We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nooooo more Novotel for me”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Toronto Centre
Ranked #47 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Bottom line - we didn't like the Novotel. Can't pinpoint too much of what we didn't like I get its a boutique stye hotel but the rooms were very small compared to other downtown Toronto hotels in the same price range. The rooms were very very clean so no issues there. The location is very cool... across from a bunch of restaurants and you can see the St. Lawrence Market down the street, and there's a Sobey's a few block away. To use the elevator you had to use your key card, if I was a solo female traveler this would have been a nice feature. But nobody told us how to work it and we ended up riding the elevator for a bit. I would probably say the small rooms, no fridge, and teeny tiny windows made you feel like you were staying in an attic apartment which was the biggest deterrent for us over location.
Also internet only available if you pay for it!! Absurd.....

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawthorn54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,378 - 1,384 of 2,210 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed at this hotel during a meeting and took photos, which I aim to post later when I am on the correct computer!

The good: Hotel was in an area that had many outside-inside bars and restaurants but was not rowdy. Down the street was a market, although I found this out when I drove past in on leaving.
Pleasant, helpful staff. Comfortable King bed and I slept well. Nice sized bathroom but an ordinary sized tub. Great shampoo and I like a good quality shampoo. Clean.
Large meeting room, great waiters and food was excellent - lots of free flowing coffee!
Close to Union Street Station

The bad: No luxury at all. Hotel bedroom was tiny and I have never seen a narrower window in a bedroom.. made the room extremely dark and felt claustrophobic - I HAVE to post a pic of it because it was just unbelievable. Bed looked older and little pillows adorning it were tiny and looked home-made. Sofa seemed that it must have been a pullout. It was covered with a terrible sofa cover which was just plain ugly. TV was old and the big-back type, picture was not that good. Internet was free but very poor - hard to continue a connection. Carpet looked old, drawers for clothes were by the door and virtually non-existent. Room was cold and I adjusted heat often. I don't think I have been in a poorer looking room - even in a motel. Definitely needed updating. The elevator gave a little lurch most of the time before moving to the floor you wanted. Carpet in the meeting room looked very dated. Winners store nearby if you like it but not near Eatons Centre.

I took the Airport Express bus from the airport and then changed buses to go to the hotel. This was easy enough. Apparently, I could have caught a downtown bus and got on the subway to union for a cheaper cost and the airport limos cost $60 to this hotel.

I personally would not choose this hotel for a vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view or large window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkswithafriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Not a lover of Novotels, I booked here reluctantly.
However it turned out to be a pleasant surprise.Well situated for the CN tower and within walking distance of King street, ( nice for bars and restaurants).
The pool was small and basic but they had one.
The Esplanade is a good area for eating and a relaxing beer.
Rooms are typical American style so it had everything you need.
Try Bennigans for a steak on Queen street.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

I stayed at the Novotel for a few nights in March and it was a decent place for the money - a friend of mine described it as 'a good place if you're price conscious'. The hotel is fine, the room was fine, the restaurant and bar were fine. But I was in Toronto on business and the internet connection just sucked. For two days I was not able to log into my corporate network and that was not a good thing. So for the price it's great. But... if you need to get some work done this isn't the best option.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swfguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

the place was near all main attractions but not recommended for people who expect value for money nor for those who expect hospitality....the workers work with the attitude of ' this is the service which are our wages worth'

The front desk lady uttered two words and then asked her boss to come over for no apparent reason and the boss started to utter something about they cannot empty the minibar and they would put a fridge which the front desk lady could have said ....the Boss lady was using her hands and eyebrows to convey the talking in a way we watch in real housewives episodes .....very unprofessional and degrading.

The room was clean and a fridge was placed as requested ( i asked to empty the minibar or to put a fridge at no extra cost............and to be honest i find it offensive to my religion to find alcoholics in the minibar so i asked for the first option which is empty the minibar).......the bathroom seemd recently renovated because it did not match the room style and the bathtub was extremely small especially for an 'executive room' which does not differ one bit from regular room except for the LCD TV.

We had dinner in the restaurant with a pri-fix menu called theater menu which is only mentioned by named in their written menu and when u ask for the details the waiter slurred the details and has nervously reptead the options as if i had to memorize it to pick what i wanted

we had to check out at 12 o'clock so literally at 10:45 the cleaning lady decided she wants to clean the room and entered without notice and my husband told her we have not checked out yet and she can come back later.....which she did 20 minutes again ...again without knocking but this time we had the door locked .......so not sure whats happening there

the breakfast did not have any kind of salad ......nor gluten free options.....the bread served the first day was baked at least one week earlier cause u could hurt someone if u hit him/her using it......the second day there was a limited number of two seating tables and the one i choose was not clean and i was waiting for the waiter to clean and she said again using her eyebrows and finger 'she has many other things to do other than cleaning the table'.....and for some reason they expected to be tipped after this behaviour......the person who escorts u to your table was a little better than the rest though

so very bad service not worth tipping.......and not hospitality trained ppl for sure

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travellermimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Great service,nice room,great breakfast. Will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerrykaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

My daughter, grandson and I stayed her for a 2 day mini-vacation to see the Lion King. The front desk staff (Noonish) were extremely helpful and pleasant to deal with. My grandson got a cute stuffed toy + a small game of dominoes for his stay and he was thrilled and felt like he was part of the whole check-in experience.
Room ( 2 queens) was on the 5th floor facing street but was fairly quiet even though there was a movie company set up. There was only one chair though which given that we had two beds was unusual. Bathroom was very big and well equiped - hand held shower + hair dryer.

Pool was an average size for a hotel but you had to go down a very steep set of stairs to access the shower and gym facility. Gym looked very good. ** Pool's shallow end is 1.5m so not too kid friendly. There is a generously-sized hot spa.

We did not eat in the restaurants and since our stay did not include the breakfast buffet - $16. per person, kids under 12 free - we took the short walk up the hill to have breakfast at Fran's. (corner of Front and Scott).

Every staff member we met was friendly, efficient, extremely willing to assist with directions or suggestions for restaurants etc and just downright pleasant to deal with.

We would stay again.

Room Tip: Novotel price matches other sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntarioTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 138 in Toronto
1,089 reviews
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#57 of 138 in Toronto
1,664 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#59 of 138 in Toronto
2,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Toronto Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Toronto Centre

Address: 45 The Esplanade, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Toronto
#24 Family Hotel in Toronto
#42 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $118 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Toronto Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Toronto is nestled in the historic district of Old Town Toronto. Get a glimpse into Toronto’s past strolling through cobblestone streets, enjoy a wide array of gastronomical international treats at the St. Lawrence Market or savour the flavours from myriad restaurants and pubs. Just steps from the Hockey Hall of Fame, Harbourfront and Union Station, the Novotel is 30 minutes from Pearson International Airport and 5 minutes from Billy Bishop Airport.With a European flavour, whether you are staying for business or pleasure the hotel offers a variety of services to make any stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Toronto Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Toronto Centre Hotel Toronto
Accor Toronto Centre
Toronto Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing