We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Toronto Centre
Ranked #47 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Hotel could not find our booking in this digital age and I have to produce the confirmation email to prove the reservation. Kept us waiting with no apologies or any urgencies. Offered us a lesser room to the one we booked we refused. Then offered us the room type we wanted.

Notwithstanding these initial hiccups, our family's seven nights stay during mid to late August this year went smoothly. We paid competitive rates since booked during sales time. But breakfast was not included. Room was large enough for the family, similar in sizes to the ones found in other branded hotels in Europe. A few times we tried the Breakfast which was very good especially the breads. Children eat free with paying adult. Location was excellent, most of downtown attractions are within the walking distance. We did not used other hotel facilities. Would recommend the hotel for families and look for offers in their rates.

Construction works going on in the vicinity including works to Union Station and this might cause a bit of disorientation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_S_T_Sivakumaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,027 - 1,033 of 2,229 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

We ended up booking at this hotel because we found a good deal, but I wasn't convinced about it because of past reviews. However, I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were very clean and modernized (flat screen TV and free wifi). No complaints about the service. By booking through Booking.com, we also got a free full breakfast which normally costs about $18 per person. The best thing about this hotel is the location. We were able to walk to the hotel from Union station and to all the places we wanted to visit including the CN Tower.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank DavidAL04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here with my extra out of town guests. Great location because it's located near the St. Lawrence market, great restaurants for dinner and breakfast/brunch on Front Street and Esplanade, and near transit.

Hotel had a nice trendy lobby, and the hotel room was small but nice fitting two queen sized beds. Walls are extremely thin, you can hear a lot from the hallways and the neighbouring rooms. I think this is due to the age of the hotel.

Overall price was pretty expensive for one room $240. I don't think much was happening in Toronto that weekend so I cannot explain that price. Not worth the stay, you can look for cheaper hotels in the area that have similar decor and 'trendy' style.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clumsythief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovoteltc, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your review of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Booked through Booking.com and included free breakfast...which was a glitch but hotel honored it (thank you). Paid $102 (a real steal) a night. Stayed Aug 24-28.

Pros: very clean (great housekeepers), quiet, pool and jacuzzi wonderful, breakfast had lots of choices and very friendly staff, free in-room safe, large tv, very comfy mattress and pillows, no bed bugs, pool open until 11 PM.

Cons: not much...1$ local calls, mini-bar stressful as there are direct sensors inside fridge to hotel billing and my daughter was grabbing some items, official web site stated had to pay for regular tv viewing which was not the case (weird), wifi had to be reset every day and was slow

Room Tip: families with kids who want to use pool take the 8th floor; south side of hotel quieter;
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ludovico69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-NTC, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Ludovico69,
Thank you for your detailed pros and cons regarding your stay at the hotel. Customer satisfaction is our goal and we clearly achieved that during your stay. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Went in july 2012. The location is good, price is reasonable but sevices typically novotel, minimal. Anyway, it is a clean hotel with decent rooms and all places within walking distance. Would recommend as value for money place.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smilingdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-NTC, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear smilingdoc,
Thank you for your comments about your stay at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Toronto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great Hotel in a central location with many restaurants/bars across the road. Free Wifi in the rooms which was very handy. Staff were friendly and polite and arranged tours for us. The only downside was that breakfast was not included in the price of a room Breakfast at the hotel cost $22 plus the usual tax and tips per person. Very expensive!!! However no shortage of alternative restaurants in the surrounding area to find breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minstrals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-NTC, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Minstrals,
We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments regarding the breakfast at the hotel. Our breakfast has one of the largest selections of items available in the city, at $18.50 it is a very good deal. I agree that we have a lot of options around us, but we offer quality, ambience and service.
We look forward to welcoming you in the near future once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Been there in August for 9 Days. The room was clean, but noisy as hell, you could at all time hear the noises from the ventilation system, even when your ac was shut off. also the cleaning crew wouldn't care if you set a do not disturb sign and start cleaning the hallway at around 8 am.
tv would have been good, if the remote worked. though the in house "entertainment" system seems to be stuck in the 90s, no HD or anything alike.
Wifi was cut off on the last day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dominik v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-NTC, Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear ScottVega,

Thank you for staying with us for nine days in August. It is unfortunate that you did not find our room noise free. I have taken your comments to our housekeeping team and will try and rectify the situation for the future. As for your comment on the TV's, we offer full HD signal throughout the hotel, on large LED 42" to 46" state of the art TV's.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 138 in Toronto
1,100 reviews
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#57 of 138 in Toronto
1,677 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#23 of 138 in Toronto
3,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Toronto Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Toronto Centre

Address: 45 The Esplanade, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Toronto
#24 Family Hotel in Toronto
#42 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $120 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Toronto Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Toronto is nestled in the historic district of Old Town Toronto. Get a glimpse into Toronto’s past strolling through cobblestone streets, enjoy a wide array of gastronomical international treats at the St. Lawrence Market or savour the flavours from myriad restaurants and pubs. Just steps from the Hockey Hall of Fame, Harbourfront and Union Station, the Novotel is 30 minutes from Pearson International Airport and 5 minutes from Billy Bishop Airport.With a European flavour, whether you are staying for business or pleasure the hotel offers a variety of services to make any stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novotel Toronto Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Toronto Centre Hotel Toronto
Accor Toronto Centre
Toronto Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing