We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Toronto”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Ranked #8 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Ramallah
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great stay in Toronto”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

If you are looking for sleek and modern, then the King Edward isn't for you. But it offers a good location steps from the subway system, easy walking distance to many attractions and shopping locations, and with a lovely atmosphere.

I stayed here recently while visiting some friends. The staff was very helpful, especially at the concierge desk - I hadn't been to Canada in about 20 years so wanted some recommendations. My visit happened to coincide with a major water repair, but the staff was very helpful in working around the water outages. When there was a small problem related to sediment in the pipes after the water was turned back on, they immediately sent housekeeping to take care of the issue.

Tip: if you are older or have mobility issues, I would recommend requesting a handicap accessible room. In my room and in the public restrooms the toilets were really low and I know that many of my elder relatives would have serious difficulties with this.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_Mas2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,217
    810
    254
    115
    42
See reviews for
559
1,319
189
928
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

From service to room to food, to friendliness and helpfulness of staff, top marks. I was in the hotel for business, so I was pleased with the large work surface available in my room. At night the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Booked a great weekday rate on Travelzoo for $119 and upgraded to new room for $20 extra.

Beds are a little soft for me but the room was stunning. Staff was awesome and this is a place where you get morning coffee service to your room.

Certainly a place to stay in downtown Toronto!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DavilaDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed at the King Edward Hotel in Toronto during a business conference. Staff is friendly and courteous, and when asked provided hints on things to do in the city and nearby restaurants. Lobby and dining areas are clean and well maintained. Rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet. The fitness center has a wide variety of fitness machines and equipment and is clean and well maintained. The location is in the heart of downtown, close to nearby attractions and public transportation is readily available at the front door.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I purchased a Groupon deal for one night stay at the Omni King Edward for $129/night including wifi.

This hotel is very conveniently located within walking distance of The Eaton Center, St Lawrence Market and CN Tower/Rogers Center. The subway is a block away, which we took to the Rogers Center for the Jays game as it was raining.

We had the option to upgrade our room to the "new" section for $20 but opted to keep the "older" room. We were happy we did because the room was very charming. The bed was very comfy and we didn't hear any noise from King Street. We also didn't hear any noise from people walking in the hallway.

The only downfall about this hotel is that the valet parking is $45/night and no option to self park. Luckily we knew this before hand so we found our own parking about a ten minute walk away. It cost is $16, much better then what the Omni was charging.

If there was a Groupon again in the future we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Was told when booking, about the new upgraded rooms. Checked in, and was given an older postage stamp room. Next day was re reading the reviews and discovered the rennovated rooms were on floor 6. Moved the next day with a $20.00 upgrade and what a difference!!..I think the hotel staff should tell their patrons of this option when checking in!!! All in all a good stay and would likely return. The bell staff, concierge were very helpful.

Also the wi fi in the renovated room was highly superior than the older room..Had issues in the older room with wi fi

Room Tip: Ask for rennovated room if you desire space
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Hotel of great historical significance to Toronto that is returning to its former magnificence. First class service. Location in old Toronto within walking distance of St. Lawrence market added to the pleasure of the visit. Being steps to the subway,the location also opens up the city to visitors. The recent renovations to some rooms really added to the quality of the stay for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank 136jbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 137 in Toronto
3,237 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
#10 of 137 in Toronto
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Property: The Omni King Edward Hotel
Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#7 Family Hotel in Toronto
#7 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#8 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian Hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing