to stay when in Toronto for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank segacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for posting this great review on Trip Advisor. We love to hear when a guest has enjoyed their stay. Our hotel has recently purchased all new flat screen TV’s for the guest rooms, we are just eagerly awaiting the final touches to put them in. We also have the option of adding a fridge in the room, just ask the front desk for details. Our hotel is in a wonderful area for all of our guests, and it is great that you took advantage of that. On your next visit be sure to ask the front desk for any “extras” that we might have available to help make your stay more comfortable. Thanks again for the great review and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My and my BFF stayed at The Holiday Inn Bloor for two nights (7/18 & 7/19), and when we checked in, at around noon, the first man behind the desk we spoke to, a man of Indian descent, told us "you get whatever you get" when you book a hotel via Priceline, when we requested two double beds. He then proceeded to tell us, in the same breath, that they were sold out, he'd have to give us queen, but would switch us to two doubles for an additional $15 per night. We then left and came back later, and I used their free internet right there in the lobby to confirm that they weren't sold out and that two double beds is cheaper than a queen! We spoke to another person and gave us what we requested without a problem. In fact, the manager of the hotel was extremely helpful when my friend accidentally locked her car keys in the trunk, and found us a locksmith who came right away. The hotel is quiet and the beds very comfortable. Just be sure to wear your sneakers, as you will walk a lot (unless you wanna pay $3.00 for the bus and subway). Water pressure/shower was great, everything was very clean. Great hotel . . . just avoid that Indian guy when checking in!

Room Tip: Avoid being placed by the ice machine, if you can help it (rooms ending in 04 on some of the floors...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

We are very sorry to hear about your encounter with our front desk. Most third party reservations come through as a standard room, which would indicate that it would be for whatever is available. However, we weren’t sold out of those rooms and could have given you one with no hassle. The $15.00 charge comes into effect when the price for two beds is higher than your original reservation. We are very sorry for the inconvenience and confusion at the front desk. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and our Manager was able to assist you with your dilemma. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we are looking forward to your next visit to Toronto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
#78 of 137 in Toronto
483 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#64 of 137 in Toronto
749 reviews
Midtown
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#18 of 137 in Toronto
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville

Address: 280 Bloor St W, Toronto, Ontario M5S 1V8, Canada (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $153 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashionably located in Toronto's upscale Yorkville area, at the historic University of Toronto, our comfortable rooms, professional staff and superb surroundings make our downtown Toronto hotel an ideal choice for business or leisure. Enjoy walking the tree lined streets to the surrounding museums or use the adjacent subway stop (St. George) to whisk you to your business appointment. Our 209 well appointed rooms ensure that you are well rested to start your Toronto adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bloor Yorkville Hotel Toronto
Midtown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Toronto
Toronto Holiday Inn
Journeys End Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing