We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Toronto Centre
Ranked #46 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
GreenLeadersGold level
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good and Bad”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Waited with several other travelers for 15 minutes at check-in with nobody behind the front desk. I finally asked at the bar for service and they were able to find help. The girl who eventually came to help was unapologetic and dismissive. Otherwise it was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank DeanWakil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-NTC, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
I apologize about the service you received upon check-in. That is unacceptable. Please know I will be sharing your review with our team to ensure this does not happen again. We always aim for excellence, and it is clear we fell short on this occasion. Thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    991
    426
    137
    79
See reviews for
479
700
149
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I've stayed at this particular Novotel Hotel a few times before and always had a very pleasant stay. This time was no exception. The rooms are reasonably spacious and comfortable. The staff is friendly and very helpful. All in all another good experience. I recommend the Novotel Hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-NTC, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your lovely 5-star review! I'm so pleased to read you had a pleasant stay, found our team friendly and helpful, and would recommend our hotel to others. That means a lot to us, so thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I was recently at this hotel for a business trip. You cannot beat this location....a 5 minute walk from Union Station(maybe a little more with all of the chaos and construction) and steps away from attractions, restaurants, etc. The hotel itself is disappointingly adequate. I would have thought for the premium price and the rooms would be a little nicer. I found that my room, although clean, was a little tired and run down. Perhaps other floors have been updated, but not the third? You can certainly hear a lot of street noise on the 3rd floor on the street side - and the cooling/heating system is quiet (noisy ones are my pet peeve), so you hear everything. The walls are pretty thin too - my neighbours alarm woke ME up at 6am.

The rooms are quite large and well appointed which would be nice if you had a family in tow. The beds are comfy and the bathroom adequate. There is a 'cooler' in the room (NOT a fridge). The TV was quite nice.

The staff was courteous and moderately attentive but not particularly friendly, although they were quite busy.

Of note you need to use your room keys to access the guest floors which is a nice security feature in the hotel (although not fool-proof).

I would stay here again - location is super convenient to the train - but would manage my expectations next time (no comparison to the updated and friendly boutique hotels in similar location).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Famtastictravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-NTC, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your thorough review. Though it is not the type of review we strive for, we really appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. Despite some of the issues you encountered with your stay, I am happy to see that you would stay with us again. We'd love the opportunity to renew your feelings toward our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Frances, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Staying at Novotel is ok. The noise comes right through the walls. The location is good walking distance to sports events, shopping and there's very good dining all around. The rooms are hit & miss, and last time I stayed there my room was located above the "smoking" floor and came home very sick-allergies, asthma & ended up with sinus infection.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KZ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-NTC, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I apologize you experienced some issues during your last stay. We can assure you that each guest room is thoroughly cleaned and sanitized in order to provide the most comfortable stay possible for each guest. We do hope we'll get the opportunity to renew your feelings toward our hotel on your next visit to Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our family celebrated Gramma's 65th birthday in Toronto and we stayed overnight a the Novotel. When I booked I asked for 3 rooms in a row - with two adjoining and an early check in since we were all meeting at the hotel. There was no guarantee but they said they would try. We got there and 2 of the 3 rooms were ready and all in a row. Nice and clean. The kids went direclty to the pool. Maybe the pool isn't great for really little kids as there in no shallow end - 5" deep throughout. But no one was using it - the kids had a great time with their "private" pool. The breakfast buffet was fabulous ( make sure to get the room price to include the buffet!).
The location is great - walked to Hockey Hall of Fame and to the Aquarium. Short cab ride to Medieval Times.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyFriendly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-NTC, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We are honored you chose to celebrate your Gramma's 65th Birthday in Toronto and at our hotel! Thank you so much for making our day with your great review and kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was our first Toronto trip with two of our grandkids. Staying at the Novotel Toronto Centre was the perfect choice. I have stayed at other nearby hotels before and always wandered about the Novotel. Well my curiosity was wonderfully satisfied. Its center location made it easy for us to walk to the new Ripley's Aquarium in spite of all of the street construction going on and best of all their complimentary breakfast was almost the highlight of the trip. Room was clean, bed comfortable and service was courteous. At breakfast, Priscila one of the food attendant was very pleasant and accommodating. She promptly returned my car key that I left behind on the table to one of my grandkids. Overall our stay at the Novotel Toronto was unanimous wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jose V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-NTC, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for the 5 star review. We're glad to read you found our central location convenient for your time in Toronto. Thank you also for noting the friendliness of our team members. We'll be sharing your review with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 137 in Toronto
1,047 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#36 of 137 in Toronto
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#52 of 137 in Toronto
1,609 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Toronto Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Toronto Centre

Property: Novotel Toronto Centre
Address: 45 The Esplanade, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Toronto
#34 Family Hotel in Toronto
#42 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Toronto Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Toronto is nestled in the historic district of Old Town Toronto. Get a glimpse into Toronto’s past strolling through cobblestone streets, enjoy a wide array of gastronomical international treats at the St. Lawrence Market or savour the flavours from myriad restaurants and pubs. Just steps from the Hockey Hall of Fame, Harbourfront and Union Station, the Novotel is 30 minutes from Pearson International Airport and 5 minutes from Billy Bishop Airport.With a European flavour, whether you are staying for business or pleasure the hotel offers a variety of services to make any stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Toronto Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Toronto Centre Hotel Toronto
Accor Toronto Centre
Toronto Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing