We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Ranked #69 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located in a quiet area downtown, just a few minutes away from a subway station, Yonge Street, the St Lawrence Market and the Distillery District.

The rooms are spacious, with a convenient little relaxing area set up with a couch. The bathrooms are also big.

The hotel offers a free and generous continental breakfast to guests: a mix of hot and cold choices. The only inconvenience is that the breakfast area is small, therefore making it crowded. Guests might have to consider bringing the breakfast up to their room.

Staff is also very nice and will do anything possible to accommodate guests.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtl-wasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, that our location was well suited to your needs and that you were able to enjoy our complimentary hot & cold breakfast buffet. The complimentary breakfast buffet is truly a great added bonus and with the many choices is continuously changing to provide more selections to meet the needs of all of our guests. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for any of your future visits to our great city.
Tariq Azad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

767 - 773 of 1,324 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel was old and not really clean as we should expect. The carpet has stains and smells bad. The bathroom had a hole on the wall and a bucket to hold water under the sinck. the only thing ok about the hotel was the front-desk personel: they were all very kind.

Room Tip: ask for to see the room before booking if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crissafadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review on the Holiday Inn Express Toronto downtown. We do respect your opinion and distressed that the cleanliness of your room was not to your satisfaction. We set very high standards for our housekeeping and are consistently performing quality checks in our rooms and through guest feedback. We would like to assure all guests that cleanliness is a priority at our hotel and that is reflected in many of the reviews of our hotel on this site.
Again, thank you for your valuable feedback which can only serve to make us better. Truly sorry if your experience was less than expected and hopefully you may give us another chance in the future.
Tariq Azad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed here for a weekend conference and I was pleasantly surprised. I typically would not have picked this hotel myself, but was pleased with the accommodations. It is a smaller hotel and the conference rate was $109 – a steal for downtown Toronto. It is about a 15 minute walk from Union Station, and is equidistant from the King and the Queen subway stations.

The beds and linens are very good and the bathroom, especially the shower was very comfortable. Towels are very good. Free WiFi with fast connection. Breakfast is included, self-serve and well presented. Fruit, low-fat yoghurt, breads, danishes, eggs (boiled/scrambled), sausage, bacon, juice, coffee, etc. Just the right variety to get you going.

I was on the 10th floor, across from the elevator, but it was still quiet. I slept really well. I did not see a gym, as I was kept busy with my conference. With the location, you can walk or take public transit anywhere. This is probably one of the better of the value hotel chains. I would not hesitate to stay here again. Service staff were very pleasant. The value for money was surprisingly good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoloSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant Genral Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to write such a nice review of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests are pleased with their accommodation while staying with us. Our location is truly a gem as we are within walking distance to much of what Toronto has to offer and close enough to our city’s public transportation system to get you any where without the stress of driving. Once again thank you for taking the time to write you comments. Hopefully we will be able to host your next visit to Toronto.
Tariq Azad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a good choice for a budget hotel. The bathroom was clean and modern. The bed was comfortable. The room was clean and attractive although not large and posh looking. The free breakfast was plentiful and had lots of variety. The breakfast room could be a bit crowded but we found a free table both mornings. The address is Lombard but if you are not using a car you will usually approach it by Adelaide/Jarvis Streets. The main entrance is in a quiet courtyard. Before booking the hotel I read reviews warning that the neighbourhood had a homeless shelter and undesirable street people. After looking for it I did see a homeless shelter on Lombard St. The way the hotel is set up there is no need to walk past the shelter. I saw no pan handlers and heard no noise. If it makes you uncomfortable to know there are less fortunate people sleeping next door then pay more money and go to another hotel. I enjoyed my stay and would use the hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
The management of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown hotel appreciates you choosing to stay with us and taking the time to leave feedback on your trip. It is a proud moment for us when a guest writes a great review and even better when they can end the review with a comment like “I would stay there again”. We are happy to hear that all aspects of your stay were enjoyable and we hope the next time you are in Toronto you will stay with us once again.
Thanks you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Quiet clean hotel within walking distance of everything. Nice breakfast included in the price, no matter how busy breakfast got everything remained well stocked. What sets this location apart is the staff, they are so kind and helpful! Every request is responded to quickly and kindly. Luggage storage is available at no charge.

Room Tip: I requested, and got, a room on a high floor. That helps somewhat with the street noise which exist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the great review of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown and the amazing things that you have said about our staff members. It always a thrill to hear that our staff have gone above and beyond to ensure that you, are guests, are treated right. Rest assured that I have passed your comments to all the staff.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write and tell us about your stay with us and we look forward to seeing again when you get the chance to visit our fair city.
Thank you
Tariq Azad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed for two nights.

Nothing is too much trouble for any staff member here - and with a minimum of fuss and without delay because they wanted to, not because they were paid to - quite a refreshing find these days.

Don't be put off by the paper plates and plastic cutlery. The breakfast is a plentiful variety of simple food, deliciously cooked. Very little food, if any, is left on plates.

The rooms are clean, quiet; maybe not five-star, and it's not supposed to be, but a coffee/water heater for a cuppa makes up for that.

The location is not too far from everywhere downtown, incluing the Mystic Muffin cafe across the street that does a pretty good apple cake.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank africanqueen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write and tells us about your stay. I am pleased that you and your guests enjoyed your time in Toronto and that our staffs were able to accommodate your needs. The complimentary breakfast buffet is truly a great added bonus and with the many choices is continuously changing to provide more selections to meet the needs of all of our guests.
Our location is great and close to much of what Toronto has to offer and close enough to the transit system to be able to get you anywhere without the stress of city driving. Complimentary Internet and newspapers is one of the ways to say thank you for choosing us.
Thank you once again and we hope to be able to host your next visit to our fair city. Tariq Azad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Parking was relatively easy and not terribly priced for down town ($20 for 24 hours with in and out privileges). Even though we arrived a bit early for check in, the front desk person was very helpful and gave us our parking pass right away.

Our room was on the smaller side, but not uncomfortably so. A second chair in our room would have been nice though (especially since it had two beds, so you would expect at least two people). The room generally seemed clean and the beds were fairly comfortable.

The view from our room on the courtyard side was actually quite spectacular. The view from the other side is less impressive.

As always with Holiday Inn Express, the free WiFi was a big plus.

Overall our stay was very nice - with the exception of one problem. The first room we were given had a sort of mouldy, water damaged smell and a mysteriously damp carpet. Unfortunately we had tickets for a show that evening and weren't able to address the problem with the staff until later in the evening. When we did bring it up, the second staff person we spoke to was very helpful and quickly got us switched into a dry room. I am a bit surprised that the problem in our first room wasn't caught by housekeeping staff, but the front desk staff definitely saved our night.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms have a much nicer view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toomanynouns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review regarding the experiences you've had during your stay. Your comments and scores are one of the best tools we have for maintaining the highest level of comfort and service that our guest expect and deserve. We value and appreciate your honest and constructive feedback. We hope that you will continue to have us as your hotel of choice in Toronto city and look forward to welcoming you back.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#47 of 138 in Toronto
2,230 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 138 in Toronto
1,101 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#58 of 138 in Toronto
2,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown

Address: 111 Lombard Street, Toronto, Ontario M5C 2T9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: $132 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart in Our Hotel in Toronto, Ontario You'll enjoy an ideal location at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel - Downtown Toronto. Our hotel's location is near Pearson International Airport (YYZ), Toronto Island Airport (YTZ), Toronto Union Train Station and the underground shopping/walking paths, which makes it easy to navigate Toronto.Lodging here puts you in close proximity to famous attractions like the Hockey Hall of Fame and Distillery Historic District. Toronto is also home to Eastern Canada's largest shopping mall, Eaton Centre, which is within walking distance of the hotel.Toronto, Ontario's government buildings, the Queen¿s Park and Provincial Parliament are nearby, as well as First Canadian Place, BCE Place, Sears, Ryerson University, Saint Michael's Hospital and other businesses in downtown Toronto. Our hotel's amenities include a 24-hour Business Service to help you complete your work.Unlike other hotels in Toronto, our hotel offers multiple complimentary services: a hot breakfast bar, high-speed Internet access in every room, a daily newspaper and local calls. Each room is outfitted with a triple-sheeted bed, a cable TV, a work area with two phones and a bathroom with specially designed amenities. Our downtown Toronto hotel's staff looks forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing