We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Toronto Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Ranked #8 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Picton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Toronto Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is a great Toronto hotel. Large rooms with comfortable beds. The hotel is in a super location with public transportation,, and you can walk to many downtown places of interest. Very nice bar, good breakfast and lovely afternoon Tea.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Kevin B,

Thank you for a wonderful review about The King Edward Hotel. We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to provide feedback about your stay. We hope to see you again next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,032
    760
    248
    112
    42
See reviews for
509
1,223
181
866
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Ok so where do I start:

We were travelling for a friend's wedding in downtown Toronto. It was during the TIFF and most other hotels were booked or well overpriced. This hotel was suggested by the couple.

From the outside, the hotel looks like a grand palace. the lobby is dated but somewhat charming with lots of marble and antique style furniture. I was told that this hotel use to be the hotel of choice in downtown Toronto.

We got to the hotel on time for check-in. The hotel staff was rude and kept repeating my personal information with a loud voice. I was taken aback as there were many people around the check-in desk.

Our hotel room was huge and clean but very dated. The carpet was old and the room smelled a tad misty. The bathroom was also very dated. The gym was closed for renovations (we were never made aware of this when we booked).

There were a few party guys staying in the rooms close to us. They were loud and partied in their room all night. Our whole floor could hear them.

If you need to be in Toronto on a budget and do not intend to spend too much time in the hotel this is a good hotel to stay at. Expect a clean room but don’t expect luxury.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelstyle060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear travelstyle060,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The king Edward Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for a disappointing stay. Service is one of the best things about this hotel and I am very sorry if we failed to maintain our service delivery standards in this situation. Rest assured that this matter has been brought to the attention of the departments concerned for corrective action. I know that this does not change your experience but I hope that you can feel confident that we heard your concern and are doing something about it.

Thank you for your comments and I hope that you grant us another opportunity to prove ourselves better hosts in the future.

Sincerely,

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed here with my two daughters a couple of years back and the hotel was completely renovated as it is very old (i think it was built in 1903) It has a famous crystal ballroom on the 18th floor that was just renovated as it sat deserted and left as is since the 50's. Supposedly the hotel has some strange stories about being haunted. We did experience some strange occurances with the elevator. Anyway this hotel is great and in the heart of downtown Toronto with easy access to The CN Tower (another great place to go or eat in the revolving restaruant which is like a 100 stories up. The tower also has a glass "see through" floor near the top which is pretty cool. The King Eddy is close to many things or you can conveniently hop on the trollies that pass right by the hotel. Chinatown is good but not as big as NY's Chinatown, but worth walking around. There is quite a big underground shopping area which also houses the subway system. If you get a chance to catch a concert at the Molson Amphitheater it's right on the water and there is a lot to to on the waterfront. If you need a car, you can walk from the hotel to the Enterprise Rent A Car and take a drive (2 hours to Niagra Falls) which also takes you through the beautiful country side and wine country. Make sure to stop at the town: Niagra on the Water... The Hotel is very comfortable and luxurious and has all of the amenities you could wish for....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukeav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear lukeav,

Thank you for sharing a detailed account of your experience at The King Edward Hotel and the city. I am glad that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your feedback is critically important to our efforts for improvement. We truly appreciate knowing about our guest’s experience so we can celebrate our successes and address our challenges to better serve you in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are in the area again.

Sincerely,

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked here for our first two days to get over jetlag and relax before staying with relatives then touring Toronto and Montreal. The hotel is impressive and the rooms vast, yes a little worn or dated as some say but that is the period of the hotel so if you like ultra modern then it’s not for you. It was a little worn in places but nothing that in fairness you would overly complain about if you got a good deal. Our problem was with the service. We read in the brochure that was left in the room they had a voltage convertor for appliances (Hair straighteners would not work, they worked in another 4 hotels in Canada so unsure why not here (GHD's)) It clearly states if you need a voltage convertor for your products to ask at reception and they have a product to convert you appliance to a lower voltage. This turned into a fawlty towers episode, we were given an adaptor form uk to Canadian we explained this is not what we needed and showed them what was written in the literature in the book that states the product alongside also the option of a convertor if you need one of them as well. They told us that we were wrong and even got a bit of attitude from some of the staff which was plain rude and unhelpful they just didn’t get it or care (even with it in black and white in their own brouchure in front of them). The manager finally stepped in and said he would sort it and if they didn’t have one he would buy one for when we returned and just to ask at reception when we got back and it would be there no fuss no problem. We offered to grab one when we were out but he said no leave it with me. We got back in the evening getting ready to go out and asked at reception, after 15 mins of going through the same attitude and losing the will to live and explaining finally they checked and the manager had tried but not got one so that’s that no sorry or even we have a spare set of hair irons, just leave the reception not our problem. It may seem a small thing but I cannot capture the attitude which was appalling. We also woke at 6am to the maintenance guy knocking heavy cables for about 30 mins against the wall as he pulled cables through the hallway then left chunky cables out in the hall plugged into a room in front of ours. Personally I would say better hotels in just as good locations and probably cheaper.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allwoodley78local
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was excited to stay here for the first time. Initial impressions were very good. The valet/front door service was wonderful as were the people at the front desk.
Internet service was complimentary, but did not work and I had to call the helpdesk 3 times for an authorization code. There was no coffee in the room. My visit was for business and I was up at 5:00am. No coffee was an unpleasant way to start the morning.
The housekeeping staff was also very friendly, but the bathroom floor was so dirty that I left my socks on.
Overall, I would say the staff at the hotel was very friendly. The amenities required some improvement.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Adia76,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and acknowledging our friendly staff. But I regret and apologize for some of the disappointing aspects of your stay. I have shared your comments with the department heads concerned for corrective action. Thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention.

We look forward to your return for an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional stay.

Sincerely,

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have stayed in several 5 star hotels in the GTA, but this one is special. It has the best location for walking to local businesses, events, and when you are actually at the hotel you are completely in ah of all the history and class this place represents. Even though the rooms are not completely updated, they still give you that presence of a first class feel. They have high ceilings, detail like dental crown molding, Picture hanging rails, the sheer size of the room is so large it feels like an apartment, Comfortable beds, fine linens, and furniture. When you decide to stay at this hotel you wont be disappointed. Only more educated about the grand history of Toronto.
Bring your work out clothes and take a brisk walk in the underground mall in the dead of winter. There is an entrance just a few steps from the front door of the hotel. The Eaton center is only a few blocks. We were surprised how close it was, and there was underground tunnels to explore that almost get you to the front door of the Bay which is connected to the Eaton center via above ground walkway.
Enjoy your stay you wont be disappointed

Room Tip: We looked at several rooms they were all good but the ones facing east have the best light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Mike F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and highlighting the many features that make this hotel stand out. We truly appreciate knowing about our guest’s experience so we can celebrate our successes. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are very rewarding.

We look forward to your return visit.

SIncerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at the King Edward Hotel in Dec 2012. We were very impressed with the size of the room and the incredible view looking south. The decor in the room was classic and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were attentive and professional. There is so much around this hotel to explore. Great restaurants, shopping and sight seeing. We walked up to the Toronto Eaton Center which is a huge shopping mall.
We were particularly impressed with the grand lobby and ornate feel of this historical Toronto hotel.
Check out the hotel bar that had a great menu for drinks and appetizers. Wicked martinis too.

We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose the executive King room facing south towards the old church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Lori E,

I am pleased to read that you were impressed by the team as well as the room and the bar at The King Edward Hotel. We work hard to create an experience that is both enjoyable and rewarding for our guests and it is a delight to know that your stay with us was a pleasantly memorable one.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments. We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#22 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Property: The Omni King Edward Hotel
Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#7 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#7 Family Hotel in Toronto
#8 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian Hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing