We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Historic and Elegant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Ranked #10 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I was staying for just one night in Toronto, and I wanted a hotel near the train station. I was happy to get a very affordable room at the King Edward on Priceline. I'm a firm believer that the worst room at 4 star hotel is better than the best room at a 3 star hotel. I was mildly concerned when I was given a room on the second floor, however, it was good. Originally, I was concerned about street noise, but it was fine. Very quiet. The room had been renovated and it was huge; likely two older rooms turned into one. The bathroom was quite large too. I can see that with the new renovation and more modern furnishings, they must be targeting the business traveller. The room itself reminded me of a Westin. The lobby and mezzanine are like a museum. It is fun to walk around and look at the historic photos and enjoy the atmosphere. The front desk and concierge staff provided excellent service. I did not have time to visit the bar or restaurant, but they looked quite inviting. For convenience, there is also a Tim Hortons right across the street, and you are close to the King metro. Very walkable from Union Station and to Front Street and the St. Lawrence market. This was my second time at the King Eddy and I recommed it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoloSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear SoloSpirit,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to read that your stay went smoothly and that you were pleased with the room accommodation and excellent service. I will be sure to share your feedback with our front desk and concierge teams who will be very appreciative of your kind remarks.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for the second time and I look forward to welcoming you back for future stays.

Jeff Waters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,717 - 2,723 of 3,755 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel was in a prime location and a lovely building. The staff were very helpful, professional and could not do enough for us. The concierge staff Brian and Vanessa were exceptional..keep up the good work!
We visited Niagra falls which was organised through the hotel and would highly recommend doing this trip. The guide was an absolute delight! A real gentleman.
The hotel room was nice and clean and had all mod cons. The bed was very comfortable. We arrived before check in time and they already had our room ready. On check out we were able to store our luggage securely and with no hassle for no extra charge. The staff could not be more helpful.
Would highly recommend this hotel. One of the best I've stayed in for location and friendliness

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Stephanie S,

I am very pleased to read that your stay was seamless and perfect in every way. Brian and Vanessa are thrilled to receive your special mention of the great service they provided. The Omni King Edward is very fortunate to have an employee group that is caring, friendly and professional. Thank you for acknowledging their exceptional service.

It was our pleasure to be of service to you and we look forward to having you with us again soon.

Jeff Waters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I booked a stay at the King Eddie last night as we were attending a concert at the ACC. I recall staying here as a child with my parents about 50 years ago when it really had a lot of historical charm - glad to say a lot of that charm still exists! Service was excellent from the doorman - front desk clerk and our waiter at this morning's breakfast. We had an un-renovated room and I was a bit concerned about how dated it would be. The clerk suggested we check it out and she would call up to see how we liked it. We ended up with an absolutely huge 8th floor corner room. It was a bit dated but the bathroom was lovely and the room was extremely clean with all the amenities you could ask for. She called up to see how we liked it and we said it would be fine. Very impressed with the follow-up and little touches consistent with what you would expect of a fine hotel.
We enjoyed looking at the old photos of the hotel from 1903 and the early 1900's on display in the lobby and had a nice breakfast this morning. All in all, a really good stay which brought back some fond memories of a long time ago.
I'd recommend this hotel to anyone - great location - lots of character and highly service-oriented staff!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlyholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

stay for 2 nights apply for omni member and they give us free wi fi love it.the location is excellent walk step to subway .room quiet old but very clean and nice decoration but they don't have a closet other is good except a bug in toilet they not harm but a bit creepy when I see a lot

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kookkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Kookkay,

Although I am pleased to learn that the hotel`s location, room and décor were all to your liking, I am very sorry about the bug you found in the toilet and regret the inconvenience caused to you. We take precautions and necessary measures to ensure a bug free environment. Rooms are thoroughly cleaned and carefully inspected prior to guest`s arrival. If necessary a pest control company is immediately contacted to have the rooms inspected for any evidence of bugs. I will take your comments back to our Housekeeping team to ensure no further recurrence.

Thank you for your feedback and I hope you return to stay with us again.

Jeff Waters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hotel staff could not have been more helpful. They got me into my room early after a red eye and were very helpful throughout my stay.

The hotel fitness center was well equipped and room service was quick and efficient.

I would highly recommend for business travelers - service and amenities make this a terrific choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear MKP2,

Thank you for your review. It is great to know that our excellent service and amenities made for a wonderful stay. I will be certain to share your feedback with our team and look forward to your next visit.

Jeff Waters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The whole operation feels very well organized and it's got that old world charm. The staff were excellent, including the valets. We loved the neighbourhood, with many things to do within walking distance. The room was super big, and incredibly enough, we liked the total wallpaper treatment. It's a bit expensive, but so is anything else in the area. We would gladly return on any opportunity.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJJ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear JJJ101,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you received excellent service and that the hotel’s location was ideal for your visit. We are thrilled that you will be returning and look forward to making your next visit just as pleasant and enjoyable.

Jeff Waters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Omni King Edward Hotel in Toronto has always been one of my favourite iconic hotels. I knew they were renovating some of the rooms, so I was excited to learn that I was staying in one of them on Friday night. I can tell you, it was fantastic! The décor was modern and tasteful, the bed comfy, and the big red ‘crown’ pillow a great look. If you have an opportunity to stay in downtown Toronto, I highly recommend you stay in one of the newly renovated rooms at the King Eddy!

Room Tip: Try one of their newly decorated ones :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear bill g,

Thank you sharing your experience with our newly renovated accommodation. I am glad that you were very pleased with the room. We are renovating in phases and look forward to delivering the same great experience to every guest. Your patronage is sincerely appreciated.

Jeff Waters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#23 of 138 in Toronto
3,870 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown
Grand Hotel & Suites
Grand Hotel & Suites
#28 of 138 in Toronto
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#6 Family Hotel in Toronto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#8 Business Hotel in Toronto
#9 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $185 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing