We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-business trip weekend stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Ranked #70 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Hamphire UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pre-business trip weekend stopover”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

At c.£1000 less to fly out from LHR with Air Canada on the Saturday rather than the Sunday this was a no brainer additional night stay in Toronto prior to an early start on the Monday for work. HIE Toronto Downtown was a well priced stay, with an efficient check in/check out from consistently pleasant and efficient staff, a couple of reasonable breakfasts thrown in, fast free wi-fi internet connection, good sized room, decent shower and comfortable bed. What else would you need? Quiet courtyard lobby off the main road, parking adjacent, and a pretty good view enhanced by the unseasonable late Sept. sunshine. Easy enough to walk around the city center or down to Lake Ontario from here. First stay in this HIE but would use again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atrebate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our services to be helpful and useful. I will sure to share your comments, with my guest services team. I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.
Thank you,
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    555
    304
    103
    63
See reviews for
288
440
99
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Very nice clean hotel. Rooms are very spacious, 2 double beds. Our room was near the top of the tower so we had great views of the downtown area.
About a 5 minute walk from the main shopping centre. If you like shopping you must visit this centre, it's the size of a small city.
close to all other things to do in Toronto and very close to lots of great resturants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. Our location is such that you are within a short distance to the many great venues that Toronto has to offer and close enough to the subway system to get you to the other spots. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write about us and I would like to personally welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown for any of your future visits to our fair city.
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel is so conveniently located, I can hardly believe it! Just a few paces takes you to the subway system, which can get you just about anywhere in the city. It was only a short walk to the Winter Garden Theatre, where I saw a favourite speaker. I haven't used my car since I arrived here! I'm sad to say my stay here was only for two days. I would absolutely come back here! Great hotel, great service, wonderful restaurants in the building and very close by. And a Starbucks at the entrance which serves their special Clover style coffee. The best EVER!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to book theatre tickets, because everything is so close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buckyboyincanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown and would like to thank you for leaving a glowing review. It is very rewarding to read comments like yours since our main goal is to exceed guests' expectations. We continue working on innovation, being authentic and original, and most important in satisfying our customers every time. Once again thank you for taking the time to write and tell us about your stay with us and we look forward to seeing again when you get the chance to visit our fair city.
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I spent 5 nights with family from 11-Sept-2013 in this Hotel. Room rate for 3-adults was very attractive. I couldn't find better rate in all downtown Toronto hotels. If you add the Free breakfast and Free WiFi and the Location then it is a real win deal. Reception staff and Houskeeping services were outstanding. It is an econcomy level of Holiday Inn Series. Breakfast room is small and room is just adequate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and tells us about your stay. I am pleased that you and your guests enjoyed your time in Toronto and that our staffs were able to accommodate your needs. The complimentary breakfast buffet is truly a great added bonus and with the many choices is continuously changing to provide more selections to meet the needs of all of our guests. Once again thank you for taking the time to write you comments. Hopefully we will be able to host your next visit to Toronto.
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel is located in a place that is at walking distance from all attraction in downtown such as Eaton center, CN tower , china town, kensington market etc
Rooms were spacious and very cleen
Nice breakfast included
Front desk people are verry helpfull and are ready to give tips about all kind of attraction
I had a problem to print my boarding card at the computer in the loby and the guy at the front desk helped and explained how to operate their system
Absolutelly a goo place to stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DK5179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for have been writing and have been sharing your comments. I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team services and facilities. I certainly know my colleagues will be equally pleased to know their efforts are making a memorable stay for you. We will share your comments with our team. Again, I thank you for taking the time to submit a review and look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Good, clean rooms. Smells great. Breakfast is great. Location is great - you can walk to Eaton Centre, The Market and Union Station. What makes this hotel so fantastic is the customer service! Absolutely flawless. Better than some 5 star hotels we've stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your kind review which you posted on Trip Advisor. It makes me very proud to receive such great feedback from you - especially your kind comments about one of my associates. Our associates are our asset and we are very proud to have such great individuals working for us that make the difference! Thanks again for your great comments and please do visit us soon again!
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
245 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I would agree with other reviews that the hotel is dated and the elevators are slow. The location is a bit of a walk to some of the major attractions and the breakfast is above just above average.

I was at the hotel with family for 6 days and the staff accommodated a room change request, directions to local attractions and extra pillow requests with smiles and a helpful attitude. They made our stay great.

The hotel is close to three amazing churches and the metro line, it was very easy for us to get around from this hotel. The neighborhood was quiet at night, we all slept well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We truly appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you so much for your really great review. We appreciate the business and hope to see you again soon!
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#57 of 136 in Toronto
2,607 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#79 of 136 in Toronto
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#45 of 136 in Toronto
2,085 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 136 in Toronto
1,020 reviews
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#38 of 136 in Toronto
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Address: 111 Lombard Street, Toronto, Ontario M5C 2T9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart in Our Hotel in Toronto, Ontario You'll enjoy an ideal location at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel - Downtown Toronto. Our hotel's location is near Pearson International Airport (YYZ), Toronto Island Airport (YTZ), Toronto Union Train Station and the underground shopping/walking paths, which makes it easy to navigate Toronto.Lodging here puts you in close proximity to famous attractions like the Hockey Hall of Fame and Distillery Historic District. Toronto is also home to Eastern Canada's largest shopping mall, Eaton Centre, which is within walking distance of the hotel.Toronto, Ontario's government buildings, the Queen¿s Park and Provincial Parliament are nearby, as well as First Canadian Place, BCE Place, Sears, Ryerson University, Saint Michael's Hospital and other businesses in downtown Toronto. Our hotel's amenities include a 24-hour Business Service to help you complete your work.Unlike other hotels in Toronto, our hotel offers multiple complimentary services: a hot breakfast bar, high-speed Internet access in every room, a daily newspaper and local calls. Each room is outfitted with a triple-sheeted bed, a cable TV, a work area with two phones and a bathroom with specially designed amenities. Our downtown Toronto hotel's staff looks forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing