We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not overlook this one.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Ranked #71 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Went to see the Leafs play on a Tues eve and we had decided to stay downtown so that a long commute was not in store after the game. It only takes about 20 min to walk to the ACC from the hotel and even less of a walk to find a great bar or restaurant.
Breakfast was better than average and staff were very friendly
.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fireguy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown Hotel and would like to thank you for leaving a nice review. We will look forward to your next stay with us.
Thank you
Tariq Azad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

709 - 715 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

All the usual features of a HI Express - efficient check-in, great buffet breakfast, guest laundry, large spacious suite. We also scored a room on a higher floor with great views over the church and out to Lake Ontario.
An easy walk from Union Station although construction works EVERYWHERE in this city. We were able to walk to the nearby Eaton Mall and CN tower - although it was sunny, it was -6 degrees ( no wonder there are all those underground malls and walkways !! ). Toronto reminded us very much of Melbourne, with its blend of Victorian architecture and high-rise, and it's trams!!.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Gotigers80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you taking the time to write such a nice review of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests are pleased with their accommodation while staying with us. Our location is truly a gem as we are within walking distance to much of what Toronto has to offer and close enough to our city’s public transportation system to get you any where without the stress of driving.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for any of your future visits to our great city.
Tariq Azad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

After reading other recent reviews of this hotel, I would have to say that it was just as I expected it to be based on those reviews, and that made for a great trip.

As others have mentioned, the hotel decor is outdated and is in need of updating in terms of style, but other than that, the rooms are fine. When we first got up to our room on the 10th floor, we smelled smoke (we had asked for a non-smoking room). My husband went back to the desk to ask for a new room after explaining our issue, and we were immediately given a room upstairs one floor - a fresh-smelling room. Who's to say that the last person in the room didn't just decide to smoke in the room, even if it was labelled as non-smoking, just before we got there? It's a possibility, and since we were moved to a new room without any trouble, we were happy.

We were traveling with our one-year old son and wanted a place for him to sleep. They provided us with a somewhat-old playpen (two mesh sides, mesh all the way down to the bottom). I had hoped for an actual crib of sorts, but this was our first time to travel with our baby so we didn't know what to expect. We brought our own fitted crib sheet cover which we used in the playpen since they had just folded up a bedsheet in there. We were worried that our active son would bury his face in the covers so using our own sheet, we felt fine about him sleeping in there. There seemed to be a bit of a hard bottom to the thing. I think an actual crib would be better and more comfortable for him.

Our room was clean and we had a view of St. James Park by the hotel. The bathroom was sparkling and bright and had what you want - a couple of bars of soap, the typical shampoo and conditioner, and towels for all 3 of us. They also had plastic cups, so if you're a hard-core environmentalist, you might not like this fact. As a person who has stayed in many, many hotels in many countries and had dirty glass cups in bathrooms before, I appreciated getting a clean plastic cup to use.

The free breakfast was good. Scrambled eggs and bacon one day as part of the hot meal, and cheese omelettes and sausage the next. There were plenty of bagels, pieces of bread, sweet buns, yogurt, milk, juice, pancakes and cereal. Even when it was busy in the breakfast room on our second day there, the staff was quick to keep all trays filled with food. They also had a coffee, a variety of teas and hot chocolate.

The location is really great - very close to the St. Lawrence Market (we had dinner there our first night at Buster's Sea Cove - great fish and chips), and close to the King St. subway station. The Eaton Centre was about a 10 minute walk away. Lots of restaurants and pubs around the area. We went to the Royal Ontario Museum one day, and that was about a 7 minute subway ride away. We enjoyed our walks around the hotel neighbourhood.

The staff overall are friendly and helpful. Our only complaint would be with the room heating. We wanted it a touch warmer in our room and turned on the heater to what we thought would be a low setting, but it only seems to have two settings - cool or hot. We set it on before going to bed, but I woke up hot and turned it off. It would be nice to have more precise temperature controls in the rooms. Parking was $20 which I find a bit annoying as well, but it seems that all hotels in Downtown Toronto charge something for parking.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for something with a view, something on a higher floor. We had a view of St. James Park, so as f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelissaBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate your through and complimentary review of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. We are always thrilled ot hear from our guests that have great experiences with us and this is no exception. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our services to be helpful and useful. I will be sure to share your comments with my guest services team. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write about us and I would like to personally welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown for any of your future visits to our fair city.
Tariq Azad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I was on business in Toronto, but decided to bring my family with me. We stayed 2 nights at this Holiday Inn Express. I am not too familiar with downtown Toronto, however I felt the location was great. It was within walking distance of everything you needed. The hotel itself was clean and well appointed. The underground parking was a great feature. The breakfast area was clean and tidy, and the food was good. The hotel staff were professional in their appearance and demeanor. I have stayed at many Holiday Inn Express Hotels, and this hotel carries on the good name. When I am in Toronto again, I will be staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown Hotel and would like to thank you for leaving a glowing review. We will look forward to your next stay with us.
Thank you,
Tarq Azad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel. The location is a bit out of the way of the immediate downtown, but if you don't mind walking a bit it is just fine. There is parking close by, but you do have to pay for it (less than many other downtown hotels charge). Breakfast is included with eggs, pancakes, bacon, muffins, etc. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The bedding is really nice. It was quiet and we slept well. The staff members were friendly. Both check-in and check-out were efficient.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We truly appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you so much for your really great review. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!
Tariq Azad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We found our room to be very adequate, clean and comfortable. We also had a nice view of downtown Toronto.

The staff were friendly and accommodating. One of them even offered to search the Internet looking for a nice Blues bar.

This is the second time in less than six months that I've been impressed with a Holiday Inn Express. (The other one was in downtown Vancouver.)

The price includes a breakfast and most of it was quite good although I didn't care for their egg concoction.

This place is very close to downtown and within easy walking distance to Yonge Street, Union Station, the Eaton Centre and all the theatres.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kanadai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and tells us about your stay. I am pleased that you and your guests enjoyed your time in Toronto and that our staffs were able to accommodate your needs. The complimentary breakfast buffet is truly a great added bonus and with the many choices is continuously changing to provide more selections to meet the needs of all of our guests. Our location is great and close to much of what Toronto has to offer and close enough to the transit system to be able to get you anywhere without the stress of city driving. Complimentary Internet and newspapers is one of the ways to say thank you for choosing us.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write you comments. Hopefully we will be able to host your next visit to Toronto.
Tariq Azad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed one night at the beginning of March. Great hotel if you're just looking for somewhere clean to rest your head at night. Check-in was good and staff was friendly and helpful. Parking was in a handy location and was reasonably priced compared to other hotels in the same area. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was decent (can't complain too much since it was free). Location was awesome.
It's a pretty basic hotel, but we weren't looking for anything fancy as we were only in it to sleep at night. If that's all you're using it for, then this is a great choice in a good location. We paid $119 plus tax which I think was definitely worth it. I probably wouldn't pay much more for it, but if you can get it for around that price it's definitely a good bang for your buck.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you taking the time to write such a nice review of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests are pleased with their accommodation while staying with us. Our location is truly a gem as we are within walking distance to much of what Toronto has to offer and close enough to our city’s public transportation system to get you any where without the stress of driving.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for any of your future visits to our great city
Tariq Azad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#58 of 137 in Toronto
2,716 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 137 in Toronto
1,067 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#46 of 137 in Toronto
2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown

Address: 111 Lombard Street, Toronto, Ontario M5C 2T9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: $147 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart in Our Hotel in Toronto, Ontario You'll enjoy an ideal location at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel - Downtown Toronto. Our hotel's location is near Pearson International Airport (YYZ), Toronto Island Airport (YTZ), Toronto Union Train Station and the underground shopping/walking paths, which makes it easy to navigate Toronto.Lodging here puts you in close proximity to famous attractions like the Hockey Hall of Fame and Distillery Historic District. Toronto is also home to Eastern Canada's largest shopping mall, Eaton Centre, which is within walking distance of the hotel.Toronto, Ontario's government buildings, the Queen¿s Park and Provincial Parliament are nearby, as well as First Canadian Place, BCE Place, Sears, Ryerson University, Saint Michael's Hospital and other businesses in downtown Toronto. Our hotel's amenities include a 24-hour Business Service to help you complete your work.Unlike other hotels in Toronto, our hotel offers multiple complimentary services: a hot breakfast bar, high-speed Internet access in every room, a daily newspaper and local calls. Each room is outfitted with a triple-sheeted bed, a cable TV, a work area with two phones and a bathroom with specially designed amenities. Our downtown Toronto hotel's staff looks forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing