We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great short trip to Toronto”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Toronto Centre
Ranked #44 of 134 Hotels in Toronto
GreenLeadersGold level
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great short trip to Toronto”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at the Novotel Toronto Centre for 3 nights from Sunday 31st March 2013. Hotel is really well situated for such a short stay and we walked to most places we wanted to visit. The room was clean & spacious and maid service was good. We ate in the bar, again service was great and food good value too. Special mention to Janet on the front desk - really helpful and so friendly.
Building work in the area had no effect on our stay whatsoever.
Would recommend this hotel for a short break.

Room Tip: We were in room 534 which didn't have a view but was quiet, I would obviously imagine higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dot4h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise E, Director of Sales at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I have forwarded to our front office department your special mention of Janet, one of our Front Desk Associates. Again thank you for taking the time to provide your review and we look forward to another opportunity in the future to welcome you back to Toronto and to the Novotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    954
    404
    131
    77
See reviews for
455
671
144
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
195 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times. Its location is great as you are close to a daily indoor market, the main train/subway station, and lots of great restaurants. It is just off a main street so the area itself is quite compared to the rest of the city. Rooms are clean and the check-in is quick. A good value for a great location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AjoPirata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

For the price I was totally impressed with this hotel until our last night. First of all the positives:
Location - Excellent
Close to Yonge Street, Eaton Centre & Dundas Square(shopping centre) 5-10 minute walk. Close to Union Station, Hockey Hall of Fame and Roger Centre (where the Blue Jays play Baseball). Tim Horton coffee shop 1 block away. Great restaurants across the road. Hotel also has restaurants. St Lawrence market just up the street.
Check-In
Quick and informative. They also booked us on the hop-on-hop off bus for the following day with pick up from the hotel. This was $40 per person. Little bit expensive for what it is but it does give you an narrated tour of the city. The bus only does 3 loops a day. So there is an hour wait at each stop. I noticed on check out that they had a fact sheet with the top 10 attractions of Toronto. This would have been extremely handy at check in.
Taxi to hotel from Airport
$55. Hotel was happy to organise return taxi which was $58 inc taxs and tips.
Room
Nice and clean. Nothing flash but I think the location makes up for this. We had a standard room and I find it quite funny that the still have old, boxy TV's, not flat-screens. Shower/Bath combo with a shower curtain. No shower cap provided.
You hear quite a bit of hallway noise. This didn't help with drunken Blue Jay fans drinking in their room. This only happened on our last night as the Blue Jays were playing but was quite annoying. Our room looked over a car park. Hot water ran out o. Sunday morning.
All is all an excellent value for money hotel. With great location.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jlp9202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovoteltc, Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for the positive comments. We work hard to offer good experience and friendly, efficient service, and I‟m so glad your visit was enjoyable. I will pass your feedback on to the team, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Ii have stayed on the Novotel Toronto centre a few times. It is near the Go bus terminal and Union Station, close to a lot of restaurants and shopping. You could walk to the Eaton Centre or get a subway, only a few minutes to get there. Rooms are not fancy, but roomy, clean and a great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise E, Director of Sales at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Novotel. Very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Novotel to see the Maple Leafs play. It was easy to get to, despite all the downtown construction, and the location to the stadium was excellent. There were a large number of good places to eat and the hockey Hall of Fame was also close. The price was very competitive and the hotel was well run.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim80516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Amherst, New York, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Beds and pillows were uncomfortable. Location was great. Quite a bit of road and building construction made arrival slightly tricky. Fitness area was adequate. There were a number of unsupervised teens who were somewhat noisy and disruptive in the fitness and pool area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Barry14051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise E, Director of Sales at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Your feedback is very valuable to us and I am sorry to hear that you did not find the bedding comfortable. Certainly if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable the next time please do not hestitate to let us know. Thank you for choosing the Novotel and we hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

From the reception, maids, breakfast staff to leaving, the people that are employed there are wonderful. They are courteous and look like they enjoy their job. Room was as clean as any other room. Beautiful hotel, wonderful breakfast with lots of choices, hot and cold. The hotel is convenient to many restaurants, shopping and a movie theatre. These are the pluses.

The negatives. The room as I've said was clean, though sleeping in the floor would of been just as comfortable as sleeping in the bed. It was that hard. I had to take asprin daily from the soreness. The room was stiffling. Too warm and we had the settings at 60 degrees, so I'm thinking the thermostat was broke. Called for maintence which they at least accomplished that the fan was working though it didn't cool off the room. Very hard to sleep at night when you can grow plants in there. We were miserable and we brought a small FAN with us for white noise. The hotel hallways were cool and comfortable and my husband jokingly threatened to keep the door open at night. Found out that the hotel regulates the temp and the thermostats in the room are for show and tell. So if you're too warm in the winter, your screwed and if your too cool in summer, your screwed. I wouldn't or couldn't stay in any hotels ever again with this type of regulation over my comfort. I couldn't recommend this hotel only for this one point.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank RGalbraith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovoteltc, Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear RGalbraith,

I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Currently the temperatures in Toronto are fluctuating from plus 10 to minus 3 at night, which makes the control of the inroom climate a bit difficult therefore, our thermostats are set at a minimum and a maximum temparture to try and control these fluctuations. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 134 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#52 of 134 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#55 of 134 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Toronto Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Toronto Centre

Property: Novotel Toronto Centre
Address: 45 The Esplanade, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Toronto
#34 Family Hotel in Toronto
#42 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Toronto Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Toronto is nestled in the historic district of Old Town Toronto. Get a glimpse into Toronto’s past strolling through cobblestone streets, enjoy a wide array of gastronomical international treats at the St. Lawrence Market or savour the flavours from myriad restaurants and pubs. Just steps from the Hockey Hall of Fame, Harbourfront and Union Station, the Novotel is 30 minutes from Pearson International Airport and 5 minutes from Billy Bishop Airport.With a European flavour, whether you are staying for business or pleasure the hotel offers a variety of services to make any stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Toronto Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Toronto Centre Hotel Toronto
Accor Toronto Centre
Toronto Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing