We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Ranked #68 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel. The location is a bit out of the way of the immediate downtown, but if you don't mind walking a bit it is just fine. There is parking close by, but you do have to pay for it (less than many other downtown hotels charge). Breakfast is included with eggs, pancakes, bacon, muffins, etc. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The bedding is really nice. It was quiet and we slept well. The staff members were friendly. Both check-in and check-out were efficient.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We truly appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you so much for your really great review. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!
Tariq Azad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

731 - 737 of 1,325 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

We found our room to be very adequate, clean and comfortable. We also had a nice view of downtown Toronto.

The staff were friendly and accommodating. One of them even offered to search the Internet looking for a nice Blues bar.

This is the second time in less than six months that I've been impressed with a Holiday Inn Express. (The other one was in downtown Vancouver.)

The price includes a breakfast and most of it was quite good although I didn't care for their egg concoction.

This place is very close to downtown and within easy walking distance to Yonge Street, Union Station, the Eaton Centre and all the theatres.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kanadai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and tells us about your stay. I am pleased that you and your guests enjoyed your time in Toronto and that our staffs were able to accommodate your needs. The complimentary breakfast buffet is truly a great added bonus and with the many choices is continuously changing to provide more selections to meet the needs of all of our guests. Our location is great and close to much of what Toronto has to offer and close enough to the transit system to be able to get you anywhere without the stress of city driving. Complimentary Internet and newspapers is one of the ways to say thank you for choosing us.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write you comments. Hopefully we will be able to host your next visit to Toronto.
Tariq Azad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed one night at the beginning of March. Great hotel if you're just looking for somewhere clean to rest your head at night. Check-in was good and staff was friendly and helpful. Parking was in a handy location and was reasonably priced compared to other hotels in the same area. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was decent (can't complain too much since it was free). Location was awesome.
It's a pretty basic hotel, but we weren't looking for anything fancy as we were only in it to sleep at night. If that's all you're using it for, then this is a great choice in a good location. We paid $119 plus tax which I think was definitely worth it. I probably wouldn't pay much more for it, but if you can get it for around that price it's definitely a good bang for your buck.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you taking the time to write such a nice review of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests are pleased with their accommodation while staying with us. Our location is truly a gem as we are within walking distance to much of what Toronto has to offer and close enough to our city’s public transportation system to get you any where without the stress of driving.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for any of your future visits to our great city
Tariq Azad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

If your looking for just basics, this is a good hotel. Stayed here one night for business and it did the trick. Check in was a bit slow. Wi-fi was good and the breakfast....well it's free. Rooms are clean and the location is central.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flow_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write and tells us about your stay. We are glad you were able to stay with us during your trip to Toronto. It sounds like we were able to meet all of your expectations and we hope to have you return on your next visit so we can exeed them.
Thank you,
Tariq Azad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was in Toronto on business and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. When checking in the staff was polite and friendly. The room was clean, bathroom clean, beds comfortable. They throw in a free breakfast which is pretty good considering its free. For the price, it is a good value for Toronto.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas_Ptk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you taking the time to write such a nice review of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time in Toronto and that our staffs were able to accommodate your needs. The complimentary breakfast buffet is truly a great added bonus and with the many choices is continuously changing to provide more selections to meet the needs of all of our guests. Once again thank you for taking the time to write you comments. Hopefully we will be able to host your next visit to Toronto.
Tariq Azad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights on a visit to Toronto. Hotel was easy to find with adequate onsite parking, always useful when visiting a new city. Location is central to most of the sights, approx 20 minute walk to the CNN tower and couple of minutes from the subterranean walkways.

Not necessarily the most salubrious of areas but I never felt worried or intimidated.

Breakfast was basic but adequate.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dagog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We truly appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you so much for your really great review. We appreciate the business and hope to see you again soon!
Tariq Azad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed this hotel with my daughter when we went to see Lady Gaga, the reason I stayed there was because it included breakfast, and was within walking distance to the ACC and the Greyhound bus station. The carpeting in the room beside the bed did have a big stain, and I really do not think the bed was a queen bed, it was more like a double, the walls are paper thin and you can hear the TV from the room next to you, the carpeting in the hallways needed a good vaccum, breakfast was good and the staff in the breakfast area kept things clean. They really need to explain the $50.00 a night security deposit when you check in. They actually charged me $100.00 not $50.00, it takes about 5 days for your credit card company to reverse the charge, make sure you keep your receipt in case you have to file a complaint with the credit card company. They also charge $20.00 a night to park your car, so keep that in mind if you are driving.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosaElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We really appreciate your taking the time to share your recent experience. We want our guests to have the best experience possible where everything exceeds their expectations. I am sorry if that was not the case during your visit. You can be confident that we will follow-up on your concerns so that others are not disappointed as you were.
Again, thank you for your valuable feedback which can only serve to make us better. Truly sorry if your experience was less than expected and hopefully you may give us another chance in the future.
Thank you
Tariq Azad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#47 of 136 in Toronto
2,249 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 136 in Toronto
1,110 reviews
Bond Place Hotel
#60 of 136 in Toronto
2,780 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown

Address: 111 Lombard Street, Toronto, Ontario M5C 2T9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: $133 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart in Our Hotel in Toronto, Ontario You'll enjoy an ideal location at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel - Downtown Toronto. Our hotel's location is near Pearson International Airport (YYZ), Toronto Island Airport (YTZ), Toronto Union Train Station and the underground shopping/walking paths, which makes it easy to navigate Toronto.Lodging here puts you in close proximity to famous attractions like the Hockey Hall of Fame and Distillery Historic District. Toronto is also home to Eastern Canada's largest shopping mall, Eaton Centre, which is within walking distance of the hotel.Toronto, Ontario's government buildings, the Queen¿s Park and Provincial Parliament are nearby, as well as First Canadian Place, BCE Place, Sears, Ryerson University, Saint Michael's Hospital and other businesses in downtown Toronto. Our hotel's amenities include a 24-hour Business Service to help you complete your work.Unlike other hotels in Toronto, our hotel offers multiple complimentary services: a hot breakfast bar, high-speed Internet access in every room, a daily newspaper and local calls. Each room is outfitted with a triple-sheeted bed, a cable TV, a work area with two phones and a bathroom with specially designed amenities. Our downtown Toronto hotel's staff looks forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing