We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Stunning attention to detail and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni King Edward Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Ranked #7 of 135 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Stunning attention to detail and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My wife booked the ballroom and threw a little party for my 65th, along with 185 surprise guests, Beef Wellington, a beautiful buffet, wonderful bar and we stayed overnight in a lovely suite. She chose the King Edward from 15 interviews she held with different facilities -- and they did a spectacular job. I raved. She raved. Her guests raved. Ahh, that Beef Wellington and the the Potato Martinis !

Room Tip: Have a large dinner for 185 people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Julian W,

Thank you for making us a part of your birthday celebration. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your special getaway and that we were able to make this occasion one to always remember. We greatly appreciate the feedback and wish you many more birthdays to celebrate.

We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,674
    683
    228
    110
    40
See reviews for
442
1,054
154
715
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Catharines, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here recently for a bachelor party for my brother in law recently. The hotel is beautiful on the inside, grand lobby and front desk staff was very helpful. They found a room with two beds available as my brother and I were sharing and definitely not sharing one bed! Rooms were huge, the only downside is that I did find the room decor a little dated and an awkward layout. The bathroom sink and toilet are in a separate room than the shower. The hotel is older so I just chalked it up to an older building style. Great service and put up with us ordering a late night pizza to the hotel!

Room Tip: Standard rooms are very large!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Matt S,

Thank you very much for the generous comments on your recent stay at The King Edward Hotel. I am delighted to learn that your overall experience was to your satisfaction leaving you with good memories and impressions. I hope you return to visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel on two occasions. Once overnight and a period of one whole week. I got to see two different rooms. The lobby is nice, the concierge is great, the check in agents vary. Once you get to the floors to get to your room you see how old the hotel really is. It's kind of creepy, all the hallways looks the same and has old decor. I felt like I was in movie The Shining, like I said, creepy. The rooms are nothing spectacular. They are comfortable, you do get a fair bit of noise from your neighbors and the hallway. I experienced this with both rooms I stayed in. The spa is so so, the service is great but the facility needs to be renovated. The gym is great. I've stayed at different chains of the meridien and this was nothing special. If you can get it for a good rate then why not, but if you're looking to splurge and expect 4.5* you may not be happy.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Formiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Formiga,

We value your comments and thank you for sharing your experience while a guest at The King Edward Hotel. I would like to offer my sincere apology for the less than enjoyable stay you had at our hotel. I assure you that guest room renovations are underway starting with the lower floors and I look forward to having you back especially when the project is completed for a new dimension of luxury and comfort. We will also pass your comments on to the third party spa operator. I am happy to note that you were satisfied with the service offered by our staff.

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I had a very nice stay at the King Eddy! All the staff throughout my stay were friendly and welcoming.As other reviewer mentioned, the bed's are very comfortable. The Sunday Brunch is not to be missed,the food and the restaurant were great !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Robert Y,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at The King Edward Hotel. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed the excellent service provided by our friendly staff. The Sunday Brunch is one of the city’s best and we take pride in providing our guests the best dining experience. We appreciate your patronage and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Me and my girlfriend went to Toronto to escape for the night and have a great time, when we arrived at the hotel we were immediatly greeted by the concierge at the door which made us feel more than welcome. The girl at the front desk was very polite, professional and has us checked in in no time. The room was beautiful and clean and I was very happy with the television in the bathroom mirror so I could watch the NFL playoffs while getting ready to go out. When we wanted to go for dinner I asked the lady at the concierge if she had any preferences and she mentiond several places that all sounded fantastic but the place we chose was amazing. The next day when we checked out the girl on the desk took no time looking after us and making sure we had a good stay. We needed to get to the ROM so I asked the concierge how to get there and they were spot on with directions. Overall it was the most pleasant experience I have ever had in a hotel and will be back next month for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mduckworth03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Mduckworth03,

Thank you for sharing a great review of your experience at The King Edward Hotel. It is such a delight to know that you had a wonderful time with us. We appreciate the recognition given to the members of our team who continue to go the extra mile to provide exceptional service to our guests.

We look forward to your next visit so we can continue to exceed your expectations and offer the royal treatment that you can typically expect from The King Edward Hotel.

Sincerely,

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I had an extended stay at the King Edward for 12 days. The room was very spacious and comfortable. Great location within walking distance to many restaurants and shops. Definitely go have a drink in the lounge and visit Stefano. He has been working there for over 30 years and is extremely knowledgeable about the hotel history and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_C55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear John_C55711,

Thank you for providing us this feedback about your stay at The King Edward Hotel and acknowledging Stefano. We are grateful for spreading the word about our bar/lounge and staff who continue to provide the extra service and commitment to guest satisfaction.

We truly appreciate knowing about our guest's experiences so we can celebrate our successes and address any challenges to better serve you in the future. We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We booked on hotwire for $160/night and were very pleased. We were put in a room on the 8th floor in the corner and the room was massive! The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have stayed in and the room itself was spacious and comfortable. Big and clean bathroom was well. It had an old world charm to it, something you don't see often. The hotel is in a great location that is central to many food and shopping outlets. Staff was very nice.

The only downside to this hotel is that when you turned on the tap in the bathroom at times it smelled like sewage.....but as soon as you turned it off it went away. It wasn't the actual water-- must have been something from the pipes, but regardless you could only faintly smell it. Also prices at the hotel and bar are very high-- but I suppose that is to be expected. Went down to the bar to get a cup of tea and it cost $6 plus tax.

Other than that, I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Toronto.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbadosBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear BarbadosBum,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your experience at The King Edward Hotel. We are pleased to learn that your overall stay was to your satisfaction. However, I apologize for the minor inconveniences you encountered. We are working on ways to improve our services every day and appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests. Rest assured that your concern about the water in the bathroom has been addressed with our maintenance team.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#17 of 135 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 2,237 reviews
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
#10 of 135 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#32 of 135 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Property: The Omni King Edward Hotel
Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#7 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#7 Family Hotel in Toronto
#8 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian Hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing