We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Ranked #8 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I was in Toronto on business but managed to take a bit of time to enjoy the city. The front door staff was especially helpful with directions etc. I love staying at historic hotels and the King Eddy was great. Beautiful lobby and ballroom. The food was also good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank LisaMacAttack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,141
    780
    251
    112
    42
See reviews for
525
1,273
185
910
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Lovely hotel to stay at in Toronto. Walking distance to everything downtown. Around the corner from St Lawrence market. Great restaurants nearby. Minutes from the Eaton Centre. Comfortable room. Nice staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank 512janiceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The entrance and main lobby of the King Edward is its best feature. Loved the period decor, soaring ceiling height, high tea area and eloquent furnishings. The front desk reception was excellent as was the concierge. I feel I had no choice rating this hotel as a three star as the room was very tired-looking with dated furnishings, worn carpet, old-fashioned wallpaper and artwork in need of replacement. The space itself was large, I did appreciate having a safe and the bathroom was the nicest part. However, in this technological age I was appalled that I was expected to pay for wifi service! It was free in the main lobby but not in-room. Not much point in trying to sell your product as luxury when the facade is hiding the true quality. The location was quite good but I would only consider staying here again if I got a killer deal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quietbeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear quietbeachgirl,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay. I am delighted to know that overall you had a pleasant stay and that service was excellent from both the front desk and the concierge. I am also pleased to advise that in an effort to upgrade and serve our guests better, the guest rooms are currently undergoing renovation in phases. We look forward to showcasing more newly renovated rooms in the upcoming months. Your comment about the availability of free wifi will be further reviewed for consideration in the future.

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing to stay at the Omni king Edward.

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The front desk changed our room when we complained about the cleanliness and that it wasn't what we expected for the price. They immediately changed it with no issues and gave us a complimentary platter of fruit as an apology.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Hotel was beautiful and the staff were amazing and very polite. Highly recommend this hotel to any friends or family looking for a night out in the city. The location is great and the Valet service is fast and staff is friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonthill, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

When booking ensure you are recieving a updated room, otherwise you will have a room that looks nothing like the pictures described on the website. My room was outdated and worn and the carpets were stained.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Laura M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. Please accept my apologies for not meeting your room expectations. We have commenced the renovation of guest rooms on two floors as part of a broader plan to renovate the entire hotel. I hope you return to experience our newly renovated rooms.

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stayed 5 nights at this hotel and it was a very good experience.It is well located and the staff's attention was excellent. We intend to come back next year,hoping that at that time we will be assigned a renovated room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Hector R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 136 in Toronto
2,983 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#22 of 136 in Toronto
1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Property: The Omni King Edward Hotel
Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#7 Family Hotel in Toronto
#7 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#8 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian Hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing