We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic accomodation right downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Ranked #70 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Winchester, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good basic accomodation right downtown”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Have stayed here a few times now for work and leisure. Place is always clean and comfortable, rapid easy check-in, and the very pleasant guys on the desk always call a few mintues after check-in to make sure the room is in order - a small but nice touch in a less expensive hotel. Guys up front are really nice.

Nothing much on the streets immediately around the hotel but it's right downtown so nothing is very far. Well served by a constant stream of cabs on all the surrounding streets as well as public transit. Starbucks 1 block away at Church & Adelaide. Would be nice if the hotel had a few more basic services but they offer a full breakfast for those who want that and there is a convenience store a block away.

This is not a lush, Fairmont type experience but then you're not paying for that. To me it offers very good value in a more basic kind of place, comfortable, clean and reliable at a decent rate for downtown TO.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side if you are bothered by a bit of road noise, but even on the Jarvis S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Valued,
Thank you for your kind review which you posted on Trip Advisor. It makes me very proud to receive such great feedback from you - especially your kind comments about our associates. Our associates are our asset and we are very proud to have such great individuals working for us that make the difference! Thanks again for your great comments and please do visit us soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    569
    307
    109
    67
See reviews for
302
446
102
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I don't really have anything negative to say about this hotel.

Everything was great for us: Service, location, cleanliness, breakfast, etc. We never had a problem with anything.

If you are looking for "fancy" this would not be the hotel for you but otherwise it is a great budget hotel.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have good views. Ours looked into the window of a neighbouring building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSquared31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We truly appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you so much for your great review. We appreciate the business and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel itself is dated and extremely busy but the staff made up for it. I found them extremely welcoming and caring, no query was too much for them, from printing out directions, advice on where to eat and in arranging our transfer to the airport. The room was small and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was basic but welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the great review of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown and the amazing things that you have said about our staff members. It always a thrill to hear that our staff have gone above and beyond to ensure that you, are guests, are treated right. Amazing customer service is what all of our staff strive to give to each and everyone of our guests and we hear so many great comments about the things that they have done, but we never get tired of hearing more. Once again thank you for taking the time to write and tell us about your stay with us and we look forward to seeing again when you get the chance to visit our fair city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here September 27-30, as we were attending a wedding in downtown Toronto. As many other reviewers have stated, the hotel is conveniently located and the price is good value for money.

Getting around -
We had travelled VIA rail into Union Station, and found it easy to navigate the metro up one stop to King, which is located a few short blocks from the hotel. We used the TTC our entire trip, very easy to get around on foot, no need for cabs. We happened to be in town during Nuit Blanche - a contemporary arts festival with locations all over downtown, U of T campus, etc - that runs from dusk to dawn. We were ideally located for this in particular, and had a fantastic time checking out the exhibitions.

Staff -
Friendly front desk staff. I'm horrible at remembering names, but everyone was great. As our last night there was Nuit Blanche, we requested a later check out and they were happy to accommodate us.

The room itself -
Our room was on the 14th floor. A bit dated and basic, but very clean. Comfortable bed with nice duvet, we both slept well. I had originally been concerned as we were across from the elevator and I'm a light sleeper, but were not bothered by it during our stay. We didn't use the TV at all, but the free wi-fi was reliable. The A/C was the only catch - it was rather old and kind of loud, but it did it's job.

Breakfast -
Part of our reason for choosing this hotel was that breakfast was included. Others have described the breakfast itself, so I won't get into details. My fiancé liked it, I found it ok but I'm pickier :). It was close quarters but not uncomfortable. Friendly ladies keeping everything well stocked. Nice that the hours are extended on weekend mornings.

Overall, we had a good experience and would stay here again. Not fancy, but friendly, economical and convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OttawaDixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. It is a proud moment for us when a guest writes a great review and even better when they can end the review with a comment like “I would stay there again”. The location of the hotel is truly a gem as we are close to so much of what Toronto has to offer, not to mention the subway system another of Toronto’s Public Transit System. i will pass along your comments to our front desk staff , as well as our housekeeping staff, they work very hard at what they do and it is always a pleasure to hear that they have met or exceeded our guest’s expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for any of your future visits to our great city. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Breakfast area was an odd layout and very crammed. the rooms were fairly nice but there were definitely temperature control issues in the common areas of the hotel. the hallways were really hot causing the hotel to feel very muggy even in the evening. Staff was very nice and the location is easy to find and a close walk to a few options for dinner. I stayed there twice in a couple of weeks, so it was about the same experience both times.

Room Tip: Ends of the halls have slightly larger rooms than the rest of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Njp007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. Thank you for the kind words about my staff. I want to personally apologize for your disappointment with our breakfast area. Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! Please visit us again soon so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located near 'old' Toronto and the Airport Express bus takes you directly to the door, which after a long flight from the UK was appreciated. The beds were one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in, which for a budget hotel is excellent. Breakfast was included and although it wasn't special, the choice was very good and plenty of it.
The downside to my stay was the other guests staying there........ on both evenings, there was loud talking, shouting and screaming in the corridors without any consideration to the other guests trying to sleep. As it was after 2am, I felt it necessary to confront them and eventually they quietened down.
In summary, the hotel is good value for money, location is excellent and would I stay here again, probably as you can never plan on what other guests are staying, though I do agree with the other reviewers, it does need a refresh!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mini66NorthofEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write and tells us about your stay. We are sorry to hear that you had noise issues during your stay. We try our very best to keep noises to a minimum after 11: pm and our night staff attempt to follow up with all noise complaints that are reported to the front desk, I will follow up with our night staff to ensure that these things do not happen again. Once again thank you for taking the time to write and tell us about your stay with us and we look forward to seeing again when you get the chance to visit our fair city.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St, Louis
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at this particular Holiday Inn Express for one night in September. We had booked two nights, but honestly...we just couldn't do it. The place is really outdated and dirty. Stains all over the carpeting. We are so impressed at all the Holiday Inn Expresses in the states, that we thought they all had the same high standards. Wrong. We knew almost immediately upon entering the building that it was badly in need of a makeover. Dirty walls...dirty carpeting...dim lighting....just an over all "icky" experience. My husband and I both decided to ditch the second night and move on. On the positive side..the workers were helpful and friendly. When I told them that we were not happy and that their hotel needed renovating, they all agreed. Breakfast was fine....bed was clean and comfortable. Location was in a run down area, and I personally would not feel comfortable walking in it alone. Parking was attached and came with a $20 fee.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JungleJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
I really appreciate your taking the time to share your recent experience. Thank you for the kind words about my staff. I want to personally apologize for your disappointment with our hotel.
We want our guests to have the best experience possible where everything exceeds
their expectations. I am sorry if that was not the case during your visit. You can be
confident that we will follow-up on your concerns so that others are not disappointed as you were. Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts. We value you as a
guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! Please visit
us again soon so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#57 of 137 in Toronto
2,667 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#46 of 137 in Toronto
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#37 of 137 in Toronto
1,805 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 137 in Toronto
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Address: 111 Lombard Street, Toronto, Ontario M5C 2T9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart in Our Hotel in Toronto, Ontario You'll enjoy an ideal location at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel - Downtown Toronto. Our hotel's location is near Pearson International Airport (YYZ), Toronto Island Airport (YTZ), Toronto Union Train Station and the underground shopping/walking paths, which makes it easy to navigate Toronto.Lodging here puts you in close proximity to famous attractions like the Hockey Hall of Fame and Distillery Historic District. Toronto is also home to Eastern Canada's largest shopping mall, Eaton Centre, which is within walking distance of the hotel.Toronto, Ontario's government buildings, the Queen¿s Park and Provincial Parliament are nearby, as well as First Canadian Place, BCE Place, Sears, Ryerson University, Saint Michael's Hospital and other businesses in downtown Toronto. Our hotel's amenities include a 24-hour Business Service to help you complete your work.Unlike other hotels in Toronto, our hotel offers multiple complimentary services: a hot breakfast bar, high-speed Internet access in every room, a daily newspaper and local calls. Each room is outfitted with a triple-sheeted bed, a cable TV, a work area with two phones and a bathroom with specially designed amenities. Our downtown Toronto hotel's staff looks forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing