We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Park Hyatt in need of refurbishment” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hyatt Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Hyatt Toronto
Ranked #14 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Park Hyatt in need of refurbishment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and stayed here for 3 nights in December 2011, which was prior to the hotel's planned refurbishment, so take my assessment of the room with a grain of salt. The room and common areas were tastefully decorated and adorned with just enough high end furnishings (marble, et) to qualify as a Park Hyatt property. However, the wallpaper was peeling and stained in a few places in our room. The room itself was rather small and with no view whatsoever. Internet service (always a source of disappointment) was at least mediocre (generally reliable connection with speeds averaging 0.5-1 megabits/sec) for a fee ($10-15/night I believe).

The hotel restaurant has a nice breakfast and tea service, which we found to be a good value. We did not try the room service, however.

The property's star attraction is the bar on the top floor, which has lovely wood paneled decor, a wonderful view of the city and excellent martinis and food (the fries dripped in aioli is particularly recommended).

Location is near an area packed with 3-4 star restaurants and a museum is located across the street, but public transport to downtown is not especially within walking distance.

Overall, I was satisfied because we only paid about $200/night, which is in line with the hotel's status as a low end Park Hyatt. However, post-renovation this assessment (and the room rate) may change.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Demolition_Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-At-The-Park, Manager at Park Hyatt Toronto, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your experience with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our offerings including the martinis and food during your experience at our Roof Lounge.

Since your stay with us last December, all of our guestrooms have undergone soft good renovations and our spa refreshed. When your travels bring you back to Yorkville, please let me know as it would be my pleasure to take you on a site of our property and share the upgrades noted.

Once again, thank you for sharing the details of your experience with us.

Best Regards,
-Gail Aihoshi
Executive Offices
Park Hyatt Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    435
    160
    50
    15
See reviews for
274
466
100
572
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Nice enough, but expensive & rather disappointing for the price. For $310 plus tax, the deluxe king room wasn't much better than a standard hotel room, only bigger. Worse, they don't even provide a radio. To listen to music, if one is IPod-less, they charge $10 for 2 hours of music on the TV.

The bathroom was attractive, but there is only a tub with a plastic shower curtain.

A few months ago, a few doors away at the Intercontinental, for considerably less money I had had a beautiful room that felt like a suite as it featured a lovely couch, coffee table & stylish chairs. The gorgeous bathroom had an elegant shower stall separate from the bathtub. And, they had a radio, free of charge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandysch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-At-The-Park, Manager at Park Hyatt Toronto, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

I am terribly sorry to learn that you were underwhelmed during your stay. We pride ourselves on providing a warm and residential experience for all of our guests, one in which the small details of home are incorporated into their stay. While we no longer have radios in our guestrooms, it would have been no trouble at all to have one placed in your room to add that element of home into your hotel stay. Please accept my apologies if this request was expressed to a member of our team and we failed to deliver.

When your schedule allows, would you mind connecting with me to further discuss the details of your stay? I look forward in speaking with you at a time most convenient to your schedule.

Best Regards,
-Gail Aihoshi
Executive Offices
Park Hyatt Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights. Great service with staff greeting you at every turn. Room service, housekeeping, and valet staff were very attentive.

The room we had was vey spacious and great for my toddler to run around in.

Great location in Yorkville opposite the Royal Ontario Museum and a short stroll to picturesque university buildings. Also nearby is the subway which was very convenient. We used the subway to get to Greektown and downtown locations. I was also pleased that there was a Wholefoods nearby where I could get supplies for my little one.

It would have been more enjoyable for my family if this hotel had a swimming pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KazfromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-At-The-Park, Manager at Park Hyatt Toronto, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for sharing the details of your stay with us.

We are thrilled to hear that your experience was a great one and your accommodations allowed your little one to play comfortably. We are also pleased to learn that you enjoyed the Yorkville area and surrounding attractions.

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your destination of choice for your family vacation. We hope to once again welcome you when your travels bring you back to Yorkville.

Best Regards,
-Gail Aihoshi
Executive Offices
Park Hyatt Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Was back at the Park Hyatt in Toronto for meetings and once again was impressed with the hotel. Valet parking was smooth on arrival and my check in was painless and accompanied by a room upgrade. The public areas are all very lovely and even the bathrooms are glamorous. My room was as usual, extremely nice, clean, large and quiet and the WiFI was free which was a delight!! The meeting area was very good and the food and beverages throughout the day were excellent and were constantly being replenished. Getting my car back from valet parking had been very slow on a prior stay at this hotel, but on this occaison, my car appeared in 5 minutes.

All in all, an excellent facility and I hope to have a reason to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmom2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-At-The-Park, Manager at Park Hyatt Toronto, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was our pleasure to once again welcome you back to your home away from home!

Thank you for sharing the details of your recent stay with us and for giving us a second opportunity to provide an authentic Park Hyatt Toronto experience. The seamless encounters you noted is the level of service we strive towards providing for every guest who stays with us and when we fall short in any area, we acknowledge it and use it as an opportunity to refine our service delivery. Please accept my apology for the extended wait time you experienced when retrieving your car during your prior stay.

Additionally, we recently launched our new food philosophy and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the food and beverage offerings being served at your meeting.

Like yourself, we also hope your travels will lead you back to us and we look forward to welcoming you then.

Best Regards,
-Gail Aihoshi
Executive Offices
Park Hyatt Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I traveled with my 87 year old mom and we loved the Park Hyatt as a hotel. It is beautiful, clean, and it is conveniently located in Toronto. The beds are extremely comfortable. We were disappointed to learn there was no way to just turn the fan on in the room by adjusting the thermostat. When we asked about a pool, we were surprised to learn there was no pool on the premises. Our biggest problem was when we went to the front hotel desk to ask about directions because the concierge desk was busy. We realized that the directions provided were not accurate and most difficult for my mother. The person neglected to count all of the little streets between the larger avenues when counting the streets for distance. Ordinarily it wouldn't have posed a problem, but we ventured out to walk to a restaurant after receiving the seemingly simple directions to our destination. After walking over 6 blocks(the entire trip was supposed to be 2 blocks 1 way and 2 blocks after turning), we asked another person. We realized it was too far to walk and tried to take the train, but was unable to purchase a ticket since we had no Canadian money(a credit card couldn't be used at the station). We hailed a cab and later learned the hotel could have provided the transportaion with the hotel car. We thought we could use it returning to the hotel, but was told it can only be used when leaving the hotel..again being misinformed...Advice..havea good map while navigating around the city!

Our breakfast experience was another problem. The food in the restaurant was tasty but the service was horrible in the morning. The people at our next table almost had to get up and leave without being served because of other commitments. For us, it just meant leaving the hotel much later when checking out. For the volume of patrons, they should have increased the number of servers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marj4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-At-The-Park, Manager at Park Hyatt Toronto, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Please accept my most sincere apologies for the misinformation and level of service you received during your stay with us. I am terribly sorry to learn that your mother and yourself endured extensive walking due to an err on our part and that your dining experience was not a comfortable one. I have shared your note with our team, and wanted to thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback.

When your schedule allows, would you mind if we continued the dialogue concerning the details you mentioned? If so, I look forward to connecting at a time most convenient to you.

Best Regards,
-Gail Aihoshi
Executive Offices
Park Hyatt Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
326 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We spent 4 nights here in September. Our room was on the 12th floor with a view of ROM and CN Tower. It was beautiful. Our room was nicely appointed, but nothing special. I'm a big fan of the chocolates usually left on the pillow with turndown service and this doesn't happen at this location. I had to request a rubber bath mat for our tub after nearly falling in the slippery tub. The shampoo and conditioner were disappointing as they left my hair very dry and unmanageable. The bed was very comfortable with plenty of comfortable pillows. We selected the option that included daily breakfast service and the breakfasts were excellent. Definitely go up to The Roof for a drink as the view is spectacular. Staff is top notch. Parking is a bit pricey -- $42 per night and our car was returned to us with what appeared to be coffee spilled down the driver's side window which we didn't notice until we started to drive off. I would stay here again if I was in Toronto.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MomRocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Location (Bloor and Avenue Road), style, comfort - this hotel is reliable in every way. Staff throughout are very professional, doubly so for members of the Hyatt frequent stay program. Touches like putting us in our preferred room appreciated. Despite the two wings and large number of rooms, one never gets the sense of being overwhelmed by its capacity. And the rooftop lounge remains a Toronto institution.

Room Tip: The South (original) wing has mroe character than the newer North wing. Rooms are more eccentric bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 132 in Toronto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Toronto

Property: Park Hyatt Toronto
Address: 4 Avenue Rd, Toronto, Ontario M5R 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#11 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#12 Family Hotel in Toronto
#14 Business Hotel in Toronto
#15 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Park Hyatt Toronto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hyatt Toronto is perfectly situated in the heart of Yorkville, surrounded by over 700 upscale shops, exclusive restaurants and unique galleries. Located just minutes to the financial and entertainment districts, this luxury hotel offers convenient access to the best of Toronto attractions, including the AGO, CN Tower and Casa Loma. Within minutes of your arrival, you will be embraced by warm, residential accommodations and luxury amenities. Unwind in our incomparable 10,000-square-foot Stillwater Spa. Delight in upscale shopping escapades or museums, or settle into any of our premier dining experiences, such as Annona Restaurant or Morton's, The Steakhouse. Then retreat to our legendary Rooftop Lounge with panoramic views of the city. With its state-of-the-art conveniences and personalized service, Park Hyatt Toronto is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. Come discover why today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Toronto Hotel Toronto
Hyatt Toronto
Toronto Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing