We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar location, statement of luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Ranked #8 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stellar location, statement of luxury”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night. Its proximity to all the places which matter in Toronto makes it an ideal place for stay. The rooms are nice and spacious. And what makes it special is that it is a symbol of luxury and historical importance.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanjibMukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear SanjibMukherjee,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The King Edward Hotel. We appreciate the wonderful comments about your overall experience and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Toronto.

Sincerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,141
    780
    251
    113
    42
See reviews for
525
1,273
185
911
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great location ,good rooms , excellent staff and service.
If your on a budget catch the bus from Pearson airport connect with the train to King street , took about an hour' ticket cost $3CAD
Recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MILT_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear MILT_10,

Thank you for choosing The King Edward Hotel on your recent visit. I am glad that the hotel’s location and the excellent service of our friendly staff made for a great experience. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Toronto.

Sincerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed at the King Edward based upon the history and what others said. While I am not disappointed, I can't say I was all that impressed either. It is NOT worth the price; therefore, if you want to stay work on getting discounts. It is pretty convenient and has a historical appeal that is hard to beat, but needs wall-to-wall updates.

Cost/person:
- Worth the discounted rates for a downtown hotel, otherwise go elsewhere.
- Paid about $186/night using CAA discount for a king deluxe with no packages. While this is more than I wanted to pay, let's face it. It costs money to stay in a downtown hotel in a major city.

Duration: Stayed for 3 days/2 nights.

Good:
- Good proximity to many sightseeing attractions.
- Consort bar on the main floor is pretty decent for drinks and food.
- If you like hotels that have a historical "rich" feel, then it's a pretty good place.
- Most of the staff were friendly and responsive.
- Clean!

Bad:
- Prices in hotel stores. They are so high they are almost funny.
- Normal checkout time is noon. I asked for a late checkout. They gave me one extra hour. Really??!!
- Many of the furnishings, etc., need to be updated. There is some wear and tear in the building that needs to be addressed if it wants to maintain its charm and allure.
- Hot water was terrible. Plan on letting the shower run for 10 minutes before you step into the water and be prepared for warm (not hot) water.
- Climate control in the room was terrible. Not only did the system not cool down the room appreciably, it didn't remove the humidity.
- Attention to the front desk uniform. What does it say when the person helping you at the front desk has holes in the elbows of her blazer. No, they weren't small. Think baseball size...
- Coffee service. Is there a good reason not to put gratis coffee in the lobby? Especially for these prices...

Recommendations:
- Do NOT eat at the hotel especially for breakfast. There are plenty of coffee shops and other restaurants nearby.
- If you want to get something to eat, the Consort bar has a decent menu and slightly above average prices.
- If you are taking the train into the city, stay somewhere else. It's too long of a walk with luggage from the train and there are plenty of closer hotels that are just as nice if not nicer.

If you are visiting Toronto, definitely consider the King Edward. I wasn't disappointed but I also wasn't overwhelmed. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMaker91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streetsboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Nice Location and the staff and the lobby are amazing. The room itself was decorated in a Victorian flower mostly in light pinks and blues. The room was comfortable however, as was mentioned in previous reviews, the lighting in the room is very low. The bed itself would have been okay had the pillows been more substantial.

When we arrived, we upgraded our room to have access to the Royal club however, it was closed that weekend so they offered us vouchers to for breakfast and hors d'oeuvers in the bar. It would have been nice to have know this prior to upgrading.

The parking at the hotel was very expensive at $40 per day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our visit to the King Edward proved to be nice....not overwhelmingly impressive but just nice. The lobby is the most impressive feature of the hotel. Our room was large and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was large , however, the lighting was very poor. There is no overhead light in the tub area so when the curtain is drawn, it's quite dark. We found the staff to be very helpful but for the price, $230.00 a night, $40.00 a day for parking and $14.95 a day for Internet, we found it to be a bit pricey for the ordinary , not extra-ordinary accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Maria C,

Thank you for sharing your review of The King Edward Hotel. We appreciate receiving feedback and insights from your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you found your experience to be just ordinary. We aim to exceed expectations and deliver exceptional service and it comes with great disappointment when we fall short. I am, however, pleased that you found our service friendly and helpful. Know that we are continually working to improve our services and facilities to deliver superior guest experience.

Thank you for your feedback and I hope you return to visit us again.

Sincerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The King Edward had great service, but more cleaning needs to be done to ensure it looks pristine. The hotel is lovely in terms of structure, but it really needs to be updated - stains on the chairs in the room, and overall just not up to snuff. I'm not a fan of the decor in the building, either, but that's a matter of personal taste.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irispiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Irispiral,

I regret that the hotel is not to your liking but hope that you still had a pleasant stay despite the issues you encountered. Please know that enhancements are underway to include major improvements to the guest rooms. This project, which addresses the deficiencies mentioned, will proceed in phases and when completed will be sure to elevate the guest’s overall experience.

I appreciate your feedback and hope that you return to stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My stay was amazing! All staff where friendly and attentive. The guest rooms are big and very comfy, beds are so comfortable the pillows are like sleeping on a cloud. My partner and I had the pleasure of attending Sunday Brunch and I must say it is the best that I have ever been to. I will definetly recommend this hotel to friends and family!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 153Laurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear 153Laurie,

I am thrilled to know that you had the best stay at The King Edward Hotel and that your overall experience was amazing. I am also delighted that you enjoyed the Sunday Brunch, a popular tradition with many of our guests. Thank you for sharing a wonderful review and recommending us to your friends and family.

I look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 136 in Toronto
2,986 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#22 of 136 in Toronto
1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Property: The Omni King Edward Hotel
Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#7 Family Hotel in Toronto
#7 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#8 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian Hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Omni Hotels & Resorts, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing