We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the greatest hotels in Toronto”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Ranked #9 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2009

I can't even begin to describe how incredible this hotel is. Every single time that I stay here I am more and more amazed by their exceptional level of customer service and dedication to making each experience for each guest an amazing one. From the friendly front desk staff to the spacious, clean rooms I can't think of another place that I'd like to stay. The in-room service is incredible (the food is amazing!) and the hotel in general goes out of their way to make sure that you feel welcome and special. I love it!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiguelToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,175 - 3,181 of 3,589 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2009

We stayed using SPG points and were not disappointed. The room was Jr. Club level and included complimentary Club beverages and snack in the evening, continental breakfast and internet. The room was of a nice size and we were impressed. The shower water pressure did seem a little off initially but it was a result of the shower head being placed on a low pressure setting. Did not notice any hot water issues in our two night stay. Location was very good and we opted to find our own parking nearby and from what I read, we saved some money on this part. The parking lot was 1/2 block away. We recommend if the price is right.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gscougar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Our stay unfortunately coincided with 'Wuffstock' the dog festival and we shared lifts and public rooms with barking slavering dogs it was incredible. If you are planning to visit Toronto check which hotels do NOT allow dogs and you will be safe. The hotel also wanted to charge us a ridiculous amount of money to have beverage facilities in our room. By the time we arrived at this hotel we had travelled all across Canada and this was the only hotel which wanted to levy a charge.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELAINE068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Priceline is my new best friend! This was my first time using priceline to bid for lodging. My bid of $80 a night was accepted (looks like it could have been lower around $65 according to other reviews). After this experience, I learned one trick for bidding. To make sure you get the lowest price that would be accepted, make sure to go to tripadvisor, do a search for the city you want to stay in and the word "priceline" in your search. You'll get a bunch of reviews with people telling you what they bid. Using those numbers, you'll get an idea what would be accepted by Priceline.

Anyway, back to the hotel, like any first timers, I was worried after reading the reviews for this hotel. But I got my fingers crossed hoping things will work out well and they did.

For eighty dollars a night, we can't really complain. And there wasn't much to complain about except for 2 things:

1) we had to wait an hour before our room was ready, and that was only we nagged the front desk. We arrived for check-in at 3:30. They kept telling us the room would be ready in 20 minutes. After the third time, my husband got upset and that was when they really called up housekeeping and got them to start cleaning the room.

2) None of the doormen were very friendly. No "hello", no "welcome".. but whatever.. I didn't really care.

The room itself was big with high ceiling. It was clean. The bathroom was good size. It's just like any other hotel for its normal price range. It's right in the middle of downtown Torronto, one block to a Catholic Church, 2-3 blocks a farmer's market (St. Laurence Market--which I didn't really care for). 6 blocks to Eaton shopping center.

We never ran out of hot water in our bathroom nor did we think the water pressure was low like other reviewers had said. I had a bath full of hot water to soak in every night. But I think we were lucky because we met another young couple in the elevator and they mentioned their hot water ran out. We also received a notice saying that they would have some one to come and fix the hot water/electrical problems in the building.

I don't understand why people were complaining about the cost of meals, valet parking, internet connection, and of the minibar drinks. It's a hotel! Any of such thing is expensive! What did they expect?! And from my experience at staying at 4-star hotels, I had always been charged for internet connection, so I'm pretty use to the charge.. No complaints from me here. I also learned that $40 valet parking is actually comparable to any downtown parking. Because we went to Chicago the next week and the hotel we stayed at hat valet parking for $51, self parking was $36. That puts things into perspective, doesn't it.

Overall, this hotel is just like any other hotel we stayed at in terms of services and prices. And for the price we paid, we'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wondermind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

Upon check in at 4:30 pm (standard check in is 3:00 pm) we waited 30 min because our room was "not ready". My reservation was club level Jr. Suite, we ended up in an executive room ... not on club level. The I had to remind them that club level included amenities (breakfast, Hors d'œuvres & drinks, etc.) frustrating check in process. Be prepared to be nickel & dimed (no ice makers on indivudual floors so when we asked for a bucket of ice we were told 1 is complimentary and if we ordered a second bucket we would be charged $3... so tacky) Internet is available at a fee... at this level they should just throw it in... I mean c'mon people... if the Hilton Garden Inn & Courtyard Marriott can throw it in... so can a hotel that boasts a $300 a night stay... Room was dirty, carpets in hallways & room are old, dirty, torn, etc. Bed was really uncomfortable, seemed hard, flat, not a good combination when you are looking for a good night sleep. Overall not a pleasant experience. For the record the standard in Toronto is quite low... compared to cities like Miami, NY, Chicago, etc. I have stayed in every single 4 star hotel in the East & West sides of Dwntwn Toronto and I am not impressed to say the least. Hilton Dwntwn provides the best accomadations but lacks in service...

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelJunkie90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

As you walk into the lobby it full of beautiful decorations and architecture. But thats where it ends. The rooms and all facilitys are very tacky and they seemed to was to be elegant but something always felt missing. In the rooms you could hear all the noise surrounding you and everything made odd sounds, the taps to the beds. All spa purchases were very expensive and not adiquate and no staff was very friendly. However it is within walking distance of the Eaton Centre and close to subways and easy to get taxi's with the assistance of the valet.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZoeyCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Booked through priceline and I echo the previous poster's comments regarding staff attitude towards priceline customers. Why does this hotel even bother to offer rooms through the site if they are going to be so hostile? A guest is a guest... it shouldn't matter how they booked the room.

Arrived at 4:30, greeted by an unfriendly front desk clerk who told us that the room wouldn't be ready until 5pm (I think check-in time was 3pm). After waiting 30 minutes I went back up to the front desk and this time a friendlier staff person checked us in. The room was finally ready. We got to the room which was very basic and small. There were stains on the carpet and the furniture was worn a bit.

There are much nicer hotels in Toronto this this one. The rooms and front desk staff need an upgrade.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank netgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 137 in Toronto
3,552 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#7 Family Hotel in Toronto
#8 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#8 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $201 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian Hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing