We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Madison Manor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #86 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Noisy room, not fresh, creepy manager, difficult check-in and check-out...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Themaddy, Manager at Madison Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Good Morning

I am sorry to hear about your stay at the Madison Manor. In an effort to rectify the problems with your stay I would appreciate it if you could let me know when you were here and expand on the issues you had with your stay, ie: creepy manager etc.. I can be contacted directly at chris@madisonavenuepub.com or 416-560-4098.

Again i apologize for your experience and would like to make amends and ensure this does not happen again.

Thanks
Chris Haslett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    62
    38
    17
    11
See reviews for
19
75
28
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Have been here once only but was recommended by many people and friends. The hotel/B&B is located into a huge victorian house. So size and confort is a bit of the old times, but details and atmosphere is very nice. The location is also great, near Bloor/Spadina and all Toronto's amenities and public transit. Only sligthly negative sides are: the limited breakfast (but there is plenty of choice in the area) and some noise in the weekend (but you wanted to stay in downtown...). Also, be ready to deal with some stairs without elevator.

Overall, I think it is very difficult to get a similar accomodation in an equivalent location, for the price they ask.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank netdepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

This was a good place for a one-night stay for my husband and I while out with friends. The room we had faced the busy dive bar the Madison is known for, and it was somewhat loud up until 1 a.m. I drowned it out with the TV, though, so it was fine. Clean, plush rooms and reasonably sized bathrooms. Keep in mind that it's a walk-up, so getting to the room provided a bit of extra exercise; may not be suitable for older or disabled patrons.

Room Tip: If you're bothered by bar noise or need an early night, ask for a room not facing the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We has room 302, which had a little balcony overlooking Madison. It was a great place for a happy hour scotch. The people watching was fun and the nights were velvet. The Pub complex was interesting but the service was awful, My wife ordered a Hamburger and waited an hour. My meal was overcooked but tasted ok. The hotel also had screwed internet connections and when I tried to get the staff to fix it - it didn't happen. B.S. in this day of connectivity. We would stay there again but eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: One of the front rooms with a balcony (302, 401?) are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grospoppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Stayed here for just one night, while introducing a family member to the Bloor Street / Annex area and neighbourhood. While our room was not large by North American standards, it was more than adequate, and the place was clean (no bedbugs, which is a Toronto concern), with o.k. furnishings and a nice bathroom. A large pub (part of the same business) is located next door; we weren't disturbed by it, though perhaps this was because we stayed here on a Sunday night. We didn't partake of the included breakfast, preferring instead to sample the great neighbourhood fare. Overall I feel we received reasonable value for the cost charged.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tutchone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2011

The front desk service was friendly and helpful. Not-working hairdrier was fixed in no time. My room was partly underground, which meant less daylight. It had a kitchenette with microwave, coffee maker, and a fridge. I could hear the sound of the nearby subway station and the a/c was somewhat noisy as well, so I'd advise to bring earplugs for a good night's sleep. The pub next door was very busy some nights, but with earplugs, it wasn't a problem. Complimentary breakfast was the same every day, some variation would have been nice.
The Spadina subway station was only a short distance away, massive shopping opportunities also a short walk away, so location was really good.
All in all, nice location at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fore5t77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

My husband and I just returned from our trip to Toronto and the Madison Manor. We were very happy with our experience there. The room was clean and comfortable (although the decor is a little tired) and we were lucky to have a room that was far from the noise of the hotel's teeming bar. If you are a light sleeper and are planning a trip during the university semester, you might want to request a back room. The place gets PACKED with college kids, especially on weekends. But, we stayed in Room 203 and didn't hear a peep! The breakfast was nice and the location excellent-- lots of restaurants nearby and very close to the Spadina subway. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a quieter room if you're a light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
#76 of 136 in Toronto
472 reviews
Chinatown
Studio 6 Toronto
Studio 6 Toronto
#97 of 136 in Toronto
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
University of Toronto - New College Residence - Wilson Hall Residence
Downtown
Wellesley Manor Boutique Hotel
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Manor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Manor Boutique Hotel

Property: Madison Manor Boutique Hotel
Address: 20 Madison Ave, Toronto, Ontario M5R 2S1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Madison Manor Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Madison Manor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Manor Boutique Toronto
Hotel Madison Manor Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing