We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Ranked #8 of 134 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I had booked a suite and upgraded room for what I hoped was a lovely family vacation. Union check in I was told I had a upgraded room, but when I went upstairs the room was dark, and looked directly into a brick wall. Even in the middle if the day you needed all the lights on. I called downstairs to see if I could change rooms but they didn't have anything that night. The next day I checked again and they had something overlooking a construction site. They said they could move me another two days later but by that time the trip was almost over. They tried to make good by giving me free wifiredirect but honestly I would just have preferred a good normal room. Overall very disappointing. For the price you expect so much more.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, Guest Relations Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear nbtravel,

We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize if we were unable to provide you a room with a better view. Please contact the Executive Office directly before your next scheduled visit so that everything is just as you would expect.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Omni King Edward Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,086
    766
    249
    112
    42
See reviews for
516
1,246
182
888
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Booked via Booking.com after cancelling two other hotels. This was a great choice. Apart from a slight problem when checking in - the receptionist couldn't find our booking - this hotel was lovely. On realising her mistake the receptionist announced she would send fruit to our room by way of apology. We never received this fruit but this did not take away from our overall experience. The doorman, Chris, was able to pinpoint our accent to within 30 miles of where we live and was a mine of information. The barman, Baz, was an absolute gentleman. The shop was run by a really lovely gentleman. - unfortunately I didn't get his name.

Our room wasn't one of the refurbished rooms but was really clean and had great character. Ice was delivered each evening and the bed turned down. Tea was delivered each morning, beautifully presented. The room was a king room on the 11th floor and was really quiet and spacious. The foyer is absolutely beautiful.

The hotel is very centrally located and within walking distance of many attractions - Dundas Square, the CNN tower, harbour area etc.

Although the bathrooms are in need of some modernisation, they are spotlessly clean. Our room

My only gripe would be the lack of information in the room about the hotel and local information. They missed a trick in not promoting their spa (I only discovered the spa and their prices when looking for ice one day).

I would, however, recommend this hotel. We signed up for Omni Select Guest and received free wifi which was useful as we were in constant contact with family in Ireland, New Zealand and USA.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiFiNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel staff was very accommodating, rooms were very clean and comfortable with a great mattress and it is centrally located which was nice. However, it does come with a price. With upgraded rooms and parking, it came out to $600 for two nights......and that was supposed to be a Top Secret Hotel deal! Wow!!! I wonder what the regular price would have been.

Unfortunately, there was a group of people across the hall that sounded like they had a little too much to drink and they got into a late night argument. After calling the front desk, the noise ceased and we were comped with a breakfast on the house. We were very pleased with the staff and thought they handled the situation to the best of their ability.

I would recommend this hotel...it was very nice!

Room Tip: I would recommend one of the upgraded newly renovated rooms which are on the 6th floor. Of course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Friendly hotel staff, newly renovated very clean room and excellent service !!! Absolutely I will recommend this hotel and I will be back again !! Toronto is a beautiful city and The Omni King Edward Hotel won't disappoint you !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank CocoKobeJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, Guest Relations Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear CocoKobeJapan,

It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed the hotel's newly renovated room and were pleased with the staff's friendly service. Thank you for your enthusiastic recommendation of the Omni King Edward Hotel to the travel community. We appreciate your review and look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

If you are in town for business, the hotel is well located, and you can walk to most downtown locations. Rooms are well-appointed, large, clean and the staff is helpful. Nice exercise facility for a hotel. If you are an Omni member, wifi is free.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ITArsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Hadn't stayed at the King Edward for 6 years and found it still to be a very nice hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was nice, clean and very comfortable. Good nights sleep. Breakfast was the only meal we had and it was good. Nice fresh fruit, muffin and yogurt. I thought the Valet parking at $45 per day was a little over the top and I was surprised that the WiFi was also available at a cost. All in all we had a good stay and we were very pleased that our request for a late check out was granted immediately.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DonJ532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Spent one evening at the Omni King Edward, in a suite, and the experience was fantastic. The hotel has ‘old world’ charm, and is convenient relative to it’s location (although access to unloading of luggage can be compromised due to road traffic in the front of the hotel). We were greeted by the Concierge upon parking in front of the building, and were offered help with our overnight bags – not necessary, so Valet took care of the vehicle (which is very convenient, but on the expensive side). Once into the lobby, we were greeted enthusiastically by the staff at the front desk, and were quickly provided all the information necessary for both what the hotel had to offer, and the cards to our room.

The room we had booked, was a one bedroom suite, and it was perfect. An overabundance of room, well appointed, and very comfortable. Given that this hotel is located right downtown, there was an anticipation of some noise from outside, but this was not the case….there was no noticeable noise from either outside of the hotel, nor from within…..which led to a great nights rest on a very comfortable king sized bed.

While we only spent the night, we did have the chance to try out the bar (after an excursion around downtown), and, again, were treated to a level of service that you would expect to find in a hotel of this quality. It truly was a great experience – one that I would not hesitate to repeat when the opportunity presents itself.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreeRose2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 134 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#22 of 134 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Property: The Omni King Edward Hotel
Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#7 Family Hotel in Toronto
#7 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#8 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian Hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing