We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded Our Expectations!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Omni King Edward Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Ranked #8 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Exceeded Our Expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel exceeded our expectations in every way. I stayed here with two friends for four nights from December 28, 2013 – January 1, 2014. The rate varied, but it averaged out to $169.50 per night + tax = $196.63 per night. This was a great rate, considering Toronto is one of the most expensive cities in the world.

Room - 



We were assigned a well-appointed and spacious room on the 7th floor. Actually, our room was HUGE – the largest non-suite hotel room I have ever stayed in. It had two queen beds, large desk, 32” plasma television, ipod docking station, two closets, a safe, a Keurig machine with complimentary K-cup coffee and tea, a separate room that had a toilet, sink, and magnified mirror with a light, and another separate room that had a sink and the shower/tub. The set-up was absolutely perfect for three people. The bed linens were luxurious and the pillows were plush. The shower water temperature got very hot and it had an adjustable showerhead massager. The heat/air conditioner kept the room at the perfect temperature and made the room very comfortable. Internet in the room was very fast and complimentary since I am an Omni Select member. You can have three devices on at the same time. This was very convenient since there were three of us. We also received two free beverages delivered to our room each morning. I just wish the room had a refrigerator.

Service - 


Service was exceptional, authentic and friendly from everybody we encountered; from the front desk agent, the bellmen, and the two concierge staff members who were exemplary – Vanessa and Shawn. These two staff members were extremely knowledge, friendly, professional, helpful, and always gave spot-on advice that really helped us make the most of our four day trip. Thanks, Vanessa and Shawn! The housekeepers were very thorough and I really liked how they returned in the evening to ask if we wanted turn down service. We also asked for a late check-in and this was cheerfully granted by the front desk agent who answered the phone.

Hotel Information - 



The hotel has 298 rooms and is sixteen stories tall. It was built in 1903. The lobby is spectacular – absolutely grand and beautiful. We did not park or eat at the hotel, so I cannot speak to the parking situation or the on-site restaurants. The hotel has a partnership with Dollar/Thrifty. So, we were able to easily rent a car for our day trip to Niagara Falls.

Area near Hotel –

The location is another highlight of this hotel. It is PERFECT! It is located on King Street East, just east of Yonge Street. It is located in the Old Town/Saint Lawrence Market neighborhood of downtown Toronto, which makes it close to EVERYTHING! It is located less than a block from the King Street Subway Station, and within walking distance to CN Tower, Eaton Centre Mall, Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre, Hockey Hall of Fame, Saint James Cathedral, Saint Lawrence Market, Design Exchange, Jack Layton Ferry Terminal (the ferry to the Toronto Islands), Chinatown, Kensington Market, Little Italy, Church and Wellesley LGBT area, Nathan Phillips Square/City Hall/Old City Hall, and numerous restaurants. You will LOVE the location of this hotel.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, just like we enjoyed visiting Toronto. Because of the size of the room, the service, the nightly rate, and the location, I would stay here again and recommend this hotel to all of my friends and family. Thank you for a very memorable and enjoyable stay, Omni!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UCFKnightsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,970
    754
    243
    112
    42
See reviews for
498
1,201
174
839
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
475 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed two nights at The Omni King Edward Hotel. It is a classic hotel with a feel of history to it. Some may view the hotel as old while others see it as charming. It really depends on your taste. We booked two rooms for my family. The only hiccup was I requested connecting rooms with double beds. I got neither except the rooms were next to each other and a roll away was provided. The location is excellent next to St. Lawrence Market and walking distance to Queen West, Kensington Market, and Entertainment District. Also King subway station almost next to hotel. We found it a great value hotel for the price I paid for the rooms.

I recommend parking around the corner on Church St. Much cheaper and just a few minutes walk to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcsystems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Once again I stayed at the Omni King Eddy and loved it, the staff are all very polite from bell boy to valet to front desk, everyone is very accommodating and eager to please. I stayed here for my birthday night and the only reason I do not give this building 5 star is there is no pool or hot tub, and although there is a sauna in the spa that I went to inside the building it wasn't very nice. Also the décor is very old but so is the king eddy it's part of it's charm! Perfect location to everything valet parking is $40 but they will get things you need from the car and they will keep your car the following day. Lastly the restaurant inside the king Edward is very expensive so you may want to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

I stayed in December 2013 and this is my experience in summary: good - impressive lobby, feels like you are staying at a higher end hotel - if you select a recently renovated room, the room is impressively furnished and finished - hotel staff are pleasant, and willing to help for special requests (ie. additions to the room for special events) - check in and check process very easy and quick - quiet bad - hotel parking is expensive $40/day, and if you park around the hotel it is still expensive due to the area - not renovated rooms/floors may seem very old

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Adnan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed here just before Christmas, 2013. Very comfortable. Good service. Expensive. Fabulous location. Only option is vale parking which is $40 per night. But in downtown Toronto, what do you expect? Just steps from the Path for walking in bad weather.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the KE many times due to the quality of service and facilities with never an issue. The small issue I encountered my last stay was far offset by the exceptional service delivered by "Lucy". She was incredible. I felt as though she prioritized me as a person versus a client. Not only would I consistently recommend this hotel for work or business, I would endorse the staff and quality of service even more so!

You can't go wrong if you stay here and I would suggest you ask for Lucy if possible.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We recently spent three nights in Toronto at The Omni King Edward Hotel. This was a "spur of the moment" get a way prior to Christmas and all its obligations decending upon us. Walking through the revolving door we knew it was going to be a nice experiance. Omni personnel greet you with a true feeling that you are welcome and they are sincerly happy to have had you chose their hotel. This is an old hotel and the rooms reflect that. It was nice to have a closet rather than the normal hotel clothes bureaus/dresser. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Robes were furnished and bed turn down was provided. We went on their Elves & Eggnog offer which included eggnog in the lounge and breakfast. Breakfast was excellent with our sever remembering us and bringing our coffee each morning as we walked into the restaruant. The hotel concierge helped us to obtain tickets at Princess of Wales Theater. It is to bad that a swimming pool is not offered but their fitness area is very nice. A visit to the spa was maybe a little bit to enjoyed! I had to go and get Eileen out of there as the hot tea and wonderful treatment was not going to allow her out. We cannot say enough for everyone at the hotel. We are planning a summer trip now and will certainly stay here.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk for their reccomendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,770 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#23 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Property: The Omni King Edward Hotel
Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#7 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#7 Family Hotel in Toronto
#8 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian Hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing