We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service, amenities, location all exceptional”
Review of Park Hyatt Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Hyatt Toronto
Ranked #20 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a top notch hotel that tries to be so and succeeds. Located in a fairly central location in downtown Toronto, the surrounding area for the business traveller is easy to negotiate and has a good selection of restaurants, shopping and the like.

From the greeting by the doormen, to the good day wishes from virtually everyone, to simple checkin the experience is welcoming and friendly without being artificial. There was a minor problem with my reservation that was rectified within minutes, with a smile.

Room amenities are exceptional. Adequate lighting and lighting control, Ridiculously comfortable bed with high quality linens. Wonderful bath area with luxuriously hot water, terrific bathroom staples (soap, shampoo, etc) , great towels. Every aspect of the room was sparkling clean and I had the chance to speak with my housekeeper who was passionate about what she does and how long she has been doing it (over 20 years). A joy. Internet access is simple with a single daily login, decent speed for uploads. No, and I do mean no, in room coffee so you will need to order it in....sigh.

The restaurant was well appointed, and food quality really good although not cheap. Even a breakfast entree was over 17 dollars, but the quality was appropriate. Service again exceptional.

On the 18th floor of one of the towers was a cozy dark and moody bar that is one happening place. Be warned however that this place, while fantastic, is VERY expensive. A colleague ordered a single champagne cocktail and it was 27 dollars! No kidding. Drinks are well over 10 dollars for the most part and a glass of wine 15 dollars at least. But, a hot spot, busy and popular, so apparently Torontonians are not bothered.

Conference and meeting facilities were excellent, really good equipment, outstanding catering.

All in all a definite yes for business purposes across the board, and as a romantic place to stay, I would give it a yes as well I am sure.

Room Tip: Be sure to indicate non smoking. This hotel still has smoking rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heeler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,847)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,483 - 1,489 of 1,847 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

Beautiful art deco style hotel in uptown Toronto. Close to shops, restaurants and parks. Yorkville is walking distance - very fashionable! If you're going to stay upmarket (i.e. expenses paid) in Toronto I'd highly recommend this Hyatt. Big beautiful rooms, very friendly and professional staff.
Great little roof top bar with city and lake views.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed a few nights in the Park Hyatt hotel in Toronto recently, and had a very enjoyable stay. Clean and big rooms, god A/C, really good bed. I found it a bit annoying that breakfast wasnt buffet but only a la carte, but well. Only negative thing to say.

would go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeppeSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt during a Mom's Weekend Away. We couldn't have enjoyed it more. The staff was welcoming and helpful. We loved the location as there plenty of great resteraunts but you did not feel like you were in the middle of a busy city.

I would definately return!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler1213Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed at the Park Hyatt Toronto for two nights. We checked in early on Sunday - 11 am and the staff was wonderful Very accomodating- our room was upgraded from a standard double to a nicer one. We were in room 1130 and had a huge room! No real view but that was ok. We crashed out on the two double beds and slept all afternoon exhausted from 2 previous days of hard travel and around the clock activity.Beds with big fluffy duvets were soft and so comfortable. Bathroom was beautiful with really nice Bergamot toiletries, complimentary bath robes and slippers for our use and plenty of towels including full sized bath sheets to wrap up in after the shower.

Turn down service was nice and I have to thank our housekeeping staff- they fully cleaned our bathroom when we went out to dinner having showered the travel grime off after our naps.

Next afternoon we had a reception we attended in the roof top bar, view was lovely and the cocktail party appetizers were yummy.

We did dinner on our own that night in the hotel restaurant. Petite crab cakes as starter, sea bass special and berries with ice cream and cappucino were all good. Dining price was on par for the venue. About $70pp for 3 courses without alcohol including tip.

Easy access from here to the Royal Ontario Museum. Concierge staff was great- had a cab waiting for us along with our bill for our early am Tuesday checkout.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The location is in Yorkville which is an affluent area of Toronto filled with opportunities for shopping, food and entertainment. Check in was smooth but did not impress given the price and clientelle this brand attracts. Rooftop bar was pleasant but was not as impressive as the prices some staff members were not very forth coming or informative when we asked questions about food and beverage acknowledgement with a Gold Passport. The Amanna restaurant on the ground level;seemed like a ghost town for staff since there was no one at the podium when I stepped in and waited for 10 min and then left. The corriders are very dated as was noted by guests that visited while I was staying their as is the decor and furnishings in the room. The wallpaper is peeling very obviously in the bathroom and the dust was eveident in many areas. Wall outlets are scarce which explained why the desk was pulled away from the wall when we entered the room. The towels are very nice in terms of size but have seen one too many washes and are rougher than what I expected from a property of this calibre and price point.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Siby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-At-The-Park, Manager at Park Hyatt Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent experience.

All aspects of your stay are important to us - from the reservation process to the first time you walk through our front doors. The experience noted is not reflective of the service we strive to deliver to any of our guests. Please accept our apologies that your stay was not a pleasant one and for the inconveniences you experienced.

When your schedule allows would you mind if we further discussed the details you shared? I look forward to speaking with you when convenient to your schedule.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Best Regards,
Gail Aihoshi
Executive Offices
Park Hyatt Toronto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and stayed here for 3 nights in December 2011, which was prior to the hotel's planned refurbishment, so take my assessment of the room with a grain of salt. The room and common areas were tastefully decorated and adorned with just enough high end furnishings (marble, et) to qualify as a Park Hyatt property. However, the wallpaper was peeling and stained in a few places in our room. The room itself was rather small and with no view whatsoever. Internet service (always a source of disappointment) was at least mediocre (generally reliable connection with speeds averaging 0.5-1 megabits/sec) for a fee ($10-15/night I believe).

The hotel restaurant has a nice breakfast and tea service, which we found to be a good value. We did not try the room service, however.

The property's star attraction is the bar on the top floor, which has lovely wood paneled decor, a wonderful view of the city and excellent martinis and food (the fries dripped in aioli is particularly recommended).

Location is near an area packed with 3-4 star restaurants and a museum is located across the street, but public transport to downtown is not especially within walking distance.

Overall, I was satisfied because we only paid about $200/night, which is in line with the hotel's status as a low end Park Hyatt. However, post-renovation this assessment (and the room rate) may change.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Demolition_Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-At-The-Park, Manager at Park Hyatt Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your experience with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our offerings including the martinis and food during your experience at our Roof Lounge.

Since your stay with us last December, all of our guestrooms have undergone soft good renovations and our spa refreshed. When your travels bring you back to Yorkville, please let me know as it would be my pleasure to take you on a site of our property and share the upgrades noted.

Once again, thank you for sharing the details of your experience with us.

Best Regards,
-Gail Aihoshi
Executive Offices
Park Hyatt Toronto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#22 of 136 in Toronto
3,960 reviews
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 136 in Toronto
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Delta Hotels Toronto
Delta Hotels Toronto
#8 of 136 in Toronto
2,194 reviews
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
#10 of 136 in Toronto
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Toronto

Address: 4 Avenue Rd, Toronto, Ontario M5R 2E8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#10 Family Hotel in Toronto
#13 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#14 Business Hotel in Toronto
#15 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $542 - $1,207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Park Hyatt Toronto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hyatt Toronto commenced renovations December 1, 2017, temporarily suspending hotel operations as we undergo an exciting evolution and transformation culminating in the debut of a spectacularly reinvented Park Hyatt Toronto in the fourth quarter of 2019. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Hyatt Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Toronto Hotel Toronto
Hyatt Toronto
Toronto Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing