We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Toronto Centre
Ranked #45 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a great location”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend getaway to Toronto. Got a nice upgrade to an executive suite, which had a little sitting area. As other people have mentioned, the room was a little dark, and they could have used a few more lights to brighten it up. The room was oddly shaped but nicely sized. Comfortable bed, clean bathroom, and a decent size for a downtown hotel. The staff was friendly. The lobby is nice. The location is good as it's just blocks from the subway, street cars, theatres, St. Lawrence Market, and more. There are several bars and restaurants across the street which got a bit noisy Friday and Saturday nights, but we couldn't hear any of the noise on the 8th floor. This isn't in the heart of the city, but it's a 5-minute walk to it all. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanRandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    964
    411
    133
    78
See reviews for
460
683
145
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was a last minute booking for business. Room was clean and quiet. However, the rate was very high ($257 for one night). There were plenty of restaurants close by, although you have to walk a few blocks up Yonge Street for reasonable shopping.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank monique_poirier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I was in town with friends for a concert at the Air Canada Centre, & had an excellent stay at the Novotel Toronto Centre. The location was easy to find off of the expressway, & was within walking distance to the ACC. The front desk service was very quick & polite. The room was a good size, very clean, & the shower was amazing.

Tip: Drop off anyone you're travelling with along with your luggage at the front entrance before parking at the underground hotel lot, & you need to give your license plate number to the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Stephane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The rooms in the hotel are a good size, however the very small windows in at least two of the rooms (my second stay) are the biggest let down of this hotel. The rooms themselves are large and are reasonably well appointed with minibar, some free internet, ironing facilities and big bathroom. The staff are first class and the check in/out is very efficient. The hotel is immediately across the street from a number of restaurants, and a convenience store is easy walking distance away. The hotel would be improved by proving free bottled water, rather than $5 for the first bottle. I found this a little mean.

Room Tip: If they have any ask for rooms with large windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovoteltc, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. Hopefully you will choose us again when you visit Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

A lovely hotel in a pleasant safe area. Looks good from the moment you enter with a very large well appointed reception area.
The reception staff were very helpful. We asked for a fridge and a kettle - the coffee maker was not hot enough for this Scottish tea-drinker and they were delivered free of charge within minutes. the only down side was because of the size of the hotel the faces we saw at reception were constantly changing so we did not get to know them.

The room was very good . It had all you would expect including hairdryer iron and ironing board and large slimline television. A really comfy kingsize bed!! This was a standard room not an executive one.
There was free wi-fi in the room which helped me keep in touch with home .The small downside was I had to renew the connection everyday which was a bit of a hassle.
Best of all it had a seating area with couch chair and table -the main reason we chose this hotel as we would be there for nearly 3 weeks and were looking for some home comforts.
the room was cleaned every day and towels etc replenished.

We made great use of the swimming pool which was of a high standard with lovely fluffy towels provided. My only small quibble was that it was unmanned and I could see no evidence of close circuit television. I often was alone in the pool and wondered how long I would go unnoticed if I met with an accident.

We did not eat in the hotel although the daytime menu looked good. we would have taken breakfast if it had been a little less expensive. $18 each for what was a very standard breakfast was extortionate especially as some central hotels serve a similar breakfast free.
In another review I will tell you of the excellent alternative we found at $7 including the ubiquitous 15% add on.

The hotel is ideally placed for getting around Toronto. A 1 minute walk to the bus station and a 8-10min walk to Union Train and Subway station. It is also close enough to walk to Eaton Shopping Mall the Distillery District Lakeside etc.Its less than 5 minutes from St Lawrence Market.

Some tips -ask for those little extras to make your stay comfie -kettle etc I found them very obliging.
- there are always taxis outside the hotel night and day.I ordered one through the hotel and it cost over twice as much -it was a limo though!!
-look around the area for breakfast -lots of choice.
-don't use the bar snacks -extortionate -there is a shop right next to the hotel
-unless in a hurry don't use the laundry service .There is a wash and fold service just beside St Lawrence Market where the clothes come back as if they had been ironed -very impressive.

A nice hotel but it is an hotel and for those home -from - home touches it takes a wee bit of effort.
Would stay there again for the comfort of the room ,Its swimming pool and its central position.

Room Tip: The 8th floor is where the pool is lovely to walk just along the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigmamma10_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovoteltc, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your very detailed review of your stay with us. Our breakfast is one of the very best in the city. Generally in Downtown Toronto hotels breakfast is not included in the price unless you buy a package deal. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 136 in Toronto
1,024 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#49 of 136 in Toronto
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#39 of 136 in Toronto
1,777 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Toronto Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Toronto Centre

Property: Novotel Toronto Centre
Address: 45 The Esplanade, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Toronto
#34 Family Hotel in Toronto
#42 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Toronto Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Toronto is nestled in the historic district of Old Town Toronto. Get a glimpse into Toronto’s past strolling through cobblestone streets, enjoy a wide array of gastronomical international treats at the St. Lawrence Market or savour the flavours from myriad restaurants and pubs. Just steps from the Hockey Hall of Fame, Harbourfront and Union Station, the Novotel is 30 minutes from Pearson International Airport and 5 minutes from Billy Bishop Airport.With a European flavour, whether you are staying for business or pleasure the hotel offers a variety of services to make any stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Toronto Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Toronto Centre Hotel Toronto
Accor Toronto Centre
Toronto Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing