We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old hotel with Huge room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Ranked #8 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice old hotel with Huge room”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Being just off Young and King St., it would be hard to be in a better location than this hotel.
The lobby is grand in the style of classic old hotels. and the room we were had was huge, compared with todays current hotels. While parking is a bit pricey ($45) you can park a block away for much less. Overall, a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Exceptional hotel gym as well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slayer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Slayer6,

I am glad that you enjoyed the spacious room and convenient location of the hotel. I am especially thrilled to know that your overall stay was to your full satisfaction. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Omni King Edward and I look forward to your return visit.

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,173
    790
    253
    113
    42
See reviews for
539
1,291
186
919
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hamilton, ontario
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

lovely hotel, took me back to the time I stayed on the queen mary in long beach CA, the whole staff was very helpful, especially our doorman, we would have wandered over to the st Lawrence market, but he said it was closed, that saved much of our time...the beds were very comfortable and the rooms very quiet. Lovely place. Would go there again. Was in town to see Miley Cyrus, we had a great time all around!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runnerscage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Things started well when Emilie gave me a lovely greeting at the front desk when I arrived. I was given a lovely spacious room with everything you could need. The Concierge desk was very efficient with restaurant recommendations and assistance with some sightseeing. Special mention for Barrington at the Concierge desk and Sean at the door. Great work guys thank you for your help. Will certainly stay here again when I return. Only negative was the service in the rest of the hotel was not necessarily repeated in the Consort Bar where things were a little slow. Overall terrific.

Room Tip: If offered to join the Omni Club do so
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GregLAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear GregLAus,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and acknowledging the efforts of our staff, particularly Emilie, Barrington and Sean who continue to bring personal and professional attention to every guest. We are very fortunate to have them on our team and I will be certain to share your comments with them as they will be pleased to learn of the difference they made to your experience.

I apologize for the slow service you received in the bar which is out of the norm. This will be reviewed to ensure service is always of the highest standard.

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Had a great time. My wifes 50th. Nice room, great beds with view. Thank you for the birthday treat that was put in the room. Totally unexpected. Location is great. We did not eat at the hotel, so can't comment on it, but they looked well done. Concierge was very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skinno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Bed was exceptionally comfortable for a great night's sleep and I was very impressed with the friendliness and attention to detail given by all members of the staff. I purchased a package on the website that included breakfast and the service in the restaurant was superb as was the food. Overall a great value and great amenities for the business traveler.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Jeff T,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Omni King Edward Hotel on your business trip. We are thrilled to know of the excellent service you experienced and very pleased that your overall stay was both comfortable and enjoyable. We appreciate your review and hope to welcome you back when you return to Toronto.

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitby, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I loved the upgrade of the room...on arrival. What a beautiful experiance. Antique furniture and modern paintings and a king bed with tastful decoration. You are in a old hotel that has been fully renovated but you still have the charm of the old hotel as well. And it was 350 square feet...a large bathroom that isn't 2 inches away from the bedroom area - totally luxurious! Everything was perfect and just steps from fabulous restaurants and shows! We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We loved our stay here! We pulled up in our car and a valet immediately welcomed us. I was impressed that he told us about alternate, nearby parking options, rather than just whisk our car away. Still, we used the hotel valet parking because it was included in our AAA room rate. Upon check-in, we were promptly given keys to the room we reserved - 2 queen beds. The front desk staff gave my son a backpack filled with activities. We were amazed when we entered our room - it was huge. 4 windows with a (partially obscured) view of the cn tower. The room also had a desk, sofa, sitting area and a giant bathroom with a bidet and large soaking tub. We loved this room so much, we didn't want to leave it! And to top all this off, housekeeping delivered milk and cookies for my son on our first night.
Room service was great - we all shared a plate of nachos.
We also had afternoon tea - very pricy but lots of fun. The kid's version was adorable!
Service was top notch - from housekeeping to front desk to valet.
Location is convenient - just a few blocks from the Gardiner Expressway. Head to St. Lawrence market for breakfast or Firkin Pub for lunch/dinner. We are walkers and found Yorkville and the Royal Ontario Museum to be within walking distance.
Free wifi, bottled water and morning beverage service if you join free loyalty program. Why not?
Everything was clean, from top to bottom.
In summary - beautiful place, great rates, friendly/helpful staff and convenient location. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdijetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear tdijetta,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community. I am delighted that you enjoyed the comfort of the hotel's spacious rooms and that its location was ideal for your family's visit. It is also good to know that you had fun at the Afternoon tea and that service was friendly.

We appreciate that you chose to stay at The Omni King Edward and we look forward to your return visit.

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 136 in Toronto
3,129 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Property: The Omni King Edward Hotel
Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#7 Family Hotel in Toronto
#7 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#8 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian Hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing